We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jumbo Lodging

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Jumbo Lodging to your Saves list
Jumbo Lodging
Esmeraldas E4-86 y Los Rios | Calle Esmeraldas E4-86 y Los Ríos, Quito EC1701, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 106 Hotels in Quito
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Staying at the Jumbo Lodging worked out great for us. We used it as a base while we traveled around both Ecuador and Peru. Luis (the host) is a classy, trustworthy and dependable guy for sure (he spoke some English too). He picked up us from the Airport and was more than willing to drive us to the Quito airport a couple of times very early in the morning (The Quito airport takes forever to get to. One of the big drawbacks of Quito). I had a single room and it was huge and had a nice view of the city. There was no TV in the room; but that was fine with me. I wasn't interested in traveling all the way to Ecuador to watch TV.
The neighborhood is OK, some steep hills, narrow streets and lots of older buildings. There are some barking dogs in the neighborhood, but that didn't bother me too much. And there were ear plugs in each room. I never used them.
You are a five to ten minute cab ride to the Historical district. So the location is superb.
Luis made us a very nice breakfast each morning at the time we designated and answered any questions we may have had about our stay in Ecuador. We felt fortuante to have stayed here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    9
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
42
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our stay at jumbo Lodging was very short. We arrived at around 6pm and were picked up at the airport by Luis. By the time we arrived at the hotel we were famished. After freshening up Luis happily drove us to a nearby restaurant and arranged a taxi to bring us back after dinner. This hotel is tucked away and off the beaten path. There was not much outside noise, but there are dogs in the area that bark throughout the night. The room/sheets/bathroom were clean and plenty of towels. Earplugs were on the nightstand (for the dog barking) but we didn't feel the need for them. We only stayed one night, as our tour picked us up early the next morning, and I was surprised to see Luis up at 5:30Am with hot coffee to see us off. A quaint litttle place with very nice staff! If you need a good night rest, this is the place, as long as the dog barking does not matter to you. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

When we arrived at 10:00 pm. Luis was waiting for us, helped with luggage, showed us to his secure car park, recommended 2 restaurants up the hill for a late supper.
The rooms are spacious, atmospheric, nicely decorated.
Breakfast was excellent.
Luis kept some of our things, not required until our return to Quito.
As I write this, he has taken one member of our group shopping.
Some English spoken, but it helps to start with a little Spanish.
Two negatives: Jumbo is difficult to find, even with a GPS which led us to blocked streets and suggested the wrong direction on one way streets. There is no sign outside.
Luis offered to do laundry, but lost 2 pieces and gave us something belonging to a stranger.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We are only english speaking and were arriving in Quito at night on the way to Octavalo.We had read that Luis of Jumbo Lodging was very dependable,After several email questions and confirmations from his daughter Alba which were prompt and very professional we felt confident that we had made the right choice.We elected to spend the night in Quito and travel to Octavalo the next day with Luis furnishing the transportation.Luis made everything go smoothly and we spend our last five days back at Jumbo Lodging.Luis will do whatever you need to make your trip a success from directions and recommendations to full personal tours.He is very proud of his country and anxious to pass on facts he thinks are interesting.He and his family treated us like friends and we feel like we have one now in Ecuador.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our Ecuador adventure began when Luis met us at the Quito airport - a wonderful start to a fantastic vacation. Luis and family were the perfect hosts and we stayed with them 2 nights in April. Everything from the room furnishings, to the generous breakfast (great coffee), to the Spanish lessons, to the tips on exploring Quito and navigating the city buses, to restaurant recommendations were great - I only wish we could have stayed longer. I would highly recommend Jumbo Lodging (Luis's last name) if you want to be in old town staying with an owner that makes you feel like you are part of his family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Luis and his family provided a wonderful oasis in busy Quito. It was centrally located, allowing us to walk all over the old town, new town, and Mariscal neighborhoods. The beds were wonderfully comfortable and with reliable wifi (which I'm using right now!). My husband, daughter, and I were greeted with smoothies, a map, and recommendations for our time in Quito. Breakfast was excellent and happily tailored to our gluten-free needs. We loved the unique look and feel of the hostel and the incredible generosity of the hosts.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with a very nice owner and manager. Rooms are quite vibrant in colors, spacious, with big comfortable beds. One draw back, the walls are made of "paper", you can hear everything. It is situated on the outskirts of the old town, with a 2-3 block walk to the center.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jumbo Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumbo Lodging

Address: Esmeraldas E4-86 y Los Rios | Calle Esmeraldas E4-86 y Los Ríos, Quito EC1701, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 106 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the historical centre of Quito, near of tourist emblems: the Basilica of the national vote, Itchimbía Park, San Francisco church, the Church of the Jesus, the Palacio de Carondelet, National Sucre theater, etc.We offer a warm stay in a colonial House of 200 years built in the neighborhood of San Blas, founded in 1568.Preserves its colonial infrastructure and the era, such as brick walls covered with mud, straw and role adobe's own materials. Although his main property is its ability to earthquake.There are patrols 24 hours, there is a unit of police 15 meters from our facilities, who make our neighborhood a safe place.All the rooms have private bathroom, 24h of hot water and beautiful views of the city. The price includes a delicious Jumbo-breakfast with natural fruits.We offer the following services: laundry, internet*, luggage store (included), room service (included), touristic information, free maps, parking to 150 metres, taxi 24 hours, in the afternoon free tea or cofee.FREE earplugs (because the noise from the street).Schedule of breakfast: 7.30 to 09.30 am.*Earliest check-in: 14:00Latest Check-out 11:00*If you want to have breakfast before or after, it costs $4.***Prices don't include taxes.Ofrecemos una cálida estancia en una casa colonial de 200 años construida en el barrio de San Blas, fundado en 1568.Conserva su infraestructura colonial y materiales propios de la época, tales como ladrillos de adobe en sus paredes cubiertas con barro, paja y papel. Aunque su principal propiedad es su capacidad antisísmica.Contamos con los siguientes servicios:-Lavandería.-Internet.-Bodega de equipaje (incluido).-Servicio de habitaciones (incluido).-Información turística.-Parking a 150metros.-Horario de desayunos de 8:30 a 11:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Jumbo Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jumbo Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.