We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room in city center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viena Hotel Internacional

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Viena Hotel Internacional to your Saves list
Viena Hotel Internacional
Flores #600 y Chile Esquina, Quito 001, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 109 Hotels in Quito
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice room in city center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night. Our room was clean and spatious, and we even had a nice little balcony. The bathroom was a bit small, but ok. It didn't, however, have windows or a good ventilation system and that showed by some fungus on the ceiling. Further, the staff was friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
2
10
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The patio is nice but the rooms and ensuite bathrooms are dark, old and relatively small. Not worth $46 (without breakfast) in Quito! Managers/owners are rude. Check out time is 11am but they tried 4 times to get us to leave earlier (2 phone calls to the room starting at 8am, then knocking again at the door). Lovely when you are on holiday and absolutely unbelievable given that we also saw them in person twice that morning confirming we would leave at the normal check out time. No apologies and rude when we left. Not suprisingly the hotel was half empty while most hotels in Quito were full.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Hotel Viena is located on the corner of y Flores and y Chile right in the heart of Old Town. For a budget hotel, this one is fantastic. I got my own room with a balcony and private bath. There is an inside courtyard and restaurant downstairs with breakfast for $2. The owners were extremely helpful in getting me taxi's, helping me out with internet and banking problems (don't rely on a debit card at ATM....always bring traveler's checks!). They held my extra belongings when I went on short trips. I returned three times to this hotel. Considering that every place in Quito is noisy, bring earplugs but because this hotel is located on a pedestrian walkway, in the evening past 8pm....it did quiet down.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony on the pedestrian side or choose a room on the inside courtyard. I like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I spent 4 nights at the Vienna international. The room was adequate, sparsely furnished, with a small bar of soap for amenities. Towels were changed daily and beds were remade daily. Comparable with other budget hotels I stayed at in Peru. We had a prior arranged airport taxi thru the hotel: it was not available, although the hotel rep at the airport took us to an alternate taxi, but did not mention that this ride was not payable to the hotel as prior arranged, but was at the price determined by the taxi driver, 25% higher. The day before we left, we arranged a taxi to the airport for the following night, specifically asking that they call for one to be there at the specified time. Upon checkout at 9:00 PM, it had not been called, and the clerk walked outside and flagged down the first car, an unmarked unlicensed car: a danger in every guidebook, forum and discussion: "nonlocals should always use radio taxis at night, preferably called from your hotel or restaurant/bar; Never hail or get in an unlicensed taxi at night". In short, decent budget hostel with a lack of commitment to service arrangement or safety from my experiences.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Booked by e-mail and organsed airport pick up for $12. All very efficient. Great location, two blocks from the presidential palace. I felt safe in the old town until 8 or 9pm as there are usually a lot of police and people around. Hotel had big rooms but my room was stinky of cigarettes. Good wifi, friendly staff and a lovely inward looking courtyard. I really cannot imagine wanting to stay in Mariscal which looked very locked down and unfriendly when i drove through it. Do recommend this hotel. Also very close too Trolle.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

With clean rooms, friendly staff, low fares and a central old town location, this hotel was perfect. For anyone concerned about safety, please realize that throughout Quito it is unsafe to be on quiet streets. In this area of the Old town, the streets are bustling from 7 am to 9 pm with locals, food vendors and some tourists. During these hours I felt perfectly safe as a solo female traveler.

Room Tip: Street rooms with the balcony are nice though noisy, especially on the Flores side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

+ clean
+ close to everything in Old Town
+ relatively safe area (lots of police around)
+ comfortable beds

- noisy (next to main street)
- bathroom has no ventilation (gets fogged up)
- bathroom has no floor map (can get wet & slippery)
- hot water sometimes run out
- wifi is slow and only works in the courtyard

This place is old but well kept. Bring your own towel- the ones in the hotel smells.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viena Hotel Internacional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viena Hotel Internacional

Address: Flores #600 y Chile Esquina, Quito 001, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 109 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the old town. It has thirty rooms, with private bathroom, hot water, cable tv, phone, and very clean and cozy. The hotel is near beautiful churches and squares. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Viena Hotel Internacional reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viena Hotel Internacional, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.