We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Capilla Del Hombre

La Capilla Del Hombre
E18-94 Mariano Calvache St. And Lorenzo Chavez St | Barrio Bellavista, Quito, Ecuador
+593 2-244-8492
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 141 things to do in Quito
Attraction details
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This building/museum is incredible. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but is amazing from the inside. The art is also beautiful. The only pity was that there was no guide available for English information. I would visit the Guaysamin house before this. I did it the other way round and was somewhat disappointed by the house after this as the sheer size of the Capillla takes the breath away

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    100
    20
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
206 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
“Modern art from Guayasamin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is a small but very well structured museum in Quito. It is far a away from any other major touristic attraction in Quito, but as cabs in Quito are really affordable it is not that difficult to go there.

It has two major points: La capilla del ombre, a well designed space with masterpieces from Guayasamin, and the Guaysamin's house, not that interesting as the former, but worths the visit since you are already there. Before being to Quito, I have never heard of Guayasmin, but his worked impressed me as I think that it would impress people that are fond of modern art.

Besides, as the museum is located on the top of a hill, it is also a good vista point for Quito.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Art culture and views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Oswaldo Guayasamin is one of the most important latinamerican artists of the past century, so this was wonderful to see: the impactfull works that make up the Capilla del Hombre, the small excavation of precolombian ruins, the incredible city and mountain views and the absolutely stunning tour of his house (full of a great variety of art) all make this location an absolute must to visit. I did not go here my first time in Quito and am so very glad that I have been able to do so this time. Getting here is not difficult if you take a taxi who knows where he is going. I recommend asking before you get in. It should cost 1-2 dollars from the Parque Carolina, depending on which side. To return to the park, the walk is easy, just straight down the hill for ten minutes. After walking about five minutes down from the site, you should be able to find a taxi.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utopia, NB
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is something everyone should see. What a disturbing look at the reality of man. His art is moving and a real eye opener. We had a fantastic guide who spoke of the various works of art found in his home. Many of his pieces as well as gifts from other artists were found here. The museum of man was incredible!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka MN USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“do this even if you know very little about art or Guayasamin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

please also see Guayasamin's house, right next door. you may have to plan ahead to get an English speaking guide. I'm not sure. We happened to enter his house right when it opened for the day, when 2 other people had a guide, and we were allowed to join them. She was excellent. a woman of Russian origin. In the Capilla del Hombre there is a guide and video show. I do not remember if it were in Eng. or only Spanish, but both the human and the video were excellent.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Capilla Del Hombre also viewed

 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to La Capilla Del Hombre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Capilla Del Hombre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.