We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy restaurant in a nice area!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Del Cocinero

Del Cocinero
Av Pedro de Valdivia 41, Santiago 7501012, Chile (Providencia)
02 2233 9727
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 1,360 restaurants in Santiago
Price range: $1 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Providencia
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Cozy restaurant in a nice area!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

It was our first night in Santiago and we were staying at the Hotel Orly a few doors down from the restaurant. We didn't want to venture too far so this place looked appealing. We went early for dinner 'by South American standards' and there was only one other table occupied. But by their dinner time the restaurant was full. The food was good and well presented and the service excellent. The staff, including chef Christian were very friendly, attentive and helpful explaining the menu. For the atmosphere service and food quality, the price was quite reasonable. Give it a try, I don't think you'll be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    169
    70
    27
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Charming bistro on vibrant street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were living on Pedro de Valdivia in January and February of 2013, and stumbled upon this restaurant on one of our many walks around the neighborhood of Providencia. It is one of many restaurants along this strip of Pedro de Valdivia, and on any time of day/night, is filled with people enjoying themselves. The outdoor seating is a huge draw on warm nights and is a great spot for people watching. The food is delicious; I'm quite fond of the salad with procuitto and any one of the congrio dishes as a main course. Wines are reasonably priced and there is a good selection. Christian, the owner and chef, is a personable man who graciously helped my husband and I with some recommendations for our trip to Patagonia, all of which we followed and enjoyed! For a light lunch with friends or a romantic dinner out, Del Cocinero is a great choice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Food does not match Service and Atmosphere which is excellent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We came here based off trip advisor. The service was exceptional but the food was well below average. Both mains were overcooked and tough.

Tourist trap.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

This place is definitely one of the best restaurants I've been in South America.
Great service, great food, nice ambience.
Don't miss the tapas!
Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Surely one of the best restaurants in Chile!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great place with delicious food and ambiance! Coming all the way from Hong Kong I wanted to taste what Santiago has the best to offer and I found it right there, at Del Cocinero Bistro. All the ingredients are perfectly matched together in fresh harmony and everything is served in a highly professional manner. Starting from amuse bouche, through the main dish and finishing with the fancy dessert, Del Cocinero really does genuine cuisine. All the calamares, pastas o ceviche was melting in my mouth and the creme brulee was a real masterpiece!
I highly recommend! I will be coming back!! If only they could open a second restaurant in Hong Kong!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Del Cocinero also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Del Cocinero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Del Cocinero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.