We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NU House Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added NU House Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
NU House Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Foch E6-12 y Amazonas, Quito 593, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 106 Hotels in Quito
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Like many reviewers said, the location is brilliant as it is situated in the heart of Foch area. The hotel is beautifully designed and the staff is friendly. When our cab pulled in front of the hotel, the concierge immediately came out to help with our luggage. He brought our bags up to our room and he didn't linger waiting for a tip. We tipped him anyways, but I thought his mannerism is excellent.
I'm only giving this hotel an average because I love my sleep and proper drainage system. On our first night we stayed at the front of the building. We just got back from the Galapagos and the Saturday night noise was a little too much for me. We left and returned again from the Bellavista Cloud Forest for another two nights. We asked for a room in the back of the building and got room 106. The room was certainly quieter. The only problem I had with our room though was the slow drainage. By the time the water warms up, there was 2 cm water on the floor, and by the time I finished 5 cm had collected.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments, we feel highly honored by them. We always try to do our best and in order to achieve that, we have an excellent and friendly staff to help you with your requierements. We like to serve our guests and that´s why we never expect to receive anything in exchange, and we are very proud of the kindly words that you´ve written. About the noise we do have soundproof windows to minimize to its maximun the noise you might have. According to your last comment we really thank you for it because with this information we can definetely work on it to finally improve it.

Looking forward to hear from you

Best Regards,

NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    104
    43
    18
    12
See reviews for
28
118
46
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mallorca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just returned from a 10 day trip to Quito and stayed at the nu house. The hotel looks very modern - has a beautiful wood exterior. Inside the hotel has everything you can expect from these types of hotels - the plasma tvs, cool design etc. The best part about staying here was the people. I was pleasantly surprised how friendly the staff was and how they made me like I was home. Great service!! The location of the hotel is great if you want to have restaurants nearby and be part of the nightlife. I thought the noise would bother me but to be honest I had a great experience. My room had double windows and slept like a baby. The hotel is pretty close to the historic centre and was a 10 minute cab ride. Cabs are cheap here and I would ask the hotel to just arrange everything. Overall, I had a wonderful stay in nu house and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I liked the room facing the plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

You highly honor us with your comments. In fact we always try to do our best to make guests feel as they were home. Besides, we are more than greatful to know that you experienced a very good service, we really thank you the recognition. We are located in a very strategic place where you can find lot of things such as restaurants, travel agents, bars, and as you said it you can have a very good experience by enjoying the nightlife in Quito and of course staying with us because we like to take care our guest.

We hope to see you again soon,

Looking forward to hear soon from you

Best Regards,

NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The rooms are great. Very clean, trendily decorated. The staff is very nice. It is right in the middle of all the nightlife in Quito. That's great for finding a good restaurant, bad if you like to go to bed before 2 am. The Internet is also suprisingly slow and unreliable for such a trendy hotel.

Room Tip: They all face the street, so if you go on a Sat or Sun there is no way to escape the noise. During t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments we really appreciate them. We are located at a very popular place where you can find everything just by crossing the street, and we do have special soundproof windows where noise is imperceptible. We were having improvements in the Wifi service an luckily by the end of this week we will have faster Wifi service signal.

We hope we count with your presence again.

Best Regards,

NU HOUSE HOTEL BOUTIQUE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel is a clean standard hotel but noisy and nothing special...There is a welcome drink in a nearby bar and breakfast (very nice, delicious) is taken in a restaurant next door. Had a twin room with a small bathroom with shower. Noisy area of Quito.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

It´s very good to hear from you. We would like to thank you for your comments, in fact we are located at the most popular area of Quito where you can find a variety of things to do inside the Plaza Foch. Beside our hotel, we offer you 3 restaurants: Q restaurant, Azuca Bistro and Azuca Beach, where you can enjoy food and drinks and it´s good to know that you like our welcome drinks and breakfast, we always try to do our best to make our guests feel as they were home.

We hope to see you again

Looking forward to hear from you

Best Regards,

NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quito
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I'm booked for three nights at the "NU" House Boutique clever name but I'm thinking this first night will be my last night. I'd go ask if I can cancel my next two nights but I'm afraid they are going to tell me I can't and i'm trapped here. Don't get me wrong the place is nice looking and the location is great but its all you are paying for, the rooms are small and so are the bathrooms. I guess it doen't help that its a Sunday here tonight and the whole town isn't serving alcohol so there is nothing to do. At least my mini fridge is stocked full, I have 3 beers at $5 a piece and half a glass of wine for $9. Maybe if I drink the whole thing i can get a really expensive buzz. This my be a bit harsh of a review but it was a pretty big letdown. I would've written this review in my room but i had to come down to the loby to do it, as there is no wifi in the rooms.

