We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veggie in Quito!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fried Bananas

Fried Bananas
Mariscal Foch E4-150 y Av. Amazonas | Pichincha, Quito 593, Ecuador
+593 2-223-5208
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 619 Restaurants in Quito
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: Grill, Fusion, Bistro, Pasta, Healthy, Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fried Bananas is a cozy restaurant with a casual and relaxed atmosphere, right next to the main tourist plaza in La Mariscal. Our prices are much lower than one would expect given the quality of the food and service. We feature a variety of seafood, Ecuadorian specialties, grilled dishes, pasta, salads, vegetarian delights and more; all creatively prepared and as fresh as can be.You will want to be sure to save room for one of our signature desserts.I suggest checking out our website where you can browse the menu, read reviews and get more information about us.HOURS OF OPERATION: MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY 12:30-20:30 SATURDAY 12:30 16:30
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Veggie in Quito!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Being vegetarian in South America is hard. So when I find not only vegetarian food, but GOOD food, I am extremely happy. Fried bananas has veggie options for many of their dishes, and the waitress was happy to explain how they changed each dish to accommodate. I had a mushroom stew in vodka sauce (which was amazing) and avocado soup. I came with my parents, who had trout and chicken, which they both enjoyed. We shared fried bananas and fried apples for dessert. The prices here were very reasonable as well, definitely recommend for a casual dinner!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    65
    25
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Upscale dining without a sticker shock bill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We had lunch at Fried Bananas after arriving just as it was closing (8:30 PM) the night before. The return trip was worth it. It's a well-run, well-serviced and quiet restaurant with lower prices than you'd expect (by American standards), and excellent desserts. We enjoyed the shrimp ceviche but it was particularly salty/sour - Ecuadorian ceviche is much soupier than other ceviches, so there is a lot more lime juice at play. Our chicken and trout entrees were good but not necessarily memorable. The banana split dessert, however, was amazing and left us with a great lasting impression.

Note that the restaurant is a few blocks out of Plaza Foch, near the heart of La Mariscal, and is on a dimly lit street if you are walking at night. By day, no issue at all.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian friendly restaurant in New Quito, Ecuador”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Finding a restaurant with several vegetarian options was a little challenging in Ecuador until we found this lovely little restaurant right off of Plaza Foch. My carnivore husband and my veggie self both found amazing dishes here and delightful desserts at a very reasonable price. The staff is very professional, while making you feel welcomed like family. We would return here in a heartbeat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“For the Gringos who want to be Gringos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I've lived in Quito for over a year now and finally made it to Fried Bananas to see what it was all about.

If you're a travelling backpacker looking for an affordable meal, little ambiance and something more familiar this is the place for you. This is a restaurant for gringos to rub shoulders with other gringos.

I ordered a fish dish which was incredibly over-cooked and over-salted. Trust me, any almuerzo restaurant can do 10 times better for a fraction of the price.

I suggest just coming for desert.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Main courses are too oily”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The only point of difference this restaurant might have is prices. However main courses were not tasty and was extremely oily.
Settings are quite nice and the dessert made of bananas and nuts was delicious.
If I gave it another chance, I would just go for salads!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fried Bananas also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Fried Bananas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fried Bananas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.