We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best new year ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison du Filou

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valparaiso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Maison du Filou
Save
You added La Maison du Filou to your Saves list
Papudo 579 | Violet Door, Valparaiso, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best new year ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Lovely place, friendly owner, saw the fireworks from our window, fantastic view.
Characterful hostel, high ceilings and quirky colours and decorations and little well-equipped kitchen. Beautiful cerro in a great location. Best new year ever, with free chilled champagne! - Gracias!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    10
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
19
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Funchal, Portugal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Basicaly, it's Fabian's house. You are a guest and feel like one. Almost as if your staying at a friend's house, just not a close friend. The location is excelent, a 2 minute walk from ascensor concepcion. The rooms are big. The view from the room was nothing less than spectacular! The price is inviting. Then there is Fabian, the owner. He helps you if you ask. I asked. Like another reviewer has mentioned, its dificult to forget the first time you ring the bell and Fabian pops out the kitchen window on the first floor. The door does not imediately open... but when it does, it feels like an invitation... An approval.
Then there is Valparaiso... I didn't quite get it in the begining, but it kind of grew on me. And when I checked out Vina del Mar, I just wanted to go back to Valparaiso... then I knew... Valeparaiso...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Many good restaurants and bars are only a short walk from the Filou, and you are at the heart of Cerro Conception, one of the most picturesque areas of Valparaiso. It will be probably difficult to find a better location in town at that price. This is definitely the big plus for this hostel.
We less enjoyed the room and shared bathroom facilities. Although, all rooms (at least at the top floor) are spacious and offer some great views onto the city and its harbor, they do not carry a lot of personality or charm. Ear plugs were welcome on a Friday night to enjoy some sleep. The bathroom appeared a bit outdated and could have been more welcoming.
The breakfast was disappointing compared to other hostel experiences in Chili and Argentina. Maybe our expectations about the Filou were unrealistic considering the very attractive price you pay for the location. Nevertheless we would probably try some other accommodation for the next time.
Otherwise, to get there from the Valparaiso bus station, the easiest way is to take a taxi which will cost around 4000pesos. If you arrive late at the bus station, it might take some time to grab a taxi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a real old nice house with big luminous rooms which have been repainted recently. Only 5 rooms at all which is more peaceful.
It very well located in the Cero Concepcion. Just around the corner there is the Concepcion elevator which allows you to go on the city in few secondes.
The price is really correct probably because you have to share bathrooms which are very clean. You pay per personn not per room which means if you travel alone it's very pleasant as you can have a big room for yourself.
We pay 20.000CH for 2 including breakfeast and internet. I think it's 12.000 if you're alone.
The French guy who run the place gave us very good tip to visit the town or where to go to eat, to have a drink...You can as well cook there easily.
There is not a real commun area but as rooms are so big you don't really need it and beside you've the kitchen where you can easily have a drink, seat to write...
I'll definitly recommand it for the very good location, always clean and charming and the owner which has always good advices.
Cero Concepcion is such a lovely place to visit, very safe with such nice restaurants, shops... If you walk up to the hill, you'll arrive to Alemania Street which brings you directly to Pablo Neruda's home. It's bit difficult to climb until the street but afterwards it's an easy walk (30/40 min with great view on the city, sea..). Or when you're on Alemania Street you can take the bus 612 for few chilean pesos.

Room Tip: The first room on the left when you arrive is the only one with a balcony. According to me it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Not having to pay double for a single is reason enough to rejoice. The 5 rooms are all well decorated and large. Cerro Conception/Allegre is my favorite place to stay--this is the 3rd place on the hill that I have tried, and the best value! Nice breakfast and great wi-fi, and a feeling that you are part of the bohemian circle of the area. I mean that in the best way.

Room Tip: the room with the port view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Very clean, amazing views to the city and the bay, big and comfortable rooms, great service, good breakfast with fresh fruit, excellent location, reasonable price, excellent WIFI. Lots of character like Valparaiso. Loved it and loved Valparaiso!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

It was just about one year ago since I found my way to the doors of La Maison Du filou on Papudo street/calle. I had been running up and down the small side streets of Cerro Bellavista and Cerro Concepcíon looking for a place that had that something that I´m always looking for. A place with atmosphere, quirkiness and personality. To this day I still remember the moment when I rang the bell and the owner, Fabian, A frence man that had been living in New Caledonia for 11 years (and also in the french Guiana) looked out the window on the second floor and sized me up. A short time after that, the door opened up and I was let in. I climbed up the squeeking stairs and looked around, I saw the view, I felt the wooden floorboards under my feet, I looked in the kitchen, Fabian was rebuilding his kitchen like the interior of ship. He was talking with his greybearded freind Jeanyves and indeeed sometimes the walls in La maison creaked just like the mast and tackle on a ship. I looked out the window, the navy boats in the harboor lay still but in the dock they where repairing a used freighter ship, there sounds from the town below reached me where I was standing overlooking the ever widening bay and the sky above. Behing me, Cerro Concepción and it´s alleys and streets continued upwards, up, up. I lay down on my own bed, far far away from home and I knew, I was home.

Maybe you can find it too.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison du Filou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison du Filou

Address: Papudo 579 | Violet Door, Valparaiso, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison du Filou has 5 very spacious rooms (no dormitory), with double bed and very nice view to the sea or the hills all around.Into an old & typical charming 1900's mansion, La Maison du Filou has an excellent localisation in the World Heritage area, between Paseo Atkinson and Gervasoni and his funicular, close to downtown and the nightlife but in a peaceful and safe area. Our passengers ( 10 maxi) share two bathrooms and will enjoy our kitchen and small but friendly common area with a mix of international and chilean tourists who know that La Maison du Filou is one of the best value accomodation of the area. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison du Filou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.