We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Varied menu that pleased all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Del Cocinero

Del Cocinero
Av Pedro de Valdivia 41, Santiago 7501012, Chile (Providencia)
02 2233 9727
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 1,380 Restaurants in Santiago
Price range: $1 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Providencia
Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Varied menu that pleased all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Have you ever been in a group where some folks want something light and others are really hungry? Well, we were a group of 10 in that position the other night and most of the restaurants tended towards the heavier side. So, we took a chance on Del Cocinero and were very pleased. There were a lot of interesting fish dishes (I'd never had eel before as a dish, only in sushi, and prepared "Thai style" was quite nice). We all ended up sharing many of the dishes amongst each other, enjoying a little bit of each. I'd say that the two scallop appetizers were the best thing I ate all night, but the salad made with avocado oil dressing was also really flavorful. And the chocolate cake was molten heaven.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    184
    82
    30
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Cozy restaurant in a nice area!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

It was our first night in Santiago and we were staying at the Hotel Orly a few doors down from the restaurant. We didn't want to venture too far so this place looked appealing. We went early for dinner 'by South American standards' and there was only one other table occupied. But by their dinner time the restaurant was full. The food was good and well presented and the service excellent. The staff, including chef Christian were very friendly, attentive and helpful explaining the menu. For the atmosphere service and food quality, the price was quite reasonable. Give it a try, I don't think you'll be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Charming bistro on vibrant street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were living on Pedro de Valdivia in January and February of 2013, and stumbled upon this restaurant on one of our many walks around the neighborhood of Providencia. It is one of many restaurants along this strip of Pedro de Valdivia, and on any time of day/night, is filled with people enjoying themselves. The outdoor seating is a huge draw on warm nights and is a great spot for people watching. The food is delicious; I'm quite fond of the salad with procuitto and any one of the congrio dishes as a main course. Wines are reasonably priced and there is a good selection. Christian, the owner and chef, is a personable man who graciously helped my husband and I with some recommendations for our trip to Patagonia, all of which we followed and enjoyed! For a light lunch with friends or a romantic dinner out, Del Cocinero is a great choice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Food does not match Service and Atmosphere which is excellent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We came here based off trip advisor. The service was exceptional but the food was well below average. Both mains were overcooked and tough.

Tourist trap.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

This place is definitely one of the best restaurants I've been in South America.
Great service, great food, nice ambience.
Don't miss the tapas!
Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Del Cocinero also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Del Cocinero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Del Cocinero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.