We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valparaiso Experience Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Valparaiso Experience Apartments to your Saves list
Valparaiso Experience Apartments
Pasaje Santa Margarita 234 | Cerro Bellavista, Valparaiso 00000, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Santiago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

Everything was just increible: the site , the view, the house and the motivation and human qualities of the owner Bart Koning, thank you so much, we enjoyed your place and Valparaiso. see you.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpo-Experience, Owner at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this review, March 16, 2010
Bonjour Pascal,

Thanks so much for staying once more at Valparaíso Experience with your sons and friends, it is always great to have you here; whenever you like to spend some days on the coast, the views from the apartments are waiting for you ;-).
Cariños, Marcela & Bart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    19
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
27
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

We stayed here for 5 days in early January. We had done some searching on the internet before we left and were not disappointed. We had a great time visiting with our friends and the view from the balcony was fantastic. It's in a great location close to the town center (within walking distance) and the owner/manager was more than willing to show us where to go for great seafood, drinks, and the "real" Chile experience. Everything that we needed was provided for us there including a bottle of wine upon our arrival. While relatively clean overall, some of the little things were missed that would have made it sparkling. We would go back there tomorrow if we could.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpo-Experience, Owner at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this review, January 19, 2010
Likewise amigos, thanks again for your visit and sharing Your Valparaíso Experience with other travelers!
Your opinion is very important, so with great interest I look forward to hear your suggestions to improve those small details.
Safe travels and hopefully until soon, saludos

Bart Koning
Owner of Valparaíso Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

We stayed in the Duplex and the Pablo Neruda for 6 weeks all together. What a great place. The location is excellent on one of the nicest hills of Valparaiso. Our kids ( 8 and 11) played outside with the other kids in this safe and friendly neighbourhood. The appartments are very nice and special. The spacious Duplex has, wooden floors, perfect big balconies overlooking the pacific and has lots of space . The life of rich Valparaiso yuppies can be lived in this apprtment for a very modest price.The Pablo Neruda is different but also very nice. . It was in the patio of Pablo Neruda where our kids could play hide and seek with the other kids the best ( according to them). We really recommend both appartments

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpo-Experience, Dueño at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this review, January 16, 2010
¡Hola querida family!
Many thanks for your kind review, it was great having you at Valparaíso Experience. Since your extended stay, all the kids from the block keep asking for you, and the neighbour dog looks strangely sad without your lively company.
Many thanks also for the Chile guide books you left at the apartments, various guests already made good use of them!

Hopefully until soon, cariños
Bart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

I visited Valparaiso, Chile with HMCS Calgary (Canadian naval frigate) and was looking for a location that could accommodate a small group of friends for our extended visit. Luckily, we stumbled onto this gem and booked it as fast as possible. Everyone who stayed (or even visited for a day) were amazed with the place. The views alone from the 3 terraces are worth the price, however, the rest of the duplex was just as beautiful. It is quiet evident that the owner has taken pride in his work and guaranteed a home that will please just about everyone. It might be hard to tear yourself away from the terrace and leave the house because of it's beauty and the complete relaxation that comes with it. Privacy was accomplished by the 4 private rooms accommadating up to 8 people. All the amenities were included such as bbq, wifi, washer and dryer, full kitchen, and more. Everything that we needed was available to us or was a short stroll away.

To top it all off, the owner (Bart) was more than helpful showing us around and giving advice where and what to see. Bart also organized horse back riding and wine tours for the interested guests. Both activities were described as amazing, really showing off the Chilean culture. Bart was the ultimate host, ready to please his guests by any means.

Without a doubt, this is a hidden gem that should be considered before you dish out more for a hotel. Absolutely amazing and would rent/recommend again in a second.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

I can't tell you how excited my colleagues and I were to be in Chile first of all and when we got their to be in a place that was very clean...and well thought out. The VIEWS alone at night and during the day are well worth the stay. The hospitality and location were what got me...The owner went out of his way to not only make sure our stay was enjoyable but helped us with things as little as directions to booking tours (wines, horseback riding ect. ) He was a wealth of knowledge and made us feel welcome. Being almost downtown Valparaiso was an experience in the least...staying in this location allows you to walk in a safe enviroment and enjoy local customs, foods and entertainment. I am already planning a return visit during the summer time with my wife this time. I highley recommend this as a vacation spot!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Vermont
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Staying at this place was the highlight of my trip to Chile.

The house has 3 units - the upstairs duplex (where I stayed), and two single-floor apartments below. All have fabulous views of the harbor, thanks to a very thoughtful redesign of the old house by its current Dutch owner. Everything is brand-new (except where he used charming recycled old wood), filled with sunlight, comfortable and modern.

The very best part of the stay was dealing with Bart (the owner). Fortunately for me, his girlfriend was out of town, and so he turned into an enthusiastic guide to the joys of Valparaiso. He knew all the best restaurants and bars - not the most trendy, but the best quality. I have seldom eaten so well or enjoyed the nightlife so much on my many travels.

Great trip, great stay, great company!

Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpo-Experience, Owner at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this review, August 28, 2009
Dear Alex,

Thanks you so much for your stay and review, it was great having you here in the Queen Mary Duplex!
Actually, even with the 5th day you decided to stay there are still many things to be seen and done, apart from all we did like the boat ride, the many seafood places, markets, discovering surroundings, citywalks etc.
So please let me know when you plan to come again, a fresh & home made pisco sour will be waiting for you!

Take care, hasta siempre

Bart Koning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

The fittings and fixtures were done in a way which complemented the surroundings which are astounding,the views magnificent and the location perfect.
The hosts couldn't have been more helpful and were a mine of information not only regarding the locality but other parts of South America.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valparaiso Experience Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valparaiso Experience Apartments

Address: Pasaje Santa Margarita 234 | Cerro Bellavista, Valparaiso 00000, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valparaíso Experience offers great ocean view apartments on a superb location on Bellavista hill, Valparaiso. This colorful city is declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, very lively & enjoyable, and probably Chile's most attractive city: while you are here make sure this will be the highlight of your trip, and stay in one of the home rental apartments of Valparaíso Experience: 4 bdrm Queen Mary Duplex with large terraces, 3 bdrm Pablo Neruda Apartment, 2 bdrm Bellavista Cottage with garden, and 4 new luxury ECCO Duplex apartments with ample terraces (2 bdrms + 2 bthrms each); all are fully furnished and boast spectacular views over the Pacific ocean, Andes mountains and coastline. Rated excellent on both Flipkey and Tripadvisor in 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013 thanks to great reviews from guests, ideal for families with children, groups, couples, solo travelers and business trips. Welcome to your Valparaiso Experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Valparaiso Experience Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valparaiso Experience Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.