We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite year after year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baco Vino y Bistro

Baco Vino y Bistro
Nueva de Lyon 113 | Providencia, Santiago 05033080, Chile (Providencia)
56-2-22314444
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 3,226 Restaurants in Santiago
Price range: $20 - $100
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Providencia
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“My favorite year after year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have been going to Baco for 5 years and it remains in my top 5 in Santiago. The food and service are always great and consistent and the atmosphere is warm and comfortable. It's the only restaurant in Santiago that gives you water without asking and constantly refreshes your glass. The wine menu is extensive, including the menu by the glass. It's also a great place to bring a bottle from your own wine collection, the corking fee is around $8000. Some of my favorite dishes are the salmon tartar, cote de cerdo, and the tart tatin. This last time we arrived without a reservation and there were no tables. The offered for us to wait at the bar. Although the service was a little slower at the bar, they were still very attentive and friendly and we decided to eat our entire meal there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    255
    58
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, mediocre service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I come to Santiago a few times a year and I always stay in Los Leones, which is where Baco is located. Among other restaurants in Santiago, Baco is by far one of the best. The filet is outstanding, the soups are amazing, and the wines are wonderful. The atmosphere is pleasant and the crowd is lively (sometimes too much so). But despite numerous exquisite visits, I have to finally admit that the service is quite poor. I always make a reservation 1 or 2 days in advance and I always eat alone. I don't mind the table in the corner away from the crowd at all. But the waitstaff is extremely slow, forgetful, and generally incompetent. On most visits, they either bring the incorrect dish or wine that I ordered or they bring something prepared in a different way. This week, I ordered a steak cooked well. It came out hardly cooked. When I sent it back, they brought a completely different steak cooked through. Clearly the waitress grabbed the wrong plate. Last night, I received the wrong wine (ad at $15 a glass, it should be the right glass!). And tonight, they completely forgot my order. I never got my soup. They charged me for it, and when I asked them to take it off since I never received it, they did not apologize or offer some compensation...no, in fact, they appeared mad that I would leave without waiting more. It had been an hour. It is really too bad that such good food is brought out by such incompetent individuals. This restaurant could be top notch. But alas, it is not.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very good food, service is friendly if a bit overwhelmed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My brother-in-law is French and he loves going. We've been there several times. The food is invariably good (try the duck and foie gras), and the prices are reasonable for Santiago. The wine selection is also good. The place is always full, which leads to some anxiety from the staff. A few months ago I reserved for a group of ten. When I arrived, I saw they had placed us in the cramped, undecorated and badly ventilated second floor. After some complaining, the manager put together some tables on the first floor and all was good. Overall, this is a worthwhile visit, but be prepared to be patient when you go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Excellent relation price/quality, good taste and a big wines chart. Absolutely recomended for couples, friends, families...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A personal favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Baco is a personal favourite for three reasons:

1) the service is incredible considering you are in Santiago.

2) the price of wine is about 120% to 140% of the retail price in opossition to most places in Santiago where they are established in between 190% to 300% of the retail price.

3) their sublime cassoulet.

I think is better if you go with a group since the lighting does not make it such a great romantic option.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baco Vino y Bistro also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Baco Vino y Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baco Vino y Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.