We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Quito Cultural

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Quito Cultural to your Saves list
Hostal Quito Cultural
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Flores N4 - 160 Y Chile, Quito 2460, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 154 Quito B&B and Inns
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

i would like to start by saying that if you are coming to quito, you have to stay in the old historic town. its where the museums and theatres are, and there are hundreds of great local shops on charming andalucian style streets that the spaniards built. dont get fooled into buying a room in marsical, which is industrial. so, for the price, the hostal cultural is great. its homey and beautiful, clean and friendly, the beds are warm and the rooms charming. alicia who runs it and all the staff are sweet. what they dont speak of english they make up in kindness. after a whie i felt at home. i even go to the kitchen to make my own coffee, or ask other favors. theres a tv in the room, if you like that sort of thing, and every room has private bath and good internet access. if you dont have your own laptop, pc's are provided in the reception area. that's where i'm writing this review. i have been here a few times already, and i am sure to come back. and no, i am not getting any perks for the compliments :) (unless i can negotiate some later, lol ) :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Q, Gerente at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear visitor we thank you for your comments, we are dedicated to offer the best service to our clients. We hope in you next visit to Quito we can count with your presence.

Sincerely,

Alicia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    72
    27
    4
    3
See reviews for
33
74
59
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2nights at the Quito Cultural,as it got good reviews and we wanted to have a central location in oldtown.location is good,so is the breakfast. The biilding itself and the rooms are quite old,meeds def. A refurbishment.bathroom looked worm and old.the whole room is allday freezing cold.
Unfortunately, wifi didn't work one whole day,aswell as no hot showers.for usd 56.- a night,in Ecuador,you should expect a little bit more than this. What brought us to leave the hostal was that we gave our laundry,and they really managed to ruin my girlfriends cloths(all of them pretty expensive functional wear worth about 300.- usd)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Q, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
As the person in charge of maintaining a satisfied customerbase i would like to lett you know that for the experience you had in the hostel we work on the things that were not to your expectations.

Apologies the experience has made it an unpleasant stay but we hope your stay in the city has been better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Springs, Wyoming
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The location is good...right in the historic center and close to bus lines. There are also some restaurants nearby. The staff is very nice. The room was comfortable.

The one big complaint I have is their airport transfer service. I had to leave at 4am for the airport for an early flight. They arranged for the taxi to come at 4am, and even verified the price, but at 4am, 405, 410, 415 am..no taxi showed up. And there were no employees to be found anywhere. I had to go out into the street at 4am and flag down a taxi. Luckily I got one and made it on time, but I found the whole thing very unprofessional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Q, Gerente at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su comentario y estamos al tanto del mismo. Estamos trabajando para solucionar estos incovenientes. Esperamos que en un proximo viaje nos de la oportunidad de servirle.

Atentamente,

Alicia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This was a perfect stop over; basic but comfortable accommodation and a safe place to leave any bags. Great location as well. Best of all was the kindness of the owner, Alicia. She helped me out and made sure I was ok for my onward journey-many thanks!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Q, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear friend(s),

Writng on behalf of Alicia for to say thanks. It has been a pleasure having you here in HQC for the time you were in Quito. Ofcourse we are happy to receive you in the future.

Friendly regards,

Alicia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

It was very centrally located. The room was very basic, ugly furniture, not enough blankets... but the worst was the smell coming up from the drain. I stayed in a room on the 2nd floor in the back, so it was very quite, but also had no windows which made it a little gloomy. Again, very worth it for location and safety.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Q, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Writing on behalf of Sra. Alicia. We going to take in account your recomendations for future guest.

Muchas gracias for your respons,

Alicia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

So close to all amenities, safe and fabulous owners! Look forward to seeing you again soon!
If you are experiencing altitude fatigue ask to stay on lower floor. The climb up the stairs is easy but can be tough if you are not used to it.

Joanne Erazo

Room Tip: The streets are a litle noisey as it is the city and where it all happens.. bring ear plugs.. LOVE T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Q, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear friend,

Writing on behalf of Alicia thanking you for having had you here in HQC. We would like to thank you for your respons! Ofcourse we are looking forward to see you back again in the future!

Muchas gracias para tus recomendaciones

Alicia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is really more of a 4.5 star review but I'll round up due to the staff working extra hard for us. We were a group of 5 (1 family of 3 and 1 family of 2) who had some particular needs, which the staff went way out of their way to accommodate. First, we had to get our tickets and paperwork for our Galapagos trip delivered there by the booking company (Happy Gringo) and the Hostal Quito Cultural staff did that for us. Second, we needed to leave for the airport at 4:30 a.m. to catch our flight to the Galapagos....and they lined up a driver for us at a fair rate. The manager at the HQC said if necessary she would drive us! That's service. Finally, they packed our breakfast up for us in bags to take to the airport.

The location is fantastic -- in our afternoon in Quito we were able to walk far and wide around the Old Town.

The only problem was the street noise, which at first was due to an over-loud, over-bassed stereo parked on the street right below our window and exceeded the capacity of our earplugs. But it finally stopped, and the regular street noise was manageable.

Also, they are a bit pricey compared to other places in the same area but within tolerance.

They have 3 computers with free internet access.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Q, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Quito Cultural, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear friends,

Writing on behalf of Sra. Alicia for to thank you for the respons. She send you all a hug.
It´s very nice to hear your stay has been to your wishes and have been able to provide the extra service needed to get accomplish your particuñar needs. We hope to have you back in the future so we can receive you with a big welcome again!

For the future we work on the noise problem to our best capacices of the excess noise..

Saludos fraternos,

Alicia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Quito Cultural? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Quito Cultural

Address: Flores N4 - 160 Y Chile, Quito 2460, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Quito Cultural 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Quito Cultural born of a XVIII century building at the hands of a French architect, this house currently consists as a heritage of Barrio San Marcos the oldest in Quito. With a rich pre-Columbian history, the capital of Ecuador was founded on the ruins of an Inca city, but offers everything a modern traveler may need. Still one of the best preserved historical sites in Latin America and the UNESCO declared world heritage. The location of the hostel is convenient because it allows travelers to move around the old Quito and know all the baroque jewels, like the monasteries of San Francisco and Santo Domingo, as well as the church and the college of the Company. The hostel rooms have all the amenities to make guests feel comfortable and can enjoy their holiday as they deserve, our main seal of the fraternity is offered by our staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Quito Cultural reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Quito Cultural Hotel Quito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Quito Cultural, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.