We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ultramar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ultramar Hotel to your Saves list
Ultramar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Perez 173 | Cerro Carcel, Valparaiso 00000, Chile   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Valparaiso
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We spent one night foor a romantic weekend in this lovely hotel, and we loved it!
The hotel is freshly renovated and they made a great job in the design of the place. The staff was very helpful and polite. It is in a walking distance to great restaurants and attractions, but not next door, which actually was good. It is reachable by public transportation and car, and well, you can walk if you dare go uphill (but that´s Valparaiso!).
We would return in a hearbeat!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    46
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
15
75
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We went to this hotel recently in spring of this year. We found it a very nice hotel, very quiet, clean, boutique as we like, good service and very peaceful. Things that impress us were the very nice and new furniture, the beautiful and modern style of the rooms and of the interior of the hotel. The rooms are very confortable, with good beds, a nice terrace and with a wonderful view of all Valparaiso's bay. It has a very good breakfast. Also its ubicated in a very nice and distinguish place of Valparaiso. I highly recommend this boutique hotel in Valparaiso, specially for couples, little group of friends and families.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Located up on the hills of Valparaiso, a city declared World Heritage Site by UNESCO, Ultramar hotel is a modern boutique hotel built on what used to be a miners lodging. The original building dates from 1907. The Ultramar Hotel was lately built and has already been renovated.
Our room was comfortable, well heated, with simple furnishings and nicely decorated. We had a magnificent view of the bay.
Common areas are decorated with a minimalist look. Free internet is available. It has a large terrace with a great view of the ocean.
They serve a nice complete breakfast with fresh fruits, yogurt, eggs, jam, coffee and toasts.
The hotel is clean, staff very attentive, service excellent.
Altogether a very good place to stay, especially if you like to walk and take photos when you visit an interesting city like this one.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano, italia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

we found the hotel clean and with bright rooms, in a beautiful position, very easy to get with public taxi (collectivos), with good breakfast. the staff is very helpful and the staying was short but very confortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Stay away. We paid for a premium room thinking we would get a spacious room with a great view as the guidebooks and websites indicated. Not so. We needed separate beds so were told that therefore the better rooms were not available to us. The room was so small we were tripping over our luggage. Amenities were basic, the bathroom tiny. The view was over the road to a rubble filled property. The street noise was a problem, traffic noise plus dogs partying into the wee small hours also kept us awake. We were advised by the staff to get earplugs........The breakfast was meagre and barely adequate. It is not in a convenient location and you can do much better elsewhere and for fewer $.. other than that, Valparaiso is great. OH, on the plus side, the hotel is very clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

My husband and I happened upon this lovely hotel in Valparaiso, it is located within a 10 min. walk to multiple local fun restaurants and commands a vast view of the bay, our room was ample, the atmosphere warm and the buffet breakfast abundant.

Room Tip: We had a great view from room #7
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramat hasharon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

We heard from friends about The Ultramar Hotel in Valparaiso and it was the perfect answer to our expectations. The rooms are large and nicely designed, everything sparkling clean, good service and beautiful views to the bay and hills. It was a delight.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ultramar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ultramar Hotel

Address: Calle Perez 173 | Cerro Carcel, Valparaiso 00000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ultramar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ultramar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ultramar Hotel Valparaiso

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ultramar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.