We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I went for 2 days and stayed for 10! My favourite hostel in South America.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Planeta Lindo Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Planeta Lindo Hostel to your Saves list
Planeta Lindo Hostel
Almirante Montt 677 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2380106, Chile   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I went for 2 days and stayed for 10! My favourite hostel in South America.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Great location amongst the beautiful streets of Cerro Alegre. Fantastic facilities: good sturdy, comfortable beds with nice duvets in fairly spacious dorms, superb tv room with plenty of sofa space, big tv with all the sports channels, play station, net flicks, etc. excellent new kitchen on the roof with the best view in Valpo, right next to the roof terrace which is stunning day or night. All of this comes second to the service and atmosphere of the place, though. Poroto, the owner, and the rest of the staff who were their during my stay are so chilled, sociable, and just buena onda! Incredible place! Thanks guys!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Changwon, South Korea
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The hostel is hidden in plain view. The only hint that it is a hostel is a small sign on the step. The rooms were large with big storage lockers, and the beds were extremely comfortable with nice douvets. There is even a laundry machine free to use! The views are great, the kitchen is alright, the bathrooms need some work. Great group working there!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Absolutely loved Valparaiso, helped by my time in this hostel. The owner took me and another couple on a graffiti tour of this quirky town and was incredibly helpful at all times. The hostel had not long been finished when I came so all the beds and facilities were brand new. The rooftop kitchen was probably the nicest I've seen in a hostel and the view incredible, the showers were hot and with good water pressure. Loved Valparaiso and loved my stay here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for NYE and had a great time!

Pros:
-The owners and staff are amazingly welcoming and helpful!
-it's new so the linen and beds are new and very comfortable.
-incredible views of the bay!
-great kitchen (but it was really dirty).
-hot powerful showers
-good wifi
- it's been decorated really well, looks cool.
-great atmosphere

Cons:
-it was filthy! Big build up of beer bottles. There was a great kitchen but I didn't really want to cook in it because it desperately needed a good scrub. They need to invest in a daily cleaner ASAP! Nobody seemed to put the bins out on bin day.
- there was a band practicing until 2 in the morning one night!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Clean and comfortable, with a terrace with an amazing view. The bathrooms were clean. And there is a nicely equipped kitchen to share. The staff is friendly and helpful! The place has a fun vibe. Excellent!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed in Planeta Lindo Hostel initially for one night not knowing what our plans were thereafter. Ended up staying three nights. Hostel is very comfortable and clean and the guy running it is very friendly and nice. Great location and very close to one of the verniculars if you're feeling lazy! Fantastic views from the balcony and great kitchen facilities if you want to cook. Highly recommend this place.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendoza, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I've being in Planeta Lindo hostel for the chilean weekend of nov 1st.

The place is feels like a very comfortable site,tall walls,wood floors,everithing painted white so
looks bigger.

The staff were really helpfull and was always being kind and warm,they always
were inviting me to asados in the terrace,with a nice drink and a great company.

There was Rafa working,a chilean dude who show me around the city the places
to take shorcuts,giving me advices where to eat for cheap,where no to go
during some times and helping in anything that geografical reference was. if you are luckie,you may have mate with him !!!!

Also there was Luke,an american guy very educated and the manager Poroto,who
was so nice with me and another persons,that drive us into the bus terminal the date we check out,being involucrative,talking to the people to know them and have a nice feedback.

The dorms are big,they had the lockers below the bottom bunkbed,but are quite big for at least 2 backpacks.Also the walls has a nice warm colors,sheets are provided,and if you feel cold in night time no stress,you will have the tickest blancket ever !!!

Bathrooms were nice,iluminated,there is for ladies and gentlemen,they keep them as clean is posible and smell to clean.Love that they were keeping the eye on.
There is hot water anytime.

It may not have a pool,but the terrace is this place vedette.
With an amazing view of the city and the harvor,to have lunch with a landscape like that
is a luxury in the area.
Have I mention the kitchen is in there? Strongly recomend you to dinner with all lights off watching the illuminated hills.One word:charming.

There is no breakfast at the moment,something that doesn't matter that much 'cause there is a cafe in the corner right in front the hostel,but will be much wiser to buy some "tortitas" for breakfast,in the beackery half block away.
The kitchen has 6 burners to use,a big fridge to put your things in,blender,juice squeezer,toaster and coffee machine.

There was wifi in the whole facility,it may not be that strong in the terrace but was something
close to work out on that time.
I dont want to forget there is two computers with headphones and microphone,very usefull to make a skype call,and also a giant tv to wacht any macht,or use the ps2,while you and your pals stay in a comfortable couch,or the couchs who look like a soccer ball.

In the surroundin area there is a bit of everithing,veggie markets,coffe places,minimarkets,souvenirs,"botillerias"(any idea how to translate that word?),empanaderias(you can get cheap empanadas,much variety).

If you are going to Planeta Lindo from the bus station you can take a cab,may cost you around 4000 clp,or take the train to Estacion Puerto,and from that point take a cab or go there walking,taking Urriola st all the way up,and when hits Templeman st,walk over it untill the top,once you got the corner with Galos,take the left and the hostel is just over the righthand side corner,look up for their heart simbol in the sidewalk.

This was my 1st time in Valpo,and this dudes they were watching my back,and everyones back
to provide them a nice service,but more than anything,to make them feel in home.

Go and tell me later mates,lets support independants hostels.

And if you want more,check this :
http://planetalindo.com/gallery/4579005674

Saludos

Mauricio "Dalmata" Castillo

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Planeta Lindo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planeta Lindo Hostel

Address: Almirante Montt 677 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2380106, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A big heart is waiting for you in Planeta Lindo Hostel. Our fully renovated house is special to share and have fun. We are located in the most touristy area of Valparaiso, next to bars, restaurants and the most important viewpoints, even though the best view point is our roof top kitchen and terrace....And of course its barbecue grill. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planeta Lindo Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.