We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Cafe

Melbourne Cafe
Plaza Sotomayor 33, Valparaiso 2361793, Chile
56-32-2225013
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 233 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Chilean, Italian, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Description: At Melbourne Cafe you will find the best coffee, panini sandwiches, salads and muffins. We'll do our best to make your visit comfortable in our cafe. Come and visit us!!!! We are located in Plaza Sotomayor square, next to the port and train station. English spoken!!
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

It's tough finding great coffee in South America - despite the continent producing so much of the world's coffee - and the Melbourne Cafe, so centrally located in Valparaiso (you don't even have to go looking for it), is a welcome place.

Yes, it is surreal, being in a cafe in South America, surrounded by photos of Melbourne, Australia, but it is worth visiting (you don't have to go out of your way at all) to get what could well be the best coffee of your trip. The only coffee I've had in South America that would rival the Melbourne Cafe's coffee is a long way away in Cusco, Peru, incidentally owned by another Australian.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    28
    10
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“They do Soy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

One of the best coffees I have had in the month I was in South America. Ordering was a difficult process though. The outdoor seating was lovely and the views of the the passing crowds was excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just like home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I'm a little biased because i'm from Melbourne and seeing a cafe modeled on the Melbourne cafes was great to see so far from home.

The coffe here is great, they do a fantastic latte and an amazing chai latte. I visited this place everyday while I was in Valparaiso, not just for outdoor seating that provides a great view for people watching.

A must visit when you are in this town - the food is good also.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Lovely Chilean owner with years in Melbourne. Good coffee and comfortable place to stop if visiting downtown Valpo.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best coffee in south America”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Proper coffee, strong and tasty.
Cappuccino even has Chocolate sprinkles like in Australia. I have been waiting 7 months to find some coffee this good in south America.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melbourne Cafe also viewed

Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to Melbourne Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.