We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“homey hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Bambu

Casa Bambu
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Bambu
Save
You added Casa Bambu to your Saves list
Solano E527 y Gran Colombia, Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 109 Hotels in Quito
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“homey hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Casa Bambu has one of the nicest and organized hostel kitchens I've seen, with assigned spaces in the cupboards and shelves in the refrigerators, of which there are 3 (or 4?). There are also 2 kitchens! one on the first floor and one on the second, and plenty of cooking gear. Yes, I'm kinda obsessed with kitchens in hostels, having experienced ones in which theft is rampant and pots, pans and utensils are limited or just plain small and unusable for more than 1 or 2 people at a time.

Aside from the kitchen, Casa Bambu has other virtues. The terrace is huge, with awesome views of Quito. The staff is super friendly, helpful, and keeps the place clean. For its home-like atmosphere, it's a particularly good option for travelers with extended stays in Quito. The only drawback is the sketchiness of the street come nightfall. Take a taxi at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
15
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The steep climb is rewarded by the laid back atmosphere, nice breakfast choice and view from the terrace. Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. Staff is friendly and spaks reasonable english. Good position for the 'new' city with nice restaurants at 10-minute-walk radius, transport connection is ok but taxis are the best option after dark.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here three times while traveling over Ecuador. The first time we had a room upstairs - nice and spacious with a comfortable bed. The shared bathroom on the floor was kept clean and the kitchen is the best. Each room has a designated shelf in the fridge as well as a lockers for food storage. Never had seen this before in Ecuador. Everyone here really enjoyed cooking. The roof terrace is amazing: comfortable seating areas and a great view. They also have breakfast service, which we never tried since we had our own stuff, but it always looked great and the orices were ok. The second and third time we stayed downstairs and were not so enthusiastic. Our room was next to the pissoir (why would that be in a hallway?) and the room was not as nice as well as the mattress, which was worn out. But: We would always come back to Casa Hood. Prices are great, the staff is super friendly they have 4 computers as well as a TV room and you cant beat the view!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

casa bambu - clean, comfortable with great facilities; 2 kitchens, 4 computers, pool table, pingpong and a terrace with a beautiful view over quito. the only problem is the hill to get to the hostel, but at least it's good exercise :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
between Netanya and Caesarea
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

At first we did not go to Casa Bambu, because there was no foto of the rooms and we were afraid, that it might not be enough comfortable for us (i'm a mother that came to visit my travelling daughter with her little sister). After we left, Maya and her boyfriend decieded to check Casa Bambu because they were looking for a place with a kitchen for the guests. They really loved the place and the roof with the hammoks and the great view. I would have loved it too!!! Next time!
Lonly Planet sissapointed us a lot, but this time they they were very helpful!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff, the hostel is conveniently located a touch uphill overlooking the park and a easy walk from the Mariscal district. Very quick and good laundry service, drinks availabe and a fairly priced breakfast on the fantastic roof-top terrace overlooking quito. Our room was clean and had an extra bed - price of USD 25 seemed very fair to me, room was basic but clean with all the facilities needed, the only downside was that it did not really have a window to open (the window faced the public indoor area). Good atmosphere, mostly Dutch and Germans, Casa Bambu is definitely still making an effort despite being on top of the lonely planet list (which can lead to deterioration in quality and service as we have witnessed during our trip)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I was really happy being there, the people working there was so nice and everything clean, and amazing looking from the terrace!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Bambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bambu

Address: Solano E527 y Gran Colombia, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 109 Hotels in Quito
Number of rooms: 285
Also Known As:
Casa Bambu Hotel Quito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Bambu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.