We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome equatorian hospitality, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Quito Cultural

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Quito Cultural to your Saves list
Hostal Quito Cultural
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Flores N4 - 160 Y Chile, Quito 2460, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 169 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Awesome equatorian hospitality, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

What you will find when you just arrive at the hostel is the awesome hospitality!
The owners help you a lot how to do tours without agencies and guides, so you can save money and enjoy by yourself.
It's a charming colonial building with comfortable rooms.
If you like to sleep until a litlle bit late, try do not stay at the rooms in the main street (Flores), otherwise you will be awake since 6am, when the loud of the traffic starts. Until that time, it is really really quite.
The breakfast is also good.
If it fits in your bugget, surely is the place where to stay in the Old Town!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms that are not in the main street (Flores) side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Q, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi Nadia,

Thank you for your respons and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality so much!
Feel free to visit us in the near future when we managed to change to hostal to an even better place for our guests.

Saludos desde Quito,

Dominique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    76
    28
    5
    4
See reviews for
36
80
60
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I loved staying here. The customer service that the two women who work the front office offer is outstanding; they are very sweet and attentive to the needs of those staying at the hostel. Spanish is the only language offered fluently...most of the English exchanged between hostel stayers and hostel staff was done through Google Translate. But things worked out in the end and there were few, if any, misunderstandings. The breakfasts consisted of a freshly blended delicious fruit smoothie (batido, I think, or something like that), a semi-sweet bread pastry with a soft mild white cheese, coffee, and an omelet scramble with many standard ingredients. It all tasted very good to me. The room was relatively spartan, but clean and more than adequate, and wifi is offered hostel-wide. Shower was a little fickle with water temperature, but not aggravatingly so, and the toilet ran slowly, but got the job done. The bed was comfortable, but street noise always found its way into my room, necessitating ear plugs one of the nights...I was already having trouble sleeping due to one of my traveling mates being mugged at machete-edge near El Panecillo earlier that day (takeaway: ALWAYS be aware of your surroundings and yourself in Quito, and visit El Panecillo via taxi or tour bus). The inner courtyard is much quieter, picturesque, and a nice place to unwind. I wish I could have stayed at this hostel longer (the latter part of my trip landed me in Hotel San Francisco de Quito, which was nice and somewhat more labyrinthine, with a beautiful almost-hidden balcony that overlooks most of the city, but more expensive with a less creative breakfast and wifi only in the lobby). This hostel is in the Centro Historico with plenty of eating options and sites to see nearby. For the price, Hostal Quito Cultural is a winner and I would most likely stay here again when/if I make it back to Quito. I felt secure and all of my belongings, including thousands of $$$'s worth of camera gear destined for the Galapagos, but too bulky to bring on city walks, remained intact and in my possession (albeit locked into a luggage bag that was bicycle-cable-locked to the bedframe...but I never got the feeling that the things I left in the room were at high risk of theft or damage, beyond that of a normal stay at a hostel anywhere).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Q, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear friend,

It has been a pleasure having you here in our hostal located in the centre of the old town. As far as i can read your stay has been very pleasant. For the future we hope to see you back again. I respond on behalf of Sra. Alicia and my name is Dominique, currently taking care of responding to our guests. We are very pleased to hear your stay has been to your likings; everything except for the noise coming from outside the streets and we want to see for how we can eliminate this for future if possible.


With friendly regards of everybody here in HCQ,

Alicia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I'm currently staying at the Hostal Quito Cultural and I'm enjoying my stay so far. My first impression was just how cute this place is. I'm a single traveller so I had their one bedroom with a double bed and private bath. The bed is adequately comfortable for the price. The overall cleanliness of the room is average (compare to the Hilton, where I stayed just prior to this). The comforter looks a little dirty. And I probably won't go bare feet on the floor. However, everything else is clean. It can get a little loud from the traffic, people, and street vendors below, but I brought ear plugs so I had no problem falling asleep. The inclusive breakfast was pretty good-I enjoyed the smoothie and the super strong coffee. I'd also like to note that I feel quite safe here. There front door is locked at all times and you need to be buzzed in. I never had to wait more than 2 minutes for someone to open the door for me.

