We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stick to the fish!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino

Portofino
Bellamar, Valparaiso, Chile
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 277 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Winchester, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Stick to the fish!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great fish starter to share but then had one of the worst ever pieces of steak I have ever been served. Anywhere. Ever. Asked for medium rare and was well well done - but still no excuse for bad meat. Tasteless and tough and expensive. Very disappointing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    38
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monahans, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Seafood Restaurant on the Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Our party of six ordered different seafood dishes and we all enjoyed them. It was our first meal in town on this trip and after eating at seven other restaurants we still give it high marks!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal at Portofino. We were given a table overlooking the ocean and had a lovely meal with great wine pairings.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best meal in Chile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

This was recommended by our B&B and exceeded expectations. There is an amazing view from all tables over the bay. Our waiter didn't speak much English and us no Spanish however he managed to be really helpful. We essentially just went with recommendations from him and had a great 3 course meal (quality fresh fish) with lovely wine. Excellent value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Pacific elegance with food to suit the view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This restaurant is one of the best in the world. From seafood to steak with brilliant Chilean wines. I have eaten there three times and each time it is better. How can they keep the quality so high? It is amazing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portofino also viewed

Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.