We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fried Bananas

Fried Bananas
Mariscal Foch E4-150 y Av. Amazonas | Pichincha, Quito 593, Ecuador
593-223-5208
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 579 Restaurants in Quito
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: Diner, Ecuadorean, Healthy, Bistro, Pasta, Grill, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Fried Bananas is a cozy restaurant with a casual and relaxed atmosphere, right next to the main tourist plaza in La Mariscal. Our prices are much lower than one would expect given the quality of the food and service. We feature a variety of seafood, Ecuadorian specialties, grilled dishes, pasta, salads, vegetarian delights and more; all creatively prepared and as fresh as can be.You will want to be sure to save room for one of our signature desserts.I suggest checking out our website where you can browse the menu, read reviews and get more information about us.HOURS OF OPERATION: MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY 12:30-20:30 SATURDAY 12:30 16:30
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Is worth the walk, the previous reviews sum it up well. The price was good, however you need to be wary as they do add on the vat and tip after the menu price, but still well worth it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    48
    23
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious, reasonable prices, delightful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had a delightful meal last night. I had the avocado soup, and trout which both my wife and I loved. She had a shrimp salad. We split a dessert of...well...Fried Bananas, what else? The atmosphere was charming and cozy, and the staff were lovely. The prices were extremely reasonable, especially compared to those of the Mariscal Foch plaza. A little off the beaten path, but worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Ecuadorian Food in Quito”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I recently ate lunch at Fried Bananas with some friends. We all thought that our food was very good, some of the better Ecuadorian lunches we have had. The portions were generous and we all liked what we ordered. Entrees were about $6, a little pricy for a lunch in Quito, but the food was better than almost anywhere else we went! Fried Bananas is well located near Amazonas and Foch. The decor is relaxing and provides a nice reprieve from the busy streets outside!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dameron, MD
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cleanest bathrooms in Quito?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We ate at the highly rated (by Tripadivsor ;) Fried Bananas on our last night in Quito, partly because it was right next door to our hostal (Kingdom Kichwa) and partly because of the high Tripadvisor rating. To our great surprise, it was nearly empty (admittedly it was a Monday night), but the food was very good, and the bathrooms were astonishingly clean. All the staff we spoke with were fluent in English, and service was excellent. Be sure to have the eponymous dessert!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The price does not include 22%”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Me and my mom had an awesome lunch there , even though the avocado soup was not as good as I imagined the t-bone was really really good I actually loved it and for dessert we had the fried bananas excellent as well . I just want to warn other people about the price , yes indeed it is a good price for the food you receive but be aware that prices do not include the 10% of service and 12% of tax.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fried Bananas also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Fried Bananas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fried Bananas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.