We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly vibe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Volante Hostal

Save Saved
You added Casa Volante Hostal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Volante Hostal
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Pasaje Fischer 27, Cerro Concepcion, Valparaiso 2370654, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a great place to chill while taking in all the touristic sights around valparaiso. The reception staff were very knowledgable about the area. The toilets were clean, private (could all be locked) and well equipped. I would stay there again if I went back to valparaiso.

Only downside is that the whole building creaks when you walk around, can get very noisy while everyone is settling for bed, but this is only marginal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
41
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Casa Volante is an excellent choise to base your trip in Valparaíso. The location is perfect, in the middle of the tourist part of town, close to a lot of nice restaurants and art galleries. The hostel looks great, it is very clean (I saw the cleaning staff doing a great job), the staff is helpfull and friendly, the room we stayed in was very cosy, the bed comfy, even the toilet paper was great (the first real soft in 5 months!).

There is no breakfast included but there is a kitchen you can use and there is free fruit all day! The wifi connection is fast, there is a computer at the reception / living room you can use.

We paid about 17.000 chilean pesos oer night, for a matrimonial room, with shared bathroom, pre booked. This is the best hostel we stayed in suring our 3 month trip ro South America.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for three nights and we felt so comfy from the very beginning. The common area is lovely furnitured and decorated. The only not so good thing was that it was really freezy in the living room, but we think that's normal during winter. So still perfect :) The 5 bed dorm we stayed had a heater so it was super comfy! And the beds are awesome!!! Bigger than normal single beds. There were three bedrooms, a kitchen and table to have dinner. Casa Volante is located in the middle of Cerro Conception, a beautiful area of the city. Everything is within walking distance, perfectly located and so close to lovel cafes and restaurants. The staff was so friendly and helpful, we felt so welcomed. We would recommend Casa Volante to everyone who loves good people and comfy hostels.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hostel. It's right in the middle of the most interesting/pretty part of town and close to lovely restaurants etc. it's also quiet though as its down a little alley.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our double room was awesome. It was huge with lovely furniture and decoration. Plus all those extras you appreciate, towels, heater, down duvet, hooks on door, bedside lamps....
All the communal areas are decorated with style and include lots of quirky arty features.
All in all I find almost nothing to fault this place for. It's great value.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Volante H, Owner at Casa Volante Hostal, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your energy and kindness! Your review make us really proud and it's a huge motivation to keep improving our flying house (casa volante). best and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

It was kinda difficult to find the place, but it's a very nice hostel in a centric neighborhood, really close to a lot of attractions and to the subway. Everything is clean, and the staff is helpful and kind. Totally recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Volante H, Owner at Casa Volante Hostal, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your words Eduardo. Now we have a better sing on our front door, jaja! Best and hope tu see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Clean and comfortable hostel in the centre of Valparaiso. All the main attractions are within walking distance and the staff is very helpful in making sure their guests have a nice time. Loved the artwork!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Volante H, Owner at Casa Volante Hostal, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you very much Gaborruig. Now we put a new blackboard with the best attractions of the city. Best and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very helpful staff and owner. Great location, excellent rooms with semi-double beds in the dorm rooms.

Really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Volante H, Owner at Casa Volante Hostal, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you very much Kadano. According to our passengers opinions, this next month we'll keep renovating 2 more mattress with the semi-doube size. Best and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Volante Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Volante Hostal

Address: Pasaje Fischer 27, Cerro Concepcion, Valparaiso 2370654, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 98 Specialty lodging in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Volante Hostal 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa Volante is a nice and creative designed Hostel, located in the beautiful Fischer Stairway, in a restored big house of the historical quarter “Cerro Concepción”. We offer comfortable private and shared rooms and well thought-out and big common areas; our walls have murals painted by artists from different countries and the house is surrounded by windowed walkways that allow you to enjoy the Valparaiso scenery. Also, we have an increasing recycling policy and we love our neighborhood life.Our business is: a nice, clean, quiet and central place with excelents rates and real advice for a real city. We are travelers too and we love the good tips that transform a trip in a significant experience… much more than tourism.Accommodation InformationWe offer good accommodations to enjoy your time in Valparaiso, even on a low budget!We have a variety of spacious private room types: 2 Doubles, 2 Twins and 2 Triples (can be doubles too). All of them with cable tv and heaters. Also we offer 3 shared dorms with 4 and 3 beds each. All of them have reading lights, heaters, power points, wifi, and bed linen & towels are included. We have 3 fully equipped shared bathrooms, 1 fully equipped kitchen and a big living-dinner-lounge room of 50 square meters, with 32′ LCD, cable tv, internet-wifi, book exchange and touristic and cultural information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Casa Volante Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Volante Hostal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.