We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, cosy and familiar.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travellers Inn

Save Saved
You added Travellers Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travellers Inn
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   La Pinta St. E 4-55 & Amazonas Ave., La Mariscal District, Quito, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 130 Specialty lodging in Quito
Santiago, Chile
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice, cosy and familiar.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed in Travellers Inn Quito with my family for 3 days. The staff were very welcoming from the first minute, a lovely family.

In terms of location it was very convenient, as it is near Plaza Foch and near a lot of bars and restaurants (just a few minutes walking). The rooms were all spacious and clean, very comfy as well as the bathrooms, although sometimes there were problems with the hot water in the showers. An amazing breakfast is included which is served in a nice dinning room, where you get to share with other travellers.

Overall it is a good choice if you are going with your family, as it has charm and a very familiar environment. But I wouldn’t recommend staying for longer than 4 or 5 days, because if you’re going with kids they might get bored easily. Also I would highly recommend to book the rooms with anticipation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    46
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
46
20
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This property is in a handy location to Mariscal District, and trolley buses are an easy walking distance to get you to Old Town or the Mitad Del Mundo. It is an old house and the bathrooms could do with some new shower heads, but the place was very clean-they even made my bed, which I hadn't expected! Breakfast was ample-fresh fruit, juice, eggs, croissant,bread, coffee and tea! Staff were all pleasant and helpful. I had a single room out the back which had a comfortable warm bed and room to place my backpack. The only downside is the major construction happening next door! Excavation works begin at 6 a.m. And the noise and vibrations are incredible-not a problem if you don't want to sleep in!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed a total of eight nights on two separate stays and requested Room 301, as advised by TA reviewers. The room is great, being on the top floor with no adjoining rooms, so no noise from other guests. It's very spacious, consisting of one large room (with one double bed and one single) and a smaller room with one single bed. We only used the double. It's up some stairs, so may not work if you have large heavy luggage or physical limitations. However, the room has a major defect, and that's the shower! Imagine arriving at 1 a.m. after a long day of traveling, and hoping to shower before going to bed, only to have freezing water dribbling or spurting from the shower. In all the nights we stayed here, there was only one time, the last night, when we had a decent water flow of warm water that lasted for maybe 2 minutes. Plumbing seems to be a major problem, as the toilet also did not refill a couple of times in the morning. The staff is hit-or-miss: at breakfast, mostly unsmiling (the older lady is a bit friendlier), housekeeping is good, and the front desk is ok. The breakfast is easy to skip -- same every day with stale bread or "croissants", eggs, and small fruit plate. Hot water for tea usually came lukewarm. Two good points: we arranged for a half-day trip to Mitad el Mundo with Carlos, and he was excellent! And, the location is convenient for walking to nearby Supermaxi (grocery store to buy water and snacks) and nearby restaurants (very good Indian -- across the street, Cuban and Chinese -- about 2 to 3 blocks away), and to parks (for example, Ejido and Carolina). But there are many other hostels and hotels in the area, so given the $45 per night rate, check out other options.

Room Tip: Check out the room and shower before unpacking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in room 203: The room is spacious with a large bathroom and suited our needs. (Just FYI--Room 203 is located close to the door leading to the main sitting/breakfast area, so we heard other guests getting their days started in the mornings.) We also felt very secure here--The staff secured our valuables while we explored Quito. Carlos and his family members were very helpful: They arranged a day-tour for us to Volcano Cotopaxi ($60USD--it was kinda disappointing because the weather wasn't cooperating, so it didn't feel really worth the price to us); they helped us confirm our flights to the Galapagos; arranged an early-morning taxi to the airport; and gave us a good recommendation for a hostel (Hosteria San Carlos) to stay near the airport before our early morning return flight to the states. (Note: It can take anywhere from 30-90 minutes to travel between the Quito airport to Travellers Inn depending on traffic. Our flight arrived at 11:30PM at night--The staff confirmed previously via email they were coming to pick us up, but no one came. We called them from the airport and they apologized. We ended up taking a $25 cab ride into town--that's definitely the way to go, since their pick-up would have cost us $45 and the cab was fine and safe.) Overall, it was a good option in Quito and we would stay there again. We booked our private room on Hostelbookers for about $22.50/person including a decent breakfast--not a bad deal for the location.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hostel is not worth your dollar. I arrived late into Quito, they only had one room available for 19/-. The room was so small and cramped, i had no place to put to my bags, not even on the floor. There was no hot water. When i spoke to the owner about the hot water, she told me that there are regulations on how hot the water can be in Quito. I wonder what regulation this hostel is under, because every other hostel i have stayed in Quito had decent hot water. The owner then demanded i pay upfront for the room and or leave the hostel. She also had the decency to say it was hostel policy to pay upfront and tried to hand me back my laundry. What a joke!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We wavered between a 3 and a 4 star review for this hostel and landed on a three...
Pros: Pretty good location although it didn't feel that safe walking in the neighborhood at night (but the same can be said of any neighborhood in downtown Quito), breakfast was pretty good, the hosts who spoke English were fairly helpful, good movie collection

Cons: Atmosphere wasn't that collegial - we didn't really get the chance to meet other travellers. Some staff don't speak any English and refused to answer basic questions in Spanish about how to get to Old Town or how long it takes to get to the airport (I studied Spanish for 5 years so I don't think I could have been that unclear with these simple queries). We had the private room with shared bathroom, which was well priced but very small - we hardly had room on the floor to put our backpacks and were constantly stepping over our stuff. Also on a couple occasions we had to wait about 20 minutes for a bathroom. Once I got in the bathroom, it was either a cold shower or a tiny dribble of scalding hot water for me!

Overall our experience was kind of meh - if we were going back to Quito we would stay there and have an OK time but would also be open to trying another place. You won't have a bad experience here.

Room Tip: Private with shared bathrooms are cheap for a reason! Very small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manta, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is my second stay at Travelers Inn Quito. The hostel is very clean and is in a most convenient location in Quito. It is walking distance to Plaza Foch and many other restaurants in the area. There is good Wi-Fi on all floors. They are very helpful in arranging sightseeing in and around Quito. The hostel is a $6 taxi ride to the "old airport" where you can take the bus to the "new airport." The airport bus in $8.00. The hostel serves an excellent breakfast. There are two computers on the lower floor in case you do not have your own computer or tablet with you. Overall, this is a very good choice in Quito.

Room Tip: I choose rooms on the lower floor overlooking the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travellers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Inn

Address: La Pinta St. E 4-55 & Amazonas Ave., La Mariscal District, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 130 Specialty lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travellers Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an antique Mansion, part of the city's heritage. It used to be owned by the Quitea aristocracy of the first years in the 20th Century. Run by Pilar, even she speaks 'poquito' English, you will always have a smiling face trying to suit your needs. Anyway, there is always someone around who speaks English. We have first quality bedrooms, with private/shared bathrooms and 24 hours hot water, TV, phone, wireless Internet, security boxes, wake up call and daily room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Travellers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Hotel Quito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travellers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.