We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service above and beyond” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Sur

Hostal Sur
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostal Sur to your Saves list
Hostal Sur
Francisco Salazar, Quito 134 E10, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 154 Quito B&B and Inns
Covington, Kentucky
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“service above and beyond”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We have just spent the last 2 weeks coming in and out of this hotel. Every single time that we just showed up 10 people with all of our bags, they dropped everything and did anything and everything that we needed to make our stay pleasant. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that wants a nice clean, safe place to stay at in Quito.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

I traveled to Quito for an International Living meeting. I stayed in 3 Hostels and this was my favorite. The others were good but I really enjoyed the family and breakfast. I hope to visit again early next year. You wont be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

Wow, what a wonderful surprise Hostal Sur turned out to be! I had found this place online and actually called and booked over the phone. I wanted to hear a voice that sounded interested in having us. I was not disappointed. From the moment we arrived til the moment we left we loved Hostal Sur. The place is cozy, clean, comfortable. Rooms are big, light, well appointed with plenty of space to spread out you and your luggage. The rooms and bathrooms are spotlessly clean and plenty of purified drinking water is provided for free. My husband and I used Hostal Sur as a homebase. We arrived to Quito from Miami, then went to Galapagos, back to Quito, to Black Sheep Inn in the High Andes, back to Quito, then to the Amazon, back to Quito, to the Cloud Forest and back to Quito again. Each time we arrived back at Hostal Sur we were greeted so warmly and they were always excited to hear about our excursion, just like friends and family would be. Everyone was so lovely, from Amparo who was there in the afternoons when we would arrive, to Luis who was there in the early morning when we needed a 5am wakeup call, to Sebastian who was the one who booked my reservastion over the phone. When we returned from the Amazon, we got back to Quito about 5pm with a suitcase full of dirty laundry. Amparo washed and dried it for me and had it folded waiting for me to take to my room, two hours after my arrival. The day I had a sore throat my husband went out to get me some chicken soup from a nearby Chinese restaurant but it was closed. Amparo was at the front desk. She picked up the phone and called another Chinese restaurant and had it delivered directly to the hotel. By the time I left Quito I felt like I had been cared for by family. We were also able to leave items we didn't need for a particular sidetrip with Hostal Sur while we were away from Quito overnight. There was never any problem or worry. Prices include breakfast which is really a good idea because most of the tours leave early in the morning. Internet is free on the computer in the lobby (a nice new one). I cannot say enough good about this gem in a nice quiet but conveniently located neighborhood in Quito. We recommended them to a young couple from Sweden whom we had met in Galapagos. They stayed there and loved it also. These people will do anything you need to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable and they can answer all your questions about Quito. Thank you Hostal Sur for making our stay in Quito so pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

A wonderful hotel that I can highly recommend. A friend of mine and I went to Ecuador for 3 weeks for an adventure/jungle trip in December 2008. We stayed in the Hostal Sur for 5 nights total. The prices are excellent, the rooms large, quiet and most importantly clean. There is a shuttle service to pick hotel guests up from the near-by airport and to drop them.

The hotel is run by an Ecuadorian family that is absolutely wonderful. They were so kind and helpful at all times, it is beyond words. We had so many questions in order to organize our trip, and the family helped us with each and every question and problem with the greatest patience and support. The whole trip was different because we had that kind of (local) support. All in all it is a hotel I can recommend in the highest terms!

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

I stayed here with a friend for three nights and we were expecting a hostel, but actually it is much better, like a small family run hotel. They just don't have enough rooms to call themselves a "Hotel". Don't expect hip backpackers hanging around though, but rather young and old, quiet couples. The family who runs the hotel is very helpfull and nice, they gave us great advices about restaurants and travel etc. and were very helpfull when I got my passport stolen. They are wery welcoming and openminded and will also pick you up at the airport for free if you tell them. They speak perfectly well english.

Rooms a big and very clean, nice small breakfast with fresh pressed juice and eggs. Beds are good too.

Area is good too, you walk 10 min to the busy restaurant/club-area in the new town, and 15 min to the esmeralda bus service, the best overland bus service to several towns around Ecuador and it feels like a very safe area - something between business and living area.

I especially appreciated the good atmosphere at this hotel, the nice family, who just opened that hotel some month ago.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and good value
  • Disliked — Free Internet didn't work always
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sur

Address: Francisco Salazar, Quito 134 E10, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Sur you will feel like in home come and enjoy with Salvador Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hostal Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.