We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a tidy-up” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand House to your Saves list
Grand House
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Federico Varela 27 | Cerro La Cruz, Valparaiso, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 80 Valparaiso B&B and Inns
netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Needs a tidy-up”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Whilst we loved the location, we felt the inn was very run down and rather dirty - the smell of dog and cat was very prominent, the bathrooms were full of mildew and a peak at the kitchen was quite scary by any standards. We are not fussy travellers, used to all sorts of accommodation, but US$100 for a room in such basic accommodation was certainly not worth it. Valparaiso has many charming spots, this could be one, but it needs some serious TLC.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    9
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
23
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southportlandmaine
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

My friend and I were welcomed by the charming daughters of the owners. Our rooms were spacious, beautifully furnished with family heirlooms, and so cozy with spectacular views of the harbor. We were treated with a sumptuous breakfast with fellow guests when we exchanged travel tales in a relaxing atmosphere. This is a very special B and B at a great price. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

We stayed two nights.The two daughters were pleasant initially . The place had a certain cluttered charm...maybe too cluttered. We did not care that much for the location of the house and thought that the room was a bit overpriced.The balcony/patio/deck did not look that clean and did not look like it was being used.
Our major problem arose when it was time to leave. It was an error on my part to pay the bill in cash the night before we were to leave. I did this because we had to leave early and thought it best to get the bill out of the way.
They agreed to give us a wake-up call at 0630.(no alarm clock)and to call for a taxi at 0700.They failed to wake us up as promised and we ended up rushing. There was no time for our expected medialuna and coffee breakfast before leaving. There was no forthcoming apology. We did have a taxi waiting for us with the meter running even though I had asked them to call the taxi and change the time to 0715.
Our 1500 peso taxi ride to the bus station ended up to be 6000 pesos.($12. instead of $3.) ...Not that that much money but we really felt like we were being scammed.
When we arrived at the bus station I gave the driver 2000 pesos and told him that we would not pay more. He immediately got on his cell phone to one of the sisters who told me that I had to pay the entire amount. I told her that if she really felt that he should get the full amount then she should pay him and I explained why I felt that way. I handed the phone back to the driver who announced that he would call the police. We took our luggage into the station and 45 minutes later we boarded the bus without seeing any sign of law enforcement.
On the way to he station the driver did tell me that he knew the people from TGH and regularly transported guests. I think that they might have wanted to help the driver make a little extra money at our expense.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

We traveled to Chile two years ago and stayed at The Grand House at that time. Our experience was so wonderful then, we could not wait to return on our most recent trip. When we went back, it was as if we had never left. This is a wonderful place to stay -- a truly grand house up on the hill overlooking the bay. Every room has an amazing view of the bay during the day, and the lights of the hills at night. We love to have our windows open to hear the quaint sounds of the town and enjoy the refreshing air. The patio outside is wonderful -- enjoy a bottle of wine while watching the sunset, and have another while looking at the lights of the city!
Breakfasts here are great - fresh fruit, yogurt, ham, fresh squeezed juices, breads, and CAKE!! (I love having dessert for breakfast!) The company is fantastic -- Doris and Carolina, the hostesses, go out of their way to make sure that you are enjoying your stay, and will spend as much (or as little) time visiting with you as you like. We often while away the day in long conversations with them and their parents, Boris and Edith. Then we can't figure out how they have still managed to clean all the rooms and prepare the next round of meals! They are great sources of information for all manner of things to do in Valpo. We personally prefer to enjoy the ambience of the house and its location on the hill, but the ladies can recommend sights to see for all types of vacationers.
Don't stay anywhere else in Valpo! You will regret missing this lovely house and its hosts!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

We had a short but Great stay in the Grand House. The house itself has been in the owners family since the early 1900's and is full of character. The ladies who managed it were very welcoming, spoke enough English to help with sightseeing and travel information and made our stay more interesting with all the tips they gave us. It is a bed and breakfast style guest house. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

Just finished our 1st visit to Chile. Our 1st 2 nights were spent at The Grand House. What a wonderful B&B. Our 2 hostesses were delightful and very helpful. The rooms were clean with great views of the city and the coast. And breakfast was superb. I would definitely stay here again. If you are driving your own car, just be aware the parking at the hostel is a little challenging, but we did it (rent something small).

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee, usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

Great place with views from each room. Patio was a wonderful place to sit and contemplate the world. The two women who own/run the place are so helpful...couldn't have been nicer. Felt like we were a part of the city and not just tourists doing the tourist thing.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand House

Address: Federico Varela 27 | Cerro La Cruz, Valparaiso, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.