We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa de Henao

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Casa de Henao to your Saves list
La Casa de Henao
Vista Hermosa 345, Playa Ancha, Valparaiso 236-0439, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 80 Valparaiso B&B and Inns
North Carolina
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Convenient and cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

There is not a lot to add to the comments below. Casa de Henao is cozy and comfortable. The location is super. The owners take good care of their guests and are a great resource of info. They speak English, if that's important to you. They were the only hostelry/hotel in Chile that provided washcloths in their bathrooms. It's minor, but I appreciated it. They stay quite busy and for a good reason. Don't hestitate to book there.

Room Tip: The room on the top floor provides a view of the harbor, but you need to climb an impressive stairca...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    8
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
45
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is one of the greatest bed and breakfast I’ve ever stayed … the staff, Jose, Karen and Mrs. Monica are amazing, very helpful, friendly and always available for the guest´s. The house is beautiful, clean and full of nice details and is connected by car, taxi, bus and everything.

The best option in Valparaiso, no doubt

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Chose this hotel after our cruise,having dealt with Karen over phone(English speaking is not that common here). Absolutely wonderful family who made us feel very welcome .Place is very clean,we had our own room with ensuite with great views over bay.There is a kitchen for guest use with fridge,stove and microwave.Breakfast was the best continental we have had.
Jose gave us a days tour ,the highlight being lunch at a remote local fishing beach,We highly recommend his personal tours and his wealth of information. Because we were staying over Xmas,we had the honour of being invited to their family Xmas dinner. We Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for the Tower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is an excellent hotel concept where the owners really take care of you and make you feel at home. The rooms are nice. We stayed in a double bedroom with shared bathroom and everything was excellent. We managed to sleep way better that we do when we stay at some expensive hotels. Breakfast is served in a kitchen next to an open patio and you are welcomed as if you were entering your grandma's kitchen. Simply amazing. We got to Valparaíso a little bit late at night and the owners helped us to get some food because some places were already closed. They even called a few places for us and gave us a ride there. We immediately recognized we were in the right place. They also make sure you know what things you can do and what places to visit before you leave the hotel and adventure through the streets of Valpo. Most buses (known by Chileans as "Micros") stop right around the corner on the street where the hotel is. Once we mastered the bus system, it was pretty easy to move around and come back to the hotel. The internet is pretty good. This was our first time staying in a B&B style hotel and I believe we went for a 5-star one. Don't even think about it. Book it now.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Located in Playa Ancha, perhaps not that easy to find, but with Karen's directions and my iPhone I had no trouble finding the Hostel, the neighborhood is quiet, but a few minutes away from small shops and even a sushi bar, taking a micro to Valparaiso's downtown is no trouble what so ever. The place is beautiful, it's a early 20th century house very well kept and customized to a very nice hotel. Karen and Jose are very warm and welcoming people who are always ready to help or give you a a good tip. The rooms are clean and confortable, and is very quiet at night so you can get a good night sleep. Breakfast is awsome, very good coffee, in a biutiful kitchen. Parking is available for a very reasonable price, and the common places in the hotel are just perfect to read a book or just rest for a while. It's just perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Jose And karen were incredibly helpful and friendly.
• amazing breakfast
• bus stop 10m away for a quick ride to the port area
• or an easy 10-15 min walk down hill to the port area
•clean room, clean bathroom
•beautiful home
Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

La Casa De Henao is truly our 'home away from home'. Jose and Karen were wonderful warming hosts who made us feel right at home and part of the family. As soon as we arrived Jose made sure we hadn't been ripped off by our taxi driver (which is highly likely for tourists). He gave us a tour of their gorgeous, large 3 story house and right away we noticed how tastefully it was decorated and how nice the vibe was. Our double room was spotless, cosy, tasteful and welcoming. The bed was the most comfortable we have slept in our 6 month travels. The breakfasts was delicious and changed every day and we enjoyed having breakfast with our hosts. Jose gave us great tips on how to get around, what to see, where to eat, where to buy Alpaca blankets and was even kind enough to drop us to our walking tour and the bus station when we were running late. And to top off the experience we decided to stay a day longer as Jose offered to take us to the nearby Casablanca wine region and afterwards to a seafood restaurant (that only locals would know about) where we had the most amazing and affordable seafood meal on our trip. Jose, Karen and their family were amazing hosts and wouldn't hesitate in recommending this B&B. Lastly, yes the B&B is a 15min walk to the centre of town but it's a great walk (and loads of public transport if not up for walking) and the area the B&B is situated in is really safe which is a major bonus in Valpo. This is the perfect place for couples, friends and families to stay. As its a family run business it is well set up for all ages.

Room Tip: Double room at the front of the house has a gorgeous little window looking out onto the street. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa de Henao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Henao

Address: Vista Hermosa 345, Playa Ancha, Valparaiso 236-0439, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Henaos House with the fine construction from the beginning of the 20 century combine the great familiar atmosphere, comfort, security and cleanliness for our fellow travelers enjoy their stay in this picturesque port heritage of humanity, Valparaiso.Our services included Free WI-FI, Bike Rent, Guide Tour (English, German, Spanish), Laundry (Additional Cost), Traditional Breakfast and others.Within walking distances from main streets, monuments, museums, pubs, restaurants and a lot more you are invited to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Casa de Henao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa de Henao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.