We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a welcome diversion!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Turri

Cafe Turri
Templeman 147, Valparaiso, Chile
32 - 2252091
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 218 restaurants in Valparaiso
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Arizona
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“a welcome diversion!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Prices on the higher end but when they started with the bread and complimentary foie gras, I was sold. Come here for lunch and see the wealthier locals have a great time there. Avoid the razor clams (too much with the cheese) and stick to the more simple dishes.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Owner at Cafe Turri, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thanks for your review. We'll revisit the amount of cheese in the "Machas Parmesanas". Which of the simple dishes did you try?

Regards, MIke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    105
    102
    45
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Classy cafe, overlooking the bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

A very classy cafe with a million dollar view overlooking the bay from Valparaiso to Viña del Mar and Reñaca. Lovely food, good service and cheerful attention to special food needs.

Typical of Valpo on the hill, the outside aspect is rather plain, but once inside you are in for a treat. A great place to do deals or to while away an afternoon over a bottle of caminere.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“superb view, food, location. One of our favorites in Chile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We liked this restaurant so much we ate there twice - in one day! We had both lunch and dinner here, eating outside but moving inside both meals. We loved the view outside but it became too windy at lunch so we moved inside. At night it became a bit chilly. The staff were very gracious about our request and changing tables was actually fun. The food was spectaularly good. Highly recommended.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Owner at Cafe Turri, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
2 meals in a day. Make it 3 square meals and I'll pick up the tab!
Thanks for coming in!

P.S. My apologies for replying so late. I just discovered that I can do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANTIAGO
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A MUST SEE VIEW”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

This place is on Cerro Alegre, the hot hill in Valpariso. AMAZING view of the whole of the bay and cities of Valpariso and Viña del Mar.

It must be said this is a tourist trap, so be prepared. For example the menu is in the form of local newspaper and quite expensive. The food is good but simple. Obviously it is fish orientated and the sefood lasagna is very very good and substantial and worth of a detour as the Michelin Guide would say.

This is the place to enjoy a pisco taking in the atmosphere of the view......

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great seafood with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Outside dining doesn't get much better than this fabulous spot overlooking colorful Valparaiso on a perfect May afternoon.It was worth the high priced seafood dishes and interesting wine list. We had the Cono Sur Chilean sparkling wine and it arrived perfectly chilled. The deck was filled with Chilean & Argentian tourists enjoying their day off in the sun. We enjoyed local seafood specialties. Our service was OK..but it should be better..perhaps no one wanted to try to speak English.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Turri also viewed

Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to Cafe Turri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Turri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.