Overall, I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Q, Gerente at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Viajero agradecemos su comentario y nos comprometemos en mejorar en los pequeños detalles que Ud. nos hace en referencia. Siempre estamos trabajando para ofrecer la mejor experiencia a nuestros huespedes.

Atentamente,

Alicia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

i would like to start by saying that if you are coming to quito, you have to stay in the old historic town. its where the museums and theatres are, and there are hundreds of great local shops on charming andalucian style streets that the spaniards built. dont get fooled into buying a room in marsical, which is industrial. so, for the price, the hostal cultural is great. its homey and beautiful, clean and friendly, the beds are warm and the rooms charming. alicia who runs it and all the staff are sweet. what they dont speak of english they make up in kindness. after a whie i felt at home. i even go to the kitchen to make my own coffee, or ask other favors. theres a tv in the room, if you like that sort of thing, and every room has private bath and good internet access. if you dont have your own laptop, pc's are provided in the reception area. that's where i'm writing this review. i have been here a few times already, and i am sure to come back. and no, i am not getting any perks for the compliments :) (unless i can negotiate some later, lol ) :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Q, Gerente at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear visitor we thank you for your comments, we are dedicated to offer the best service to our clients. We hope in you next visit to Quito we can count with your presence.

Sincerely,

Alicia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed 2nights at the Quito Cultural,as it got good reviews and we wanted to have a central location in oldtown.location is good,so is the breakfast. The biilding itself and the rooms are quite old,meeds def. A refurbishment.bathroom looked worm and old.the whole room is allday freezing cold.
Unfortunately, wifi didn't work one whole day,aswell as no hot showers.for usd 56.- a night,in Ecuador,you should expect a little bit more than this. What brought us to leave the hostal was that we gave our laundry,and they really managed to ruin my girlfriends cloths(all of them pretty expensive functional wear worth about 300.- usd)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Q, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
As the person in charge of maintaining a satisfied customerbase i would like to lett you know that for the experience you had in the hostel we work on the things that were not to your expectations.

Apologies the experience has made it an unpleasant stay but we hope your stay in the city has been better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Springs, Wyoming
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The location is good...right in the historic center and close to bus lines. There are also some restaurants nearby. The staff is very nice. The room was comfortable.

The one big complaint I have is their airport transfer service. I had to leave at 4am for the airport for an early flight. They arranged for the taxi to come at 4am, and even verified the price, but at 4am, 405, 410, 415 am..no taxi showed up. And there were no employees to be found anywhere. I had to go out into the street at 4am and flag down a taxi. Luckily I got one and made it on time, but I found the whole thing very unprofessional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Q, Gerente at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su comentario y estamos al tanto del mismo. Estamos trabajando para solucionar estos incovenientes. Esperamos que en un proximo viaje nos de la oportunidad de servirle.

Atentamente,

Alicia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was a perfect stop over; basic but comfortable accommodation and a safe place to leave any bags. Great location as well. Best of all was the kindness of the owner, Alicia. She helped me out and made sure I was ok for my onward journey-many thanks!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Q, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear friend(s),

Writng on behalf of Alicia for to say thanks. It has been a pleasure having you here in HQC for the time you were in Quito. Ofcourse we are happy to receive you in the future.

Friendly regards,

Alicia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal Quito Cultural? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Quito Cultural

Address: Flores N4 - 160 Y Chile, Quito 2460, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Quito Cultural 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Quito Cultural born of a XVIII century building at the hands of a French architect, this house currently consists as a heritage of Barrio San Marcos the oldest in Quito. With a rich pre-Columbian history, the capital of Ecuador was founded on the ruins of an Inca city, but offers everything a modern traveler may need. Still one of the best preserved historical sites in Latin America and the UNESCO declared world heritage. The location of the hostel is convenient because it allows travelers to move around the old Quito and know all the baroque jewels, like the monasteries of San Francisco and Santo Domingo, as well as the church and the college of the Company. The hostel rooms have all the amenities to make guests feel comfortable and can enjoy their holiday as they deserve, our main seal of the fraternity is offered by our staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostal Quito Cultural reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Quito Cultural Hotel Quito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Quito Cultural, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.