We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but bring ear plugs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ViaVia Hotel Valparaiso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added ViaVia Hotel Valparaiso to your Saves list
ViaVia Hotel Valparaiso
Almirante Montt 217 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2380008, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 80 Valparaiso B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Great location, but bring ear plugs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed in "El Aconcagua" room for 2 nights. We chose this hotel because of its close proximity to the sites and restaurants that interested us in Valparaiso, and also because of the views available from the property.

We were definitely pleased with the location, being able to walk just about everywhere we wanted to go. The property is on a steep hill and requires a lot of stair climbing, so take that into consideration if this is something you can't handle. The hotel can be accessed from two locations - the street above (Paseo Dimalow) and the main street below (Almirante Montt). If arriving with luggage via a taxi, I suggest getting dropped off at Dimalow because it's easier to carry bags down stairs than to carry them up. Dimalow is a pedestrian street, so you'll have to walk about 150 feet to the hotel entrance from where the taxi can drop you off at the intersection of Almirante Montt and Dimalow.

El Aconcagua is a good-sized room with a balcony and partial view of the bay. The en-suite bathroom was tiny, with no counter space other than a small corner shelf. The shower was so small that my wife and I would accidentally hit the faucet and adjust the water when moving, and we're below-average sized people. Also El Aconcagua has only one small mirror, a 10" square one in the bathroom. Installing a full-size mirror somewhere in the bedroom would be nice.

While the location is superb, it comes at the cost of street noise. Valparaiso experienced above-normal temperatures (about 80 degrees F) on our first day, so we wanted to keep the windows open at night as the property has no air conditioning. Noise from people in the street and also the overnight hotel staff member spraying the patio kept waking us up. We eventually closed the windows but still could hear the street noise. The next night was cooler, so we kept the windows shut and slept with ear plugs, which worked out fine.

Wi-fi is supposed to be available throughout the property, but the router that services the upstairs rooms wasn't configured properly, so we had difficulty getting internet access from our room. I mentioned this to staff, but they didn't seem to have anybody available who could look into it. We were able to get a weak signal from the router that services the loft, but it was not very reliable due to the distance.

Note that breakfast, included in the room rate, does not begin until 9am. It includes cereal, breads, juice, coffee/tea, and sliced meats & cheeses. If an earlier breakfast is needed, an express lunch can be provided, but we were told that this would be very limited.

Staff was friendly and helped direct us to a walking city tour as well as the bus to the beaches.

Room Tip: El Aconcagua has a partial bay view, but tiny bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
26
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Had the best breakfast at the Via Via hotel. Real espresso coffee, mixed berries, fantastic bread. Sadly had to cut my visit short, so was unable to experience more meals. Great location, beautiful courtyard, great staff, and lovely grounds. Would stay at Via Via again and again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My son works in tourism in Valparaiso and booked us into ViaVia when we came for a visit. It is a beautiful well maintained hotel in the center of the tourist area with lovely staff and amazing views of the city. The room we stayed in was very large and had a full kitchen and separate bedroom. It is very close to a funicular which makes it an ideal spot for people who can't handle the hills of Valparaiso. And we couldn't believe how economical it was ( includes breakfast)! We couldn't have been happier with our son's choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We found this highly rated on booking.com and the price was very reasonable, so we booked last minute before leaving from Santiago. The owners are from Belgium and they have done a nice job of remodleing this art deco house. The breakfast was very good, offering cereal, fresh juice, breads, cheeses, fruit etc. The location was great, just a few steps from all of the artsy shops and cafes. Great views of the town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed at ViaViaCafe with my cousin this weekend and we really loved this place. The owner and the rest of the staff are amazingly friendly, funny and always willing to help. The room and bathroom were super clean and breakfast is a real treat! The location as well is good, just on Cerro Alegre, were you can find all the restaurants and shops! Again, can only recommend this place!
PS: the value is the best I had so far in Chile, by far!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

My partner and I spent two nights at Via Via Cafe this past week and absolutely loved it! The staff was welcoming, charming, and the breakfast was amazing! We are so happy with our choice, we cant wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

We had the most lovely time staying at Via Via. The service was impeccable – both friendly and competent, with everything taken care of even before we knew we needed it. We had the very spacious corner room (El Aconcagua, room 2) with the lovely view and over rooftops towards the harbour from one side, and down into the secluded courtyard of the café from the other. The décor was simplistic, but in keeping with the Art Deco architecture of the building. The food was outstanding! The only problem I found was that it was so delicious, and the choices so to my liking, that I often ordered more food than I really needed!

We enjoyed the services of Christian the Van Man who drove us from Santiago airport to Valpo after a late flight (much more pleasant than trying to do the public transport thing late at night). He also put us in contact with Michael the German Pirate, who gave us two informative, fun days of tours – one around Valpo, the other down south to Neruda’s house and environs. We saw sides to the city that we wouldn’t have normally had access to (and he ensured that we knew which areas to steer clear of when alone). A very unique experience and highly recommended.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the El Aconcagua room (room 2) - large with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ViaVia Hotel Valparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ViaVia Hotel Valparaiso

Address: Almirante Montt 217 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2380008, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, clean and comfortable hotel in the hills of Valparaiso. Cerro Alegre is part of Valparaiso UNESCO world heritage zone. We provide extended tourist information and a complete breakfast. Warm water is privded by solar power ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your ViaVia Hotel Valparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ViaVia Hotel Valparaiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.