We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of old Valparaiso!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Restaurant Cinzano

Bar Restaurant Cinzano
Plaza Anibel Pinto 1182, Valparaiso, Chile
2213043
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 277 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Cuisines: Chilean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A taste of old Valparaiso!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I don't know what diners want. This is well known thoughout South America and is a Chilian tango bar. It's a throwback and just accept it for what it is. As for being dear, well it's been a while since I was there, but nothing is really dear in Chile. The atmosphere is terrific and the food is not bad. Plenty of good local vinos and the entertainment is, well, unusually good. Go late. The banos were a bit rough, but they worked and really, so what?

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    64
    18
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good live tango music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is a Classic restaurant open for no more than 80 years in town. The Menu del dia for 4000 clp is a good point, however is close on sundays!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lively, boisterous, local-feeling bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We went there with a group of about 25 people and we were still outnumbered by locals. We didn't eat, so I can't comment on the food, but the service at the bar was great. We were there on a Friday night, and they had a live band playing traditional Latin music and encouraged people to sing and dance along. Most of the local people were older and even elderly, but were out there having a good time.
I loved the bar and would recommend it to anyone that is looking to have a fun evening, sitting down with good friends.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nothing impressive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We went to this restaurant by. the recommendation of the local. Although I usually like non-pretencious places with local food, the cleanliness of the place was on the border with unacceptable. When we came in, the place was full and they put us at the table from which another couple just left. The tablecloth wasn't changed and little was done after we asked to clean up the table. Also, the waiter just left the pebre (which wasn't any good) that was left from the previous couple and only changed it when we asked him to. We ordered scallops in parmesan and these were amaizing. The rest of the food (fish and fries) was good but nothing out of the ordenary. The two things that the restaurant had going for it was the live tango music and the atmosphere of the place. Overall, I don't regret going to this restaurant but I wouldn't necessarily recommend it either.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“decent Paila Marina”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We were sent here by a local, but we were largely unimpressed with the food. They wouldn't serve us papas fritas as an order because it can only come with a main dish - perhaps, a Chilean thing - and the soup that did arrive was excellent in every respect except for the fact that it had these two large pieces of congrio that were overcooked and pretty much inedible :( I should note, though, that the live music was great.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Restaurant Cinzano also viewed

Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to Bar Restaurant Cinzano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Restaurant Cinzano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.