We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Unforgettable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urcu de Mindo Cloud Forest Eco-Lodge

Save Saved
You added Urcu de Mindo Cloud Forest Eco-Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Urcu de Mindo Cloud Forest Eco-Lodge
Las Tolas | Mindo, Quito 593, Ecuador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 130 Specialty lodging in Quito
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Truly Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We took our boys (11 and 4) to Quito, Ecuador this past spring break and it was truly a trip of a lifetime. I still can't believe the things we did. One of those side trips was here at Urcu Puyujunda. I arranged it before we left the states. She and her husband (and son) picked us up at our hotel in Quito and drove us the several hours to the rainforest lodge. To say this is remote is an understatement. You literally have to have a 4x4. Along the way you drive by all these amazing crops and scenery. It was so neat for the boys to see coffee plants and sugar cane. When we got to the lodge we were a bit taken aback how "rustic" it is. It is fine though. I mean, when you're taking a 4x4 to reach a place, certain realities must be accepted. The lodgings are a series of huts that are all a hike from the main building. There is no a/c, hot water and you hear all sorts of critters but it's one of those experiences that we wouldn't trade for those comforts. After we got our stuff in our lodge we mounted the horses we had them rent for our ride/hike into the rainforest and to the river. This blew us away. It was hours into the forest and you dismount and hike to the river where the dude literally makes a fishing line and hook and you can fish. We also swam. It was amazing. When we got back they made us dinner and a homemade drink (some sort of alcohol concoction). We also got a couple beers. The next morning they took us to a dairy farm and we were allowed to milk the cows and look at the farm. It was so great to see the boys actually see where milk came from. I would highly recommend this but with the caveat that you are not staying at the Holiday Inn. Don't expect modern comforts. It is so worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
urcupuyujunda, administrator at Urcu de Mindo Cloud Forest Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your stay in the lodge. I´m happy you had a good time and enjoy the nature sounds. Now the new superior cabins are ready and close to the main house and have hot water, and two superior cabins have private Jacuzzi. Hoping to see you again and you can be in any of the new accommodations.
Sincererly,
Maria Viteri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
5
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
46703
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I booked the 3 day 2 night package that includes transport from Quito. Marie and Freddie picked us up at our hotel. The transport was well arranged and quite comfortable. The drive from Quito took nearly 3 hours. The cabins are quite rustic which added to the charm. There is no electricity but there are candles. Don't forget the headlamps. Upon arrival to the lodge I hiked to a waterfall. We also hiked to a waterfall the following day.The guide, Clever, was quite informative about the different plants and wildlife in the forest. We did not see many birds and no animals which was disappointing. We saw many hummingbirds and butterflies. On our last day we walked to a nearby farm and milked a cow.The meals included in our tour were typical ecuadorian cuisine. Clever's dog Lassie was very sweet we wanted to take her home with us. We speak minimal spanish but were very comfortable with this tour.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
urcupuyujunda, Propietario at Urcu de Mindo Cloud Forest Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Chelsea,
Thank you very much for your review. Now the rustic cabins (standard accommodations) have electricity and new superior cabins with hot water and some of them with Jacuzzi. They were built for our comfort guests. We look forward in your next stay!
Sincerely,
Urcu de Mindo Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamberoo, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Very rustic and delightful. Only cold water for showers and no electricity in the huts. Steep climbs to the huts. A great experience. Food good and hosts great as was the guide Clever? Not 5 star but new huts are being constructed with hot water so we were told. Take warm clothing weather Changes rapidly.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
urcupuyujunda, Gerente at Urcu de Mindo Cloud Forest Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear John,
Thank you for your review. Yes, actually the new cabins are open to serve our guests. The food still is serving with a good quality.
Best Regards,
Urcu de Mindo lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

amazing family. lived with them as a volunteer for six weeks. the cabanas are comfy and always clean. beautiful wildlife everywhere and two waterfalls within walking distance. a cheap and natural way to live with a family who will teach you as much as you're willing to learn.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
urcupuyujunda, Gerente at Urcu de Mindo Cloud Forest Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Molly,
Thank you for your words. I´m glad that your volunteering time was good. Hoping to see you again.
Sincerely,
Urcu de Mindo Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

This lodge is a ways from the bus stop, and only accessible by 4 wheel drive or motorbike. The lodges themselves are rustic, with cold running water and no electricity. The beds are clean and comfy. The first morning, a hummingbird flew in through the window, stopped, looked at me and turned and left...Thrilling. The views are exquisite. there are numerous trails to walk and the caretaker and his family are very warm and friendly. The birdlife surrounding the lodge it top notch.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
urcupuyujunda, Gerente at Urcu de Mindo Cloud Forest Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for very much for you review. We are keeping working to maintain the lodge super! and our guests can enjoy the natural life. Hoping you come back soon and look to the new cabins with hot water.
Sincerely,
Urcu de Mindo Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Urcu de Mindo Cloud Forest Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urcu de Mindo Cloud Forest Eco-Lodge

Address: Las Tolas | Mindo, Quito 593, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 130 Specialty lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Urcu de Mindo Lodge is a lifetime experience, from which you will make lasting memories of an exuberant and delicate nature. We distinguish ourselves by our local personnel, our service and our comfortable accommodations for our guests.For your relaxation Urcu de Mindo Lodge has tailored 10 cabins set against a fantastic backdrop of forested mountains: four high quality cabins with two balconies (front and back of the cabin), two of them close to the main house, and two tree houses to ensure enjoy beautiful views a few meters from the main house. All cabins are surrounded by the environmentally stunning cloud forest, beautiful trees and different kinds of birds. The superior luxury cabins have hot water, and two of them have a jacuzzi – ideal for honeymooners, anniversaries, birthdays or as a special gift for your couple. Urcu de Mindo Lodge has also designed 6 standard cabins called Urcu Puyujunda (cloud forest) in the middle of the forest 400 meters from the main house. They are made entirely with traditional materials (wood and bamboo) and built close to the swimming pool to maintain a balance with nature, with a private bathroom and a balcony from which you can observe the spectacular cloud forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Urcu de Mindo Cloud Forest Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urcu de Mindo Cloud Forest Eco-Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.