We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fauna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fauna to your Saves list
Hotel Fauna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Dimalow 166. Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2340000, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Valparaiso
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed for four nights. The location is excellent and the terrace bar restaurant has great views of the city and is what sets the hotel apart from others in the area. Staff are really helpful. Rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. The bathroom and shower are good with plenty of hot water. Our room had a fine view of the city and the bay. There was no wardrobe or chest of drawers to put clothes in our room, just some shelves.The food is really good although you can eat cheaper in other places in the local area. Breakfast is good too but Is the same evey day and varies in quantity depending on who is serving.The bar / restaurant gets very busy in the mid afternoon and evenings so there is not always a quiet place to sit outside. Overall this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: I would ask to go on the middle floor where we were. The bar restaurant is on the top floor and bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dimalow166, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Richard,

Along with a greet, thanks for your comment.
It's good to know you enjoyed your stay and the the kidness from our staff. We try to be always care about our guests needs. We are glad to know you enjoyed the whole service on Fauna; Hotel and Restaurante.
About the equipment of the rooms we are looking for some options to provide a better service.

Hoping you can stay and enjoy again Fauna.


Cordially,

Mary Quintana B.
Relaciones, Marketing y Ventas,
Fauna Hotel Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    46
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
16
99
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitsunday Islands, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Hidden gem down a small lane way. The restaurant is perched over the hill with a panoramic view of Valparaiso. The rooms are quite eclectic, however a little dark. The room we stayed in was right under the restaurant/ bar and can be quite noisy at night due to the wooden floor above. Staff were a bit too casual, checking time was 3pm, however we didn't get into our room until quite a bit later, for no apparent reason. We had an early bus to catch and found ourselves locked in the hotel until we found the night guy asleep in the restaurant. Location and view are fantastic, just a few little quirks, otherwise a nice stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dimalow166, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dears,

Thanks for your comment, every one help us to get better each day. We are glad you liked the stay, the location, the view, and, the whole service of Fauna.
Regarding the other things, we are going to improve all the details you mentioned.

We hope you can come back and stay again on Fauna.


Cordially,


Mary Quintana B.
Relaciones, Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindo, Ecuador
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We loved our stay at Hotel Fauna! The room with the rock wall was awesome!! The restaurant/bar was excellent, and the staff in both the hotel and restaurant were so friendly and helpful! Overall, a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dimalow166, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dears,

Along with a greet, many thanks for your comment. It's good to know you liked staying on Fauna and enjoyed the service at the Restaurant.
Regarding the design, every room is diferent and has his own style. The number 05 is the one of the Rock and it's just magic. We are glad to know you likes and enjoyed the whole service.

We hope you can come back and stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,

Mary Quintana B.
Relaciones, Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and couldn't have been happier with our experience. The staff are very friendly and helpful' We arrived early, around 8am after a overnight bus trip from Caldera. We were shattered but fully expected to have to drop our bags and check in later on.

To our surprised we were shown straight to our room. The bed was soooo comfortable with beautiful sheets a gorgeous fluffy doona. The bathroom was very nice and the shower was great. Good water pressure and nice hot water.

We were on the same floor as reception. This was good as we could go straight to our room when we walked into the hotel. We didn't notice any noise. The rooms do not have a tv which didn't bother us. It is quite a minimalist design but we liked it.

Breakfast was upstairs in the restaurant and was probably the best breakfast we had in our 6 weeks in South America. Little changes were made each morning but you get what is served up. We had really yummy avocado on toast, sliced fruit, dried fruit and nuts, sometimes some sliced meats such as turkey. We also got a cappuccino which was very nice.

The hotel is located in a very nice neighbourhood with plenty of restaurants nearby but we did go to the hotels's restaurant twice as it was very good with a beautiful view of the bay.

It is also located very close to an accenture which is handy and much better than walking up all the stairs.

I would stay at Fauna again for sure

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the same level as reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dimalow166, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Lysa,

Mant thanks for your comment. We are so glad about you "Loved" staying on Fauna Hotel Restaurant.

Regarding the Staff theme we are really get in hiring people who cares about our guests as in Hotel as in Restaurant.
It's goo to know you enjoyed the whole service on Fauna (Hotel and Restaurant).

We hope you can stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,


Mary Quintana B.
Relaciones, Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We spent a night at the Fauna, and wish it could have been a week. We got a room with a beautiful view. We were one floor down from reception, the restaurant is one floor up from reception, and there is no elevator. This was a bit of a challenge for my wife, who walks with a cane, but she managed. I will also mention there was just a phone in the room, no clock or television set. I always carry a battery-operated travel clock and we didn't need to watch TV so this was not a problem, just wanted to mention it. The window had no screen, but there were very few bugs, so again no problem for us. The street below was pretty busy, with car and truck engines struggling to make it up the hill, but we're used to traffic noise. There are lots of great-looking restaurants in the area, but the food was so good in the hotel, we never left!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dimalow166, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear,

Along with a greet, many thanks for your words. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at Fauna Hotel Restaurant.
We hope you can come back and stay, now for more than 1 night.

Cordially,

Mary Quintana B.
Relaciones, Marketing y Ventas
Fauna Hotel Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed here one night before a cruise and enjoyed It thoroughly. Ate all our meals in the hotel and drinks in the bar. Very central in the safe tourist part of town. We had no problems. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dimalow166, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear,

Along with a greet, thanks for your comment. We are glad to know enjoyed your short but nice stay on Fauna. Regarding the meals and drinks, we have a terrace restaurant where you can enjoy delicious food and nice drinks.

We hope you can come back and stay again on Fauna.

Cordially,


Mary Quintana B.
Relaciones, Marketing y Ventas.
Fauna Hotel Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Fauna hotel was an extremely frustrating place to stay at. First of all, even though we communicated at length through email with the staff that we would be driving to the hotel, we were never told that you cannot actually reach the hotel by car. We spent the better part of an hour trying to find its obscure location even with full access to Google maps. Only after parking illegally and walking to the hotel were we told that we needed to find a parking place on the street and drag our bags to the hotel. I had reserved a junior suite on agoda.com for three nights, but arrived to find that their junior suite is actually their worst room which was in no way a suite, and was buried in the basement with no view and with constant noise from the room above. This hotel was dramatically overrated on trip advisor and agoda.com.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dimalow166, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fauna, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear,

First at all, thanks for your comment, this help us to get better every day.
We really sorry about your expirience on Fauna Hotel Restaurant. The service does not use to be like you describe.

So, we leave your cordially invited to try again with Fauna.

Cordially,


Mary Quintana B.
Relaciones, Marketing y Ventas.
Fauna Hotel Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fauna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fauna

Address: Paseo Dimalow 166. Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2340000, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fauna 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fauna Hotel Restaurant is composed by 15 rooms, whiches are distributed on 4 categories, where if you stay on "Superiors" and "Suites Fauna" ones, you are going to find beautiful views to the city and the bay city. This is located on a perfect place, just in the middle of the most tourisctic and heritage city area, just 5 minutes walking to the center city and between several souvenir stores, design stores and many restaurants.The Fauna Concept is strongly guided by the material and intangible heritage rescue, the design, the simplicity and, above all by delivering a really good service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fauna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fauna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.