We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, very cozy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Kultour

Save Saved
You added Casa Kultour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Kultour
Templeman 645 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2340000, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 79 Valparaiso B&B and Inns
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place, very cozy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This place is located in the middle of a very nice part of Val Paraiso with loads of nice restaurants and an amazing view on the sea down the street. Good breakfast aswell. The owners of the B&B were very friendly, helpful and made me feel right at home. Good conversations and friendly philosopy. Definately would recommand this place and would definately come back here.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
26
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Great location, friendly staff and traditional Chilean breakfast of bread, butter, jam and cheese. Decent coffee.
Location is great - we walked to the pier, the restaurants and the discotheque.
Rooms and bathroom are clean and well taken care of.
They've got beer bottles for you to use and fill up - sustainable and saves money!
Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed 3 days and wish we had time to stay longer.

A couple of minutes walk up the Templeman stairs to Casa Kultour. It´s located in the heart of the artistic district. Some fantastic wall murals and nice galleries.

We stayed in a double room with bathroom on the top floor. Nice views of the port and townscape. Room was comfortable and we slept well.

Breakfast was good quality, nice breads, ham, cheese etc.The dining room is filled with art of all types.

Oliver was full of information and arranged for us a wine tasting tour of the Casablanca Valley combined with a visit to one of Pablo Neruda's three homes Isla Negra and a beach stop. Oliver drove himeself and the vineyards visited were excellent especially the organicly run Emiliana Vineyard. A wonderful day out at a very reasonable price.

Don´t waste money on impersonal hotels when you can stay at Casa Kultour.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

When we first arrived at Casa Kultour, we had to wait for 20 minutes for someone to let us in & after which there was another wait since there was confusion about the rooms we had booked. Having said that, that was really our only complaint with the place. Oliver was a great host & gave us tips on where to eat & places of interest. The breakfast was the best we had on our 2 month trip. We got our first taste of Chilean music at breakfast when Oliver played Inti-Illimani which we really enjoyed!
The rooms are nice & each has a different theme/colour. The bathroom was small but functional & hot water through-out. The towels were tiny making it very difficult to use!

Overall, good value for money & would recommend / visit again

Room Tip: Ask for the red room from which is slightly bigger & has a view of the sea if you peer out of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This beautiful hostel is located in the historical part of Valparaiso. On a clear day you have views of the city and the bay. The hosts are very friendly and they will make you feel right at home. Breakfast is included (and very tasty and filling)!

Room Tip: some rooms have ensuites, other than that there are two other bathrooms one can use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Only planned to stay here for 2 nights but enjoyed it so much we stayed for a 3rd night.

Location:
The location is superb as you are right near tons of shops and great restaurants with very easy access to the port front and main street as well.

Accommodations:
We had the room with ensuite bathroom and double bed. Both rooms were very clean and spacious. Bed wasn't the most comfortable I've slept on but it was completely fine. No complaints about the room or bathroom. Breakfast is pretty standard European style - meat, cheese, tomato, fresh bread, coffee and juice - def a great way to start the day.

Host:
One of the friendliest and most useful of any place we've ever stayed at. Great recommendations and directions for places to eat and things to see while in Valpo.

Overall:
Would 100% recommend to others and stay at again. For those looking for great budget options in Valpo this is a great place to stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

For a start, this hostel is truly amazing! Can’t say it other than that. The location is perfect. Situated in Templeman, it is very central located on the hills near two ‘anscensors’ down to the business centre and the big supermarket etc.

The hostal is very well situated near minimarkets, art galleries and some fine restaurants. Also the rooms are very authentic, clean and a very good value for money. The breakfast is very nice as well, with fresh bread, cafe and juice. The hotel has a very comfortable atmosphere with beautifull old furniture. Made me think of a 19th century cottage. I booked a single room, ensuite (great bathroom!), and i pretty much got a nice courtyard with it for myself!

But the very best part of the hostel is the owner. Oliver runs the hostel together with his wife and a hired maid takes care of the breakfast and laundry etc. Oliver, which is really a genuine nice guy, speaks German, Spanish and English fluently and speaks French pretty good as well. His wife speaks Spanish and a little bit English, but she manages.

Oliver knows pretty much everything there is to know about Chile and he really is eager to share his knowledge with you. In my case, i had to figure out what to do and where to go in Chile for the time that i had left here. I asked him if he had a minute and he just sit down and brainstorm with me until my full itinerary was completed! So he really takes all the time to think with you and answer all your questions, which i think is priceless! Besides that, this man really tries to make your stay in his hostel a pleasant one, in which he definitely succeeds if you ask me. I have been travelling for three months now, and this one is absolutely in the top 3 of best hostels i have ever visited!

Keep up the good work Oliver.....

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the courtyard when booking a private ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Kultour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Kultour

Address: Templeman 645 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2340000, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Kultour is a small B&B in the heart of Valparaiso which offers a familiar and friendly atmosphere. We are beside the gastronomic center of Cerro Concepcion and only a few steps away from the museums, old elevators and main squares. Our Kultour program also offers several atractive trips up and down the hills and helps you to discover the secret corners of this unique port city, or will bring you to the nearby garden city Viña del Mar, the wine valley of Casablanca or the refuge of famous poet Pablo Neruda in Isla Negra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Kultour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Kultour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.