We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Licanantay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Licanantay to your Saves list
Hostal Licanantay
Guillermo Rivera 316 | Cerro Yungay, Valparaiso 2380374, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Santiago, Chile
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I chose this hostel because it was cheaper than the others and was in a good location. That said, a lot of times you get what you pay for when paying less and this was no exception. The staff was friendly enough, but the breakfast was meager even by South American standards, overall the cleanliness might not work for the faint of heart (though they were repainting during my stay), the beds were pretty worn, and it can get really loud at night with the pack of barking dogs which live on the corner. It was not without its merits however: close to the shenanigans on Ecuador, cheap drinks, good locale, on site laundry, wifi throughout the hostal, and a really good vibe.

Room Tip: If you get the room in the corner of Guillermo Rivera & Ecuador, you'll have a balcony that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    3
    7
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I went with a group of 6 friends in January this year, but it wasn't a serious matter since they had plenty beds to sleep.
We paid 7000 for one night and it had an open common room, in which people met each other with the help of playing cards, a guitar or just talking. There were people coming from everywhere, which gave a multicultural atmosphere to this place.

For the people who hadn't been on a hostal, this place had many bunk beds and lockers to save your stuff. You needed to have a padlocks for using them, though.
I hadn't come up with the idea of carrying one, so I left my things next to my bed and I didn't have any problems. The people who went there were really trustworthy and friendly, almost like a house from hippies.

You could use the kitchen and have a cup of tea or coffee whenever you wanted. It also had showers and bathrooms in good state.

One of the drawbacks, at least for me, was that they played music loudly when we were trying to sleep at night. They had speakers on the hallways, so it was difficult to go to a deep sleep until 3 or 4 in the morning.

The neighbourhood was OK, and it was located near the metro and bus stations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Duley, Pedro, Gonzalo, The Argentine and The Mexican. The only person in this hostal who did any work the whole week we stayed in valpo was a pimp selling jelly. Some kind of madhouse this place like no where i´ve ever stayed before. Mexican guy one day we saw him strolling round the streets dressed as a pirate on stilts. Mexican guy wakes up one day drunk as a marfukr carries on drinking and starts playing the trumpet early in the morn. Mexican guy crashed two days later and watched infomercials for two hours straight. Duley was lean as a bean most of the time. Pedro and the Argentine, pretty sure neither work there, both a couple sandwiches short of a picnic, but pedro was aight and argentine was a bit weird. Gonzalo is the manager didnt really see him. People partying everynight, wouldnt recommend staying here with the family or if you want to sleep. Cheap as hell, staff a bit slack, noisy most of the time. But so much fun; so much fun.

Room Tip: better off getting a broom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I paid 7000 a night which is quite "economico" and stayed here around new years eve. I actualy really liked the hostel and the staff was nice. The hostel is basic and a little crowded but friendly. The neighbourhood is ok and i didn't feel unsafe.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Although I met some really nice people over here, i didn't like the place. The building is very old en could use some renovation. I stayed in an 8p dorm, which was really small. There were only 4 small lockers available, which were too small for a backpack. So, everybody's stuff is on the floor. My mattress was old and sagging so I could feel the planks of the bed through it. Kitchen is small but ok. Staff is nice. 

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Valparaiso hotels

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Though the woman who checked me in was helpful I did not like this hostel. Before anything else, she said that this was not a nice part of town and that under no circumstances should I take anything valuable out with me. The place was interestingly decorated, but dirty and uncomfortable. Most of the other guests were noisy and music was pumped into the rooms until around 5a.m.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

The hotel is in an area with a lot of thefts. I didnt feel safe here. The toilets had water on the floor. The bed sheets were stained. We had a reservation for 3 days but left early in the morning after our first night. The owner Gonzalo was rude and aggressive to both of us for even the littlest request, such as new sheets that we could even change ourselves. I wouldn´t recommend this hostel to any one. On the upside the town is beautiful and a great place to eat and drink.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Licanantay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Licanantay

Address: Guillermo Rivera 316 | Cerro Yungay, Valparaiso 2380374, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Licanantay - This word means 'Welcome to all the people of the world' in the Native Atacaman indigenous language. Our team at the hostel feel this is the perfect name to Welcome our awesome guests.Here at Hostal Licanantay we strive to make you feel at home in this newly refurbished 19th century building. Managed by owner Gonzalo, a porteño, we make sure you will enjoy exploring Valpo`s hidden corners, laneways full of street art, making new friends and getting lost in the neverending nightlife. With its recently restored and colorful decorated rooms this privately run little hostel will make your heart beat faster. We have the best location for you, we are located in the heart of Valparasos 'UNESCO world heritage site' historic old quarter, a short walk up the hill from Bellavista Street, walking distance to the countless tourist attractions including museums, markets and the colonial architecture that makes Valparaiso so beautiful and world famous.We have no curfew! 24hrs security, hot showers, breakfast included, a fully equipped kitchen, very comfy mattresses, late check-out (noon), free lockers, free high speed internet, TV lounge, free luggage storage, tourist information, free city maps, book swap, group Asado/Bbq porteño dinner events and more.Licanantay, licanantay, licanantay.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Licanantay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Licanantay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.