We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel with outstanding service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Hostal 199

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Hostal 199 to your Saves list
Casa Hostal 199
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Artilleria 199, Valparaiso 2361730, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 85 Valparaiso B&B and Inns
Graz
1 review
“Great Hostel with outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

We stayed there for 4 nigths and we had a fantastic time. The owners are increadible kind and lovely people. The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean. In the morning you can enjoy the stunning view onto Valparaiso while you are having a perfect breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    25
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
59
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

I loved this place. Everything about it, from the amazing friendly welcome from the owners, the breakfast, the views, the art work, the decor. As a solo traveller they just made me feel so at home.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

Casa Hostal is highly recommended. I stayed in room number 4 (single). Magnificent views and a comfortable bed. I could stay in bed a see the sunrise everyday. Make sure to eat breakfast outdoors and try the fish soup at the blue house next door. The hosts are wonderful people. They will make the best out of your stay. Don't miss the Hamburg restaurant downtown.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisboa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

I stayed at the room "Flores guajiras" on a Winter day. The house is beautiful and cozy, and the room itself has a magnificent view over the harbour and Valparaiso bay. Its romantic decoration with flowered wallpaper, iron furniture and white linen made my stay very pleasant. It was a cold day outside and I was received with a hot tea into a warm house. The guests (Alex and Trini) were kind and nice, and gave me valuable tips about the surroundings. The morning breakfast was diverse: fresh fruit and juice, yogurt, milk, coffee, tea, fresh bunny bread... The house is located on the top of a hill, next to the funicular and one of the belvederes of Valparaiso, quiet accessible. I would definitely recommend it to a friend. Actually, I already did it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Our stay in Valparaiso was shortened to just one night, but we were glad we spent it at the 199. We arrived very late (after a long flight + bus journey) and it was a very cold evening, so it was great to see a nice, smiling face and have a warm and comfortable bed. Trini was lovely, as was our little room, the view from it, and the house in general. The area downstairs where we ate breakfast was filled with interesting little trinkets and artworks and had a great atmosphere. Trini and Ale made me want to set up my own B+B! We would love to have stayed longer to see more of Valparaiso and we will be back some day...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

On arrival we were met and welcomed by Trini, one of our hosts, to this historic house with ample atmosphere. We were shown to our room, very clean with crisp white linen. The room had a stunning view over the harbour, the greater Valparaiso and Viña del Mar. We met Ale, Trini's husband and co-owner, later. Both are really fiendly and helpful and offered good advice wrt our stay.
Breakfast was ample with freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit and feshly baked rolls, jams and coffee.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

i had a great time staying at the hostal 199. trini and ale were welcoming and gave me great suggestions on where to eat. i was traveling alone and they were happy to include me in conversations and we all had a lot of fun! thanks!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Hostal 199? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hostal 199

Address: Artilleria 199, Valparaiso 2361730, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Hostal 199 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel overlooks the harbour and entire bay of Valparaiso offering a prime panoramic view from most of our the rooms as well as from our main guest terasse.It is situated next to uphill station of Artillera, Museo Naval and paseo 21 de Mayo. Our aim is to host traveller who expects a clean, neat and bright accommodation in an characterful old house with famliy atmosphare combined with excellent service. As we do speak English and portugueis also assistance for german speaking travellers can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Casa Hostal 199 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Hostal 199, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.