We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good appartment, but small for 6.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valparaiso Experience Apartments

Save Saved
You added Valparaiso Experience Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Valparaiso Experience Apartments
Pasaje Santa Margarita 234 | Cerro Bellavista, Valparaiso 00000, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Quepos, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good appartment, but small for 6.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed here with our 4 children for 3 nights. Bart, the owner, was tremendously friendly and helpful, waiting up until 1am when we arrived in really good humour, and whatever we asked him for (an extra drying rack and a new gas cylinder) he provided. He was great.

The appartment was nice and well equipped, but I would say it was small for 6 of us. It had a double room, a room with a bunk bed and a small single room. We have 4 children and so one of them needed to sleep on the sofa bed in the main room, which meant we were confined to our bedroom once the children were in bed, which was a shame. It was great to have a washing machine in the appartment and I used it well. The shower was lovely: really hot and powerful, but the bathroom is cramped and was perpetually damp. Also one small bathroom for 6 of us was a little tricky at times. I would stay here again but would ask for a larger appartment if possible.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpo-Experience, Owner at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Hi dear family,

Thanks so much for you stay and review, it was great having you with us at Valparaiso Experience!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, it requires quite some logistics to travel with 4 small children, well done!
About the apartment, Pablo Neruda Apartment is a 3 bedroom apartment and perfect for 4 people, with a maximum capacity of 6. For your family of 6 Queen Mary Duplex with 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms would have been ideal, but was already reserved for these dates in summer. If your extended travel plans take you back to the Valparaiso area, please let us know to lock those dates for you!
Safe travels, hasta pronto
Bart Koning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    19
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
22
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We were fortunate to be able to spend eight days at Valparaiso Experience. We rented a modern and spacious apartment on a hillside overlooking the harbour. The views from our deck were spectacular and our well-equipped apartment allowed us to take advantage of all that the markets nearby had to offer. Our hosts, Bart and Marcela, were most gracious and helpful, welcoming us by presenting us with a lovely bottle of Chilean wine. Bart's English skills were most helpful when we needed advice on issues due to our limited Spanish. We very much enjoyed the central location which allowed us to explore the many sights of Valpo, a UNESCO world heritage site, as well as the seaside beach setting of Vina del Mar. We had a great time and would highly recommend these apartments to you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpo-Experience, Owner at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Hello dear couple,
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at a new ECCO duplex apartment; besides all the tips and recommendations of our selfmade guidebook, we gladly briefed you on other activies or suggestions, you certainly invested your time well!
About the photo you added: having a closer look at it, although the views from our deck terraces are very similar, the angle is slightly different, our guess is this picture is taken from the view point on Plaza Bismarck, Avenida Alemania.
Imagine these views over the Pacific ocean from your own deck terrace, then you know you are staying where you want to be! Safe travels and hopefully until soon!

Bart Koning
Owner Valparaiso Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

What an amazing place to stay, stayed for a week for a friends wedding and having a comfortable serviced apartment was great. Amazing location with Valpo easily accessible. Bart and Marcela were incredibly friendly and accommodating will all our needs and good advice on where to go. They certainly took alot of stress out of the wedding couples plans and needs!
Definately recommended!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpo-Experience, Owner at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thanks for your kind review, great you enjoyed the apartments and their location so much, and so did we helping organize and hosting the wedding, what an event!
It has to be said, you are very special people coming all the way from Australia to Chile to share time with family and friends, and for us it is an honour hosting you in our apartments and meeting all of you, we are proud and grateful to be part of this Valparaiso Experience.

Safe travels, hasta pronto
Bart & Marcela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Great sunny accommodation in a fab area with wonderful local galleries and restaurants. The views amazing. The host is very friendly and helpful. Anyone visiting Valparaiso can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpo-Experience, Owner at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thanks for your short and powerful review: every word you used is a real tag for our apartments and service! Hope to see back soon, safe and sunny travels, saludos

