We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, laid back, very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Secret Garden Cotopaxi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Secret Garden Cotopaxi to your Saves list
The Secret Garden Cotopaxi
Via Pedregal, Quito E460, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 169 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scottsdale-AZ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Cozy, laid back, very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was the favorite place I stayed on my three week vacation on Ecuador's high land. Pretty, laid back, all meals included. The eating place is in the main house so we had a chance to talk to the other travelers, very interesting people over there. The main house has electricity and internet, the cabins don't, you use candles, there is a fire place, they start the fire for you while you are having your dinner. There are no keys to close your cabin, at first I found it strange, but then I loved it, there is a safe inside the cabin you need to bring your padlock, I used it to safe the passports and money. You can see the Cotopaxi mountain from your room, if it is not covered by clouds, we had a view of the mountain in one full day out of three we were there, beautiful mountain. It takes a while to get in there, it is not far from Quito, but there is a more than a 1 hour stretch of rough road, that requires high clearance 4x4. Several people I met in there came from Secret Garden Quito, some very cheaply, it appears on Tuesdays there is a car from Quito to supply Cotopaxi and they charge less for it, otherwise they charge about $40 for the trip from Secret Garden Quito to Secret Garden Cotopaxi, but I think well worth it. The lodge is about 40 min far from Cotopaxi park parking lot (rough road), they can arrange a guide to take you there (guide is mandatory to enter the park) for about $15 per person. They can also arrange a guide for who wants to climb the mountain, I did not use their guide, I used Gulliver expeditions and regretted terribly, I can't tell if their would be better, but would never go again with Gulliver's (I put a review in there if interested). I want to stress climbing Cotopaxi is not an easy task, but going to the base camp is interesting for people in reasonable good shape.

Room Tip: All is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    17
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
5
48
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, SC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights here and made great friends with several of the other visitors as well as with the staff. The volunteers who lead tours and organize everything were hard-working, attentive, and entertaining; wish we could have spent more time with Remi, Sophia and Victor!

The most beautiful scenery we experienced in Ecuador hands down!! The hostel has a beautiful garden and amazing views across a huge valley with horses, llamas, cows and with the Cotopaxi volcano in the background.

If I only had one place to visit in Ecuador, it would be here! Skip the Secret Garden in Quito where the staff is on the frosty side and come straight to Cotopaxi!!

Room Tip: Your own wood stove in the cabins! An awesome addition!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I originally booked 2 days at the Secret Garden Cotopaxi, but we ended up staying for 5 days. I have nothing bad to say about our stay. We slept on comfortable beds, ate the most delicious food EVER, had amazing hikes with wonderful guides and made awesome friends from all over the world. We didn't want to leave. Next time we go back to Ecuador, we will go straight to the Secret Garden Cotopaxi. Worth every penny!!

Room Tip: The dorm beds were extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Although this hostel costed $40/person for a 8 person dorm, we loved this hostel so much. There were unlimited towels and teas, a fireplace in the dorm and a jacuzzi. They have free guided trips to little waterfalls and the food was amazing. The locations is not really close to Cotopaxi and the tours for it are really expensive. The staff were all very kind and helpful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed in the dorm room and loved it. It was very spacious and clean with a cozy fireplace in the middle. Despite it being expensive, it is worth the money. The food was so good, there is unlimited tea/coffee/water, we did a fun complimentary waterfall hike and used the bikes and jacuzzi. I definitely would recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had such a wonderful time here. Maybe it was because of the people who were at the hostel at the time, but the location, the rooms, the service, just made it a great place to be. I stayed in the dorm which was so spacious and down right gorgeous at night with the log burner and candles lit. The beds are huge you don't eve feel like you are staying on a bunk bed. And then in the morning you open the door to a stunning view of cotopaxi. I loved the cost evenings by the open fire, with a glass of wine chatting to everybody after delicious home cooked food. Not to mention the jacuzzi which is brilliant at night lit by candles and if you are lucky you can see the glow of the Cotopaxi glacier and a star lit sky through the glass roof. I did two walks whilst I was there which were beautiful, one being to Cotopaxi glacier which is excellent value and Marco is a brilliant guide. I can recommend anybody in Ecuador to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I had such a beautiful time at this hostel. Maybe I was lucky with having great people there at the same time, but besides this the location is just stunning. You open your room to a view of Cotopaxi and open countryside. I stayed in a dorm room and the beds are very big, the room spacious and so cosy when the log burner is lit in the evening. The food is delicious, and its like home from home sipping wine, chatting to other guests over an open fire. The guided tour to Cotopaxi is very good value and the other walks also well worth doing. I recommend this place to everybody. Oh and I almost forgot the jacuzzi! Wonderful at night, lit by candles.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Secret Garden Cotopaxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Garden Cotopaxi

Address: Via Pedregal, Quito E460, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katherine and Tarquin, the owners/creators of The Secret Garden Quito, have moved to the countryside where they have been building their dream home and hostel. It's spectacular mountain scenery, it's a beautiful traditional lodge made of mud bricks and thatched roof, it's an eco-friendly self sufficiency project, it's great homegrown food, it's an adventure center and it's a relaxation center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Secret Garden Cotopaxi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Secret Garden Cotopaxi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.