We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, gourmet, & seemingly undiscovered” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Cuatro Vientos

Casa Cuatro Vientos
Artilleria 166, Valparaiso, Chile
+56 84338509
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 234 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Cuisines: Chilean, Seafood, International, Pacific Rim, Fusion
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, gourmet, & seemingly undiscovered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Yellow House b&b, which is very near Casa Cuatro Vientos. We didn't realize it was a restaurant until our second to last evening there, so we (and 3 other friends from the Yellow House) met for lunch the following afternoon. Our friend had been previously and explained that he had been the only guest. This time we were still virtually the only guests. But I have no idea why! My husband and I are self-professed "foodies" and I personally appreciate good interior design. We both loved the food, including the homemade bread and butter, and the appetizer, entree and dessert that we shared. It tasted good and looked good! Also, we thought the interior was unique and inviting. Finally, our waiter was fantastic - very warm and friendly. Oh yes, I almost forgot to mention the view is wonderful. I highly recommend this to anyone visiting Valparaiso!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    6
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best restaurant I went to in Chile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I really loved this place. I stayed around the corner in the Yellow House and went their twice. I would have gone more, but they aren't open every night. They aren't cheap by Chilean standards, but both times I got an appetizer and it filled me up. And I'm a good eater - these aren't modest proportions.

The crab pudding was so good that I still think about it a month later. If I'm ever on death row and they ask me what I want for my last meal, it's going to be the crab pudding from Cuatro Vientos.

The views are spectacular. It's right by the funicular, and the port is down below. I found pictures of it on several postcards. It's worth a special trip if you aren't staying nearby. It was lovely.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Although the view was great the menu was a little lacking. The first few items we ordered were not available which left our choices to a minimum. What we did get was very good.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“good service and vista”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great young lady who helped us out on a tour with some options, as menu limited. Bring your own, if from nearby bodega. Nicely restored older house with breathtaking view of working harbor. Will return on next tour.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieu-Bethesda, South Africa
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great food with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a great great place.
We had a long afternoon lunch watching the ‘Ascensores’, the docks and the sea. My daughter had the children’s meal of chips and chicken and I had delicious Osso Bucco served on mashed pumpkin.
The wine was crisp and cold, the waitress was friendly, the service was prompt and the view is brilliant.
We will eat here again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Cuatro Vientos also viewed

Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to Casa Cuatro Vientos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Cuatro Vientos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.