We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RideAndes Private Day Tours

RideAndes Private Day Tours
Quito, Ecuador
593 099-973-8221
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 79 Activities in Quito
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Specialist, since 1996. European owned-operated. One or more days horse riding in the Andean Highlands -we have the BEST quality, well cared for horses. Riding on between Haciendas in the stunning scenery of Cotopaxi National Park, Antisana foothills & Otavalo area (can include Otavalo market visit). Full range of route & accommodation options.We cater for all levels of riding ability (different itinerary options): advanced riders, families, children & mixed groups of riders and 'non' riders. Instruction given if desired. Helmets, half chaps, ponchos, saddlebags provided. Very safety conscious.Volunteer options also available. Sally
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Incredible experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were privileged to book with Sally a two day, private ride through Cotoapaxi National Park. The views of the volcano and surrounding landscape were breathtaking, herds of wild horses and wild steers were a few of the surprises we encountered. Sally's professionalism and care regarding the horses was stellar, the horse were well trained and well cared for throughout the ride. Sally was also instrumental in planning connections, drivers and travel details with the rest of our holiday to the Galapagos and the Cloud Forest, it made all the difference between a stressful holiday and a perfect holiday!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Ontario
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing ride with Sally”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We contacted Sally about a day of riding and we were given a few options to choose from. She was very accommodating and took great care in getting all the information needed to match us with the right horse. Sally was very thorough in outlining everything we would need to have/bring. She also provided wool ponchos, saddlebags, half chaps and helmets.

Sally also offered to arrange other activities for us if needed. We took advantage of one suggestion and stayed in a beautiful hacienda at Cotopaxi. Dinner and breakfast was included. Her driver picked us up from Quito, we went on a hike in Pasochoa followed by lunch (at our expense) and finally to the hacienda for an overnight stay before our ride the next day. The views there were spectacular. The owners were extremely gracious hosts and the food was delicious! Due to the elevation, husband was affected by the altitude. Sally again accommodated by delaying the start of our ride and got the owners to make him some oregano tea to help with his stomach symptoms. About an hour later, we were able to go on our ride and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Sally was very attentive and asked us often how everyone was doing. She also included a picnic lunch with snacks and drinks. Her driver drove us back to Quito after the ride.

I would highly recommend Sally and Ride Andes!! We would use her again without hesitation.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rideandes, Owner at RideAndes Private Day Tours, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you so much for having taken the time to comment. Delightful to have ridden with you and your family. Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic riding experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Our family of 5 had a superb experience with Sally and Ride Andes. It was day two of our ten-day trip to Quito, Ecuador and the Galápagos Islands. Sally's driver picked us up at our hotel and drove us about an hour to our starting place. With great care and patience, Sally matched each of us with the best horse possible and gave us time to bond with our horses before setting off on a truly lovely ride through beautiful scenery. She gently coached each of us, providing individualized attention. I was amazed how tuned in she was to each person and each horse, sensing everyone's comfort level, and adapting as we went. In addition to helmets, chaps and lunch, Sally provided ponchos for when the wind picked up. The horses were beautifully cared for and wonderful to ride. Sally even provided a wonderful picnic lunch and took care that we felt comfortable throughout the day. Our driver returned us to the hotel at the end of the ride.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rideandes, Owner at RideAndes Private Day Tours, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review so soon after your ride- i think you were still on holiday at the time. Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Out of the ordinary experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I did a day tour with Sally, riding in to the Cotopaxi National Park. The scenery was incredible. Sally was very patient with me prior to the ride and then while on the ride as well. I am not an experienced rider, but both Sally and the horse took good care of me. There are other tour agencies that offer horseback riding at Cotopaxi, but I felt much more comfortable booking with RideAndes. Sally was professional and very personable and she responded right away to all my questions.
It was a different way to view the Cotopaxi volcano and to experience the unusual scenery. I would recommend this experience to anyone.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchez, Mississippi
1 review
“Me on a horse?...never!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My family planned our stopover in Ecuador without consulting me! I was apprehensive to spend two days horseback riding through the Andean countryside, to say the least! Luckily, Sally, along with our other guides were extremely knowledgable and patient! The horses were incredibly gentle due to the constant care and respect they live with. My children (ages 9-16) had a ball and were very sad to leave their horses at the end of the trip! We stayed at a beautiful hacienda on the way which was also a dairy - such a great learning experience for the kids! Eating picnic lunches in the mountains was amazing! I've never imagined experiencing the sylvan calm of a eucalyptus forest! We ALL had such a wonderful time that we're putting another rideandes adventure on our bucket list!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RideAndes Private Day Tours also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to RideAndes Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RideAndes Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.