Bart & Marcela
Valparaiso Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We just got back from a fabulous weekend at Valparaiso experience. We rented condos #1 and #3 in the new building for a group of 8 friends. The place is modern and bright and the host is amazing. He helped us with all sorts of recommendations, including on art (he has beautiful paintings throughout the condos through which he promotes the talents of local artists). The units are well appointed and very comfortable. The views are outstanding and you really get to live the Valpo experience. Felicitaciones!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpo-Experience, Propietario at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Hi guys,
Thanks very much for your visit, it was a great weekend, and we are glad you enjoyed so much, next year I will participate with you in the triathlon race!
Like you mentioned, the apartments are decorated with paintings from local artists, our idea of Art Experience is to promote the artistic side of this inspiring and colorful portcity. Whenever you are interested, we are more than happy to introduce you to local artists and organize a personal art show in your own apartment.
Safe travels, hasta pronto!
Bart Koning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed in one of the newer two bedroom apartments that Valparaiso Experience offers. The views are stunning and the owner was amazing. We were welcomed with a bottle of wine and all of the information we could ask for. The apartment was very clean and the kitchen well stocked so we could cook for ourselves if we wished. We experienced an earthquake during our stay and the owner arrived immediately to make sure we were ok and all was safe. The rooms were spacious and the beds comfortable. For the best experience in Valparaiso stay at Valparaiso Experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpo-Experience, Propietario at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Hi dear family, thanks so much for your true contribution! It is great to know you enjoyed your stay so much at the ECCO duplex apartment, specially while you are such experienced travelers with a clear and critical eye for comfort and service. The only but is you might have wanted to stay longer to enjoy the city and surroundings, well, another good reason to return soon!

Safe travels, and hasta pronto
Bart & Marcela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concepcion, Chile
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

This place is amazing. We decided to stay here during our wedding week in Valpo, mainly because of the view, but we fell in love with the place before we even arrived because of the amazing owners. Bart and Marcela made us feel so incredibly welcome and could not do enough to help us organise our week. Without them our wedding would have been a LOT more stressful. They went above and beyond and the Valpo Experience has become much more than a place to stay in Valpo (which we will do every time we go there from now on) it is a place where Bart and Marcela, our new friends, live.

So much more than incredible views, it is a place that anyone will feel comfortable and at home. It is definitely our new home away from home.

Additional add-ons are available, including the Chef Experience where chefs from a local restaurant come to your apartment to cook for you. This was great for our family, so they could experience traditional Chilean food cooked in front of you by top class chefs. Also, transfers to/from Santiago airport can be organised with a very friendly driver.

Thanks again Bart and Marcela, you made our wedding so very special. If I could rate higher than 5 stars I would.

The happy Australian (married) couple.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpo-Experience, Owner at Valparaiso Experience Apartments, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Hola queridos amigos!
What a fantastic week, what a celebration, what a great experience with your kind and fun friends and family, this is truly an exteaordinary experience!
It is an honor to host all of you, a special mention should be made that so many of your friends and family came over all the way from Australia to your wedding week here in Valparaíso, which is really unique and one of a kind. This is only possible because of who you both are, a beautiful and unique couple, now married forever and ever after!
Glad we could help out with the organization, this is what lifeis about, travel and enjoy the now!

We will see you soon, you are invited to our deck terrace for a BBQ and pisco sour!

Bart & Marcela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Valparaiso Experience Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valparaiso Experience Apartments

Address: Pasaje Santa Margarita 234 | Cerro Bellavista, Valparaiso 00000, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 98 Specialty lodging in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valparaíso Experience offers great ocean view apartments on a superb location on Bellavista hill, Valparaiso. This colorful city is declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, very lively & enjoyable, and probably Chile's most attractive city: while you are here make sure this will be the highlight of your trip, and stay in one of the home rental apartments of Valparaíso Experience: 4 bdrm Queen Mary Duplex with large terraces, 3 bdrm Pablo Neruda Apartment, 2 bdrm Bellavista Cottage with garden, and 4 new luxury ECCO Duplex apartments with ample terraces (2 bdrms + 2 bthrms each); all are fully furnished and boast spectacular views over the Pacific ocean, Andes mountains and coastline. Rated excellent on both Flipkey and Tripadvisor in 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013 thanks to great reviews from guests, ideal for families with children, groups, couples, solo travelers and business trips. Welcome to your Valparaiso Experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Valparaiso Experience Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valparaiso Experience Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.