We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, good price and super sweet people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montealegre de Valparaiso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montealegre de Valparaiso to your Saves list
Hotel Montealegre de Valparaiso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Montealegre 244 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2370541, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Valparaiso
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, good price and super sweet people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed two nights at the hotel. It was renewed from the previous owners and they are doing a great job with it. It was tidy, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and the staff was super friendly and flexible with our time schedule. It is located in the nicest area of Valpo. Hope to stay there again soon!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, the room with the view of the sea is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    11
    9
    11
See reviews for
5
39
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aschaffenburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We found Hotel Montealegre by chance and we were more than surprised. The hotel is very unique, every room is styled by Daniel in a different kind, all of them are very stylish. Some of the rooms have nice view over Valparaiso bay. The staff is such nice and helpful. Breakfast is served with love, it is much better than the common South American breakfast. The hotel is located in Alegre, the nicest part of Valparaiso. Steep hills make the access not easy, but it is reachable by cars and the cable-car-station is just next corner. It is really an experience riding these typical cable-cars (there are several in town). Back in Valparaiso there will be no other option for us than to return to this hotel. Unfortunately it is not around the corner from Germany. Reiner & Michael

Room Tip: Room 305 is on top floor with nicest view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deventer, The Netherlands
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We arrived here on New Years Eve. We had a warm welcome. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. We had a nice room, and everything was very clean.
3 months ago new owners took over and made some major changes. With the help of an artist all the rooms were redecorated. We joined in for a special dinner arrangement. First a buffet dinner with drinks, and then an exclusive view from there terras off the spectaculair fireworksshow of 20 minuts in Valparaíso and a afterparty! We had a very good time and are so happy we celebrated New Year with the staff and the other guests, like a family. Couldn't wish for better. Then in the morning skyped with our families in the room. After a nice breakfast we said goodbye tot everyone and left with all good memories. Greet and Margaret

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

It looks and feels like a hostel.
On the down side, walls are pretty thin so it can get a little noisy at night.
Good service and location.
The people working at Montealegre are very kind and helpful.
The breakfast is included and its ok.
There's a lot of places to visit nerby. I highly recomend El Desayunador and Malandrino, an Italian joint.

Overall Montealegre is a correct place to stay if you are on a tight budget.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My friends and I have stayed in this hotel twice and have found it both times less than satiasfactory. The hotel is quite cheap so we weren't expecting luxury however, dirty rooms, broken lights and cold showers which leak all over the floor were not what we had in mind. To be honest we could have looked past all of these problems and more if it wasn't for the staff at the hotel being so unhelpful. They are VERY unorganised, our first stay they had not booked our rooms properly, the second stay they 'misplaced' my deposit and tried to get us to pay an extra $50'000. Mistakes are easily made but the least they could have offered us was a smile but apparently that was too much to ask for. We only returned a second time because we were completely stuck, but needless to say we will not be back a third.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod, ma
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Yes, the rooms are VERY small, but that's fine you're not there to hang out in your hotel room, right? The pros: good showers, hot water good pressure. Good location, close to a few restaurants and a funicular. The cons: just about everything else... First the bed, while it was comfortable it did not have a mattress cover on it, nor did the pillows have liners. I looked inside the pillowcase to see a gray (yes it was no longer white or even beige) foam pillow. At night the thin bottom sheet would come off the mattress and you'd find yourself lying on a bare mattress. No one came to clean the room during out 2 night stay or give us clean towels. The room "looked" clean although I had dirt stuck to my socks when I walked around without shoes. The door handle on the cupboard/closet was broken adding to the run down feel of the place. Breakfast was a roll with guacamole or jam and coffee. The "staff" was almost nonexistent, and were not overly helpful. If you're staying in Valpo more than a night or 2, spend the extra money and stay somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

Valparaiso is the port city 70 miles north of Santiago. Very little rooms with no room to walk; have to watch cable tv while lying down. The room was clean as was the private bathroom. The price is right. The city is crowded, small, with winding, very steep, hilly, narrow streets. There are still funiculars all over taking you up hills. Staff at the hotel was very nice and helpful. Continental breakfast was adequate and although they say no parking, there are 3 tight parking spaces. It's actually better to take a taxi from the ship disembarkation and rent a car when you leave the area. We were told the buses in all of Chile are wonderful and a good way to travel. Many people we spoke to said they take a "Pullman Bus" to Mendoza, nearest Argentinian city, with sleeping facilities on the bus. They say the lower level of the bus is most comfortable but upper level is OK and cheaper.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montealegre de Valparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montealegre de Valparaiso

Address: Montealegre 244 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2370541, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montealegre de Valparaiso 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Montealegre de Valparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montealegre de Valparaiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.