We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relax, clean & familial Hostel in a good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Revolution

Hostel Revolution
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel Revolution to your Saves list
Hostel Revolution
Los Rios N 13 - 11 y Julio Castro | San Blas, Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice relax, clean & familial Hostel in a good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

If you're NOT loocking for the next "Backpackers Inn", you will find a relax, tiny, clean & familial Hostel in a good location!
We stayed there for one week and enjoyed our first days in South America.
The rooms are clean & comfortable. The kitchen is big and perfect to prepare your own food or cook for everybody :)

You have a comfortable "living room" where you can watch over 1000 DVDs and use the 2 PC for Internet.
The owner is very friendly and will help you with all questions about visiting Quito.

Room Tip: all rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    33
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
34
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Enjoyed my stay here and would definitely stay there again.
Positives:
Free Internet and WiFi
Huge,warm and comfortable beds (we stayed in the 6 bed dorm)
Large spacious room
Lot of toilets and showers
Friendly atmosphere throughout the hostel with english speaking reception
Good sized kitchen with all facilities
Quite close to the centre of the old town
Happy hour between 5.30 and 6.30
Very clean also throughout

Negatives:
Reception probably were not the most helpful when we asked about any info
For the price a simple breakfast probably could have been included
TV room is small a little uncomfortable with a small tv

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostelRevolution, Owner at Hostel Revolution, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Hi thanks for staying at our hostel and for the recommendation! In response to the negative points, the TV in the lounge is 21 inch so although not the biggest around I think it is suitable for the room size. If you did not receive enough help at reception I apologise but if you asked me (owner) directly I would have helped as best as I could. About the breakfast being included in the price, for $8 a person for a dorm bed you receive free unlimited internet & wifi, free map & advice, free linen, rooms cleaned & beds made daily, use of a fully equipped kitchen with all implements, toaster, oven, microwave etc, free tea & coffee, free condiments, hundreds of DVDs to watch free, free use of towels, extra blankets on request free, free guidebook library, use of facilities free (even after room check-out), comfortable oversize beds and a higher than normal ratio of showers/toilets to guests. I believe $8 a night is a bargain and maybe unreasonable to think breakfast should also be included as well considering the facilities and services listed above you receive for the price! We are a small hostel and make a very modest income. Thanks for the feedback though and hope you return someday!, cheers, Matt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Great Kitchen, Great internet speed, Awesome owner, overall A++++. This is a real backpackers hostel, everything a traveler needs. Not to mention a happy hour at the bar!!!

I would highly recommend this hostel to any other backpackers traveling in South America.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

The guys who run this hostel are amazing. They helped me with my luggage (because the rooms are up two flights of stairs). They let us store extra luggage as we left to go to the Amazon, then to Galapagos, during our stay here.
It was fun to hang out in their little "bar", and boy the beers are cheap. Our group practically took over the whole place, which worked well for us, but they do have lockable storage in the rooms, should you not have the whole room for your group.
There is free wi-fi, which was awesome. There are plenty of showers, and toilets, which are clean.
There is a rooftop terrace that is really nice and looks out over the city. The nice thing about the altitude in Quito is no mosquitos. Yay!
The location was fine for us. There is a laundry down the street that delivers your clean clothes to the hostel. There is a main drag for restaurants just a block away. It was safe, and fairly quiet. But get your walking shoes on, because everything is on a hill in Quito.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Northwest
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We had a reservation at Hostel Revolution, but decided not to stay. As a couple, the rooms are not a good value. It's just a room, no bath or towels, and in March, it was freezing (no heater). We instead went to Hostal Chicago up the street, which for the same price included an ensuite bath, all linens, even a TV (if you require such things). Based on other hostals we stayed at around the city (Old & New Town), Hostal Revolution is not priced well for couples- more for singles.

The hostel itself is clean and well kept, and in a good Old Town location, but given the price point I wouldn't recommend it.
Also, I have reservations about the owner- I have never had a business owner email me personally with an angry rebuttal to a review. So there's that.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostelRevolution, Owner at Hostel Revolution, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Apart from containing incorrect information, (we do provide towels, linens and extra blankets the climate is never "freezing" in Quito), this review omits important facts. What the reviewer does not state is that she booked a private room with SHARED bathroom on hostelworld. Upon arriving she complained that she booked a room with a private bathroom, I explained to her to look at her reservation online to verify to show she only booked a room with shared bath, in fact we do not have rooms with private bath! she made the mistake but wanted to cancel at the last minute, I explained that hostelworld cancellations require 24 hr notice or the first night will have to be charged. This is simply to cover our loss because we do not have enough time to sell the bed.
The guest got visibly angry and upset about this so I told her in the end that I would rather her be happy and said she could leave with no charge whatsoever even though we lost income on the room!. The guest used our internet and facilities free of charge for 2 hours and then angrily left without apology or even a thankyou for the free use of our facilities! Her partner in contrast actually apologized for their error in booking admitting it was their mistake and not ours. After viewing her review I wrote a very polite letter explaining that I believed it was unfair of her to write a negative review without mentioning her own error. I did not receive any response.

The facts are, the guest made a mistake on her booking, blamed us, we kindly let her cancel last minute free of charge which meant we lost income on the vacant room, let her use our facilities for free and in return receive a mostly negative review which doesn’t include the relevant facts and makes some inaccurate statements about our facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Hostel Revolution isn't for everyone as their website states. It's not in La Mariscal, it's not a party hostel, and it's not a hotel. If you're looking for a chilled, comfortable, modern hostel, where you can meet awesome travellers, cook your own meals, hangout and watch the city go by from the rooftop terrace than this place may be for you. The computers are free, the wifi works throughout the entire hostel. The kitchen is huge, has an oven, and all the necessary utensils to cook up a good meal. If you want to go out, there are a few great restaurants nearby that are really cheap with home made food. We found this great Ecuadorian restaurant called El Meson around the corner on Columbia (3blocks from the hostel to the left if you're heading down the hill, look for the green sign on the side of the door) Breakfast and lunch are $1.75 and the lunch specials change everyday. If you go for Chinese, go to the second place on Columbia, with the red Chinese lantern in the window (its better and less greasy than the Cantonese place on the corner). The hostel is located in the historic district which is perfect if you're looking to see the sights. The hostel is also about a 20 minute walk to La Ronda, which is a fantastic street to visit on weekend nights and a much better (and much much safer) option to La Mariscal which is almost exclusively filled with foreign owned bars.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

Great little hostel in Quito, better value for money than the much busier (and dirtier) Secret Garden. Matt was pretty helpful and always present in the reception area.

The rooms are clean and airy, and the place is very quiet at night. The kitchen is very handy as, depending on how long you stay in Ecuador, you are going to want to prepare some food for yourself.

This place is somewhere we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Revolution? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Revolution

Address: Los Rios N 13 - 11 y Julio Castro | San Blas, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Revolution reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Revolution, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.