We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, people and hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa San Marcos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa San Marcos to your Saves list
Casa San Marcos
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Junin E1-36 y Montufar, Quito, Ecuador   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 155 Quito B&B and Inns
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location, people and hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

The hotel had a stunning view from the bedroom. We had a couple of hiccups when we arrived but the staff were very accommodating and found solutions immediately. The breakfast was great. The staff were very friendly and the location superb.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    23
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
41
81
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

This has definitely been one of the best hotels I have been too. The rooms are beautifully in decor, and each themed. There is a lovely gallery and antique shop in the hotel. We asked to view the other bedrooms that were not occupied and we were given a grand tour. Each room different. It is in a good location in the old town. Walking distance to all the sites and also night life (although always best to get cabs on the way home at night in Quito regardless of distance). One morning we asked if they could recommend a good vegetarian restaurant and they offered to cook for us. The meal was great - in our own private restaurant, over looking the hills. Meal was well priced, and cost of hotel is good value for money. The only small negative point was we got charged for a taxi twice as they didn't check the flight times and sent one taxi, and the flight was delayed so the driver came back and a second was sent later.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

The breakfasts and dinners were just wonderful, as was the outdoor patio seating. I dont know if I got lucky, or if it is the policy not to change towels and sheets daily, but I certainly appreciated the saving of resources (emptying the trash daily was fine for me). Myra, the very gracious and interesting owner, draws some fascinating guests. I cant say about the noise level in the rooms, because my neighbor did not use the television; street noise was rare. Taxi drivers may know the street, but not necessarily the B& B since it is new, so be sure to have the address handy.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

Our stay at Casa San Marcos was wonderful. Not only were we put up in the best room with an incredible view of the city, but the breakfasts were delicious, the service was great, and all advice from the staff we found pleasing (best restaurants, hikes, musuems). Casa San Marcos is located in an old house with a small courtyard in an area of the old city that is agreeable to walking. A beautiful Watercolor Gallery is located a few doors down the street. Much construction has been done, making it peaceful and serene. The house is full of beautiful antiques. The apartment on the top floor is probably the best in the city. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

This place is, in one word, FABULOUS!. Myra, the owner, is one of the most gracious people I have ever had the pleasure to meet. My group felt at home and so very special and welcome all of the days and nights we had the pleasure of staying here. The staff was so wonderful, from early in the morning to late at night. I could not imagine a better experience.I would return to Quito JUST TO stay at this CASA - it is that wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

My passion is travelling, This year I had the most pleasurable experiences in two Boutique hotels, one in Escazu ,Costa Rica. The name of the hotel is The Beacon, . Super is not enough to describe the experience.Fantastic restaurant. The other one is Casa San Marcos. What an experience. Going back into the past with all the ammeneties and conviniences of today, adding to that the enjoyment of being surrounded by the most fantastic art collection and antiqueties makes this stay the most interesting and convinient since is surrounded by Colonial Icons and historical places. A must to all.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Casa san Marcos is a delight to stay in. Jessica and the team were so helpful and friendly. The room and service sensational. it was hard to leave.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Marcos

Address: Junin E1-36 y Montufar, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa San Marcos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa San Marcos, a house of treasures Publicado el 10/Noviembre/2011 | 14:51By LANCE BRASHEAR on the Miami HeraldCasa San Marcos - a boutique hotel along what is slowly becoming a cultural corridor in central Quito - was, until recently, a house obscured by time. But the passage of time has a way of not just hiding treasures, but also revealing them when the right person comes along. The name Jose Jaime Ortiz was all but lost as the architect of Casa San Marcos until archives discovered in recent years revealed the hand behind the craftsmanship. Ortiz is now recognized as one of Quito's most formidable architects from the turn of the 18th century and is credited with a dozen structures in Quito including the El Sagrario Church, the reconstruction of La Merced Church, and the tower of Santo Domingo Church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Marcos Hotel Quito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa San Marcos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.