We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and lovely restaurant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Higueras

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Higueras to your Saves list
Casa Higueras
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Higuera 133 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso, Chile   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Valparaiso
washington dc
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and lovely restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights during a recent 12 day trip through Chile. The view from our room was spectacular and the views from the terrace restaurant were equally spectacular. Our room was very large and comfortable. We had an evening flight from Santiago and the hotel staff were kind enough to let us stay late in the room with no extra charge.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    70
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
164
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

Immaculate, modern hotel in the hills of Valparaiso with great views of the harbor. Rooms were elegant and the staff was attentive. The restaurant was amazing. We had the octopus stuffed tortellini and it was extremely well prepared—very memorable. The restaurant’s terrace is a wonderful place to sit and look at the city lights/water. Parts of Valparaiso can be a little grimy—especially down by the water—this hotel felt like an oasis.

If you are driving into the city, you need a very good map and directions. The roads are like a labyrinth—crazy windy and small—very easy to get lost.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Beautiful and charming Hotel with nice staff. The restaurant is one of the best of the city.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chile
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

I don't use to write about my experience in hotels, but Casa Higueras really deserves a good qualification.

Me and my wife stayed at Casa Higueras for one night in March 8, 2009. The service of the hotel was excellent and its restaurant also deserves a good qualification. The building borns from the refurnished of a clasical house, accordingly decorated and immerse in one of the most charming hills of Valparaiso, try the best rooms if you want an amazing view of the Port and the bay of Valparaiso.

Certainly the parking is a problem of this hotel, but is also a problem for all the hotels in the neighbor.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

My friend and I just returned from Chile, and our stay at Hotel Casa Higueras in Valparaiso was a tremendous highlight in our week-long stay. The property is an attentively restored 1920s mansion--gorgeous. The staff was gracious, attentive, and terrifically helpful. I do not have enough kind words to share about this hotel and its staff.

If you choose to stay at Casa Higueras, I strongly recommend the food at its Montalegre Restaurant. (The breakfast selections are outstanding. For lunch, try the tofu and citrus mixed greens salad. I ordered it two days in a row I liked it so much. And if you are a carnivore, try the beef sirloin, medium--in a word, heavenly.) For an evening out, I recommend pizza at Allegretto (Pilcomayo 529 in Cerro Concepción).

The museum at Pablo Neruda's La Sabastiana home is a really worthwhile visit.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

We had a good time at this hotel. Everything went well. No complaints at all. Eating was a pleasure on the balcony with great views over the city. We did not bring a car, but I could see that parking could be a problem.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

We loved the Casa Higueras. The rooms were well-appointed and comfortable. The walk down to the swimming pool was lovely, and the pool area was relaxing. We enjoyed our breakfasts at the hotel, and the one dinner we ate there too. When we arrived (having just got off a 10-hour plane ride, followed directly by a drive to Valparaiso) we were greeted with such a welcoming response that we immediately felt comfortable.
My only quibble with the property is that a week before we got there, there was a problem with our VISA number. They sent us an e-mail to let us know, and threatened to cancel our reservation. (It's probably just a language issue, but I do believe you should give the customer a chance to rectify the situation rather than immediately telling them you'll cancel the reservation.) Unfortunately, that was followed up by e-mailing our VISA number (with expiry date) back to us to make sure it was correct! Needless to say, I wasn't happy about my VISA information being shared through e-mail. However, the situation was resolved and our stay was so pleasant that I still happily rate the hotel a 4/5.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Higueras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Higueras

Address: Calle Higuera 133 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Higueras 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Higueras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Higueras Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Higueras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.