Room Tip: somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Guest,


Thank you so much for your comments, we really appreciate them. Everytime we are greatful to receive you at the front desk, so if you would decided to approach it, we would helped you with your request because we like to take care about our guest, and make them feel as they were home. I would like to inform you that the ecuadorian government put a very strict law which denies the sell of any kind of liquors all over the country. So that´s why on Sundays you cannot get any alcohol. About the wifi it´s glad for us to let you know that we already improve our wifi service and at that time we were installing new equipments in order to have better signal and nowdays you can enjoy it.

Looking forward to hear very soon from you.

Best Regards,

NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Although this hotel is in an excellent location, the actual hotel is less than impressive. Our room was on the smaller side, with no real amenities. We had been staying in hostels with bigger rooms, and for a much better price. A major downside is the lack of internet in the hotel. There is only internet in the lobby, and even that is a slow connection. We have been in Ecuador for a month, and every place we have stayed has had excellent internet, except the Nu Hotel.

There are a ton of fun restaurants and bars around the area, but I'm sure there are also less expensive, nicer hotels as well. I would not recommend staying at the Nu hotel, it is not worth your money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

It´s always a pleasure to hear your comments. As you say we are located in the most popular area in the Plaza Foch and we like to provide the best service to our guests. We do have 57 rooms all of them well-equipped. Besides we do have two ways of internet connection: one through cable and the other one through WiFi, at the moment we are installing new equipments to have faster Wifi connection. We would like to invite you again and honour us with your presence.

Looking forward to hear soon from you

Best Regards,

NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at the NU House for two nights awaiting our week in an ecolodge in northern Ecuador. This was our first visit to Quito. Our first impression was not wonderful, even though we reserved the free airport transit the hotel promised, when our flight landed on time at 11:30pm no one was there. We were tired so we just took a cab. Upon arrival, the lobby was bright, lovely contemporary decor. It is clean, bright and welcoming. The staff is positively warm, lovely and helpful. The management should be proud of them. As an aside, when we asked about a cab to the center of Quito, they arranged an outstanding guide for us, Carlos. Although his English was limited, as they informed us, he took the best care of us, got us to the front of every line, was knowledgeable about the history, and so warm and lovely. The downsides of this hotel involved matters beyond the staff's control, for the most part. There were not railings on the interior stairs, seemed really dangerous. You also have to climb stairs to use the elevator, not fun when hauling luggage. Not accessible for handicapped people. The buffet breakfast was also really odd, to say the least. The coffee was watered down, we ended up across the street at a coffee house for decent coffee. The buffet scrambled eggs were cold and icky, there was mystery meat in mystery salsa, odd lukewarm tiny hot dogs, and a separate serving dish with something different each day, but not marked, weird bread crumb balls which tasted like nothing,and some weird fishy tart things, etc. It is also in the center of a very noisy square and the windows really need better soundproofing. We heard partiers until dawn rose the next morning. The service in the bar was erratic but friendly. It was fine as a transitional hotel, but not a place to stay if you are visiting Quito.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NuHouseBoutiqueHotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NU House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest,


It´s always a pleasure to receive your comments. About your pick up from the airport, when our shuttle is not available we do have special agreements with airport companies transportations which provide us secure service. It´s higly important for us the safety of our guests and that´s why one these companies was waiting for you at the airport. About our staff we are really proud of people we have working with us because they always do their best to accomplish the excellence we are looking for. It´s really pleasant to know that you´made us suggestion, that for sure help us to improve our hotel. About the buffet we do have a variety and we really appreciate your comments because that´s the only way we can learn and apply inmediately improves of all kinds.

Concerning the noise, we do have installed sound proof windows and for sure we are always taking care of it because we want you feel as you were home. We do invite you again to visit our hotel. We´ll be more than honour to have you here again.

Looking forward to hear very soon from you

Best Regards,

NU HOUSE BOUTIQUE HOTEL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NU House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NU House Boutique Hotel

Address: Foch E6-12 y Amazonas, Quito 593, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Quito
#23 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NU House Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nü House Boutique Hotel it´s located at the most popular entertainment place of Quito. At just 15 minutes away from Down Town, 5 minutes away from Indigenous Market and 20 minutes from International Airport.Make your reservation directly with us and received special rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NU House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nu Hotel Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NU House Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.