We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprise, good neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Neruda Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Neruda Express to your Saves list
Hotel Neruda Express
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vecinal 40, Santiago 7550226, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 173 Hotels in Santiago
Manaus, AM
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise, good neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Stayed at Neruda on September 2011, the hotel is pretty nice if you stay on top floors. The rooms was big, nice bed and bathroom. The breakfast was good, fresh bread, cheese and ham every day. The hotel is located next to El Golf metro station, and Las Condes neighborhood is quiet, clean and nice. Good choice to Santiago!

Room Tip: Higher floors are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    47
    51
    11
    13
See reviews for
24
25
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara on the Lake
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

The hotel is clean & the staff are very friendly and helpful. A few of them speak English but most of them don't. Nevertheless it seemed relatively easy to communicate with them - if something was quite important they would find an English speaking staff member to communicate with us. All of the hotel that we saw was very tired & screaming out for a renovation although I don't know where you would start because at some point (not recently) they have obviously tried to "refresh" the hotel by painting absolutely everything - even detailed wood trim has been thickly covered in paint. All the doors, wood trim, etc in the halls & rooms have been covered with the same paint. Although the hotel is clean - it doesn't seem as clean as it should because everything needs refurbishing. The towels are another story - they may be clean but they are incredibly grey. The breakfasts are good, nice variety of fruit, pastries, some cereal, yogurt & bread that you could toast. There was always scrambled eggs as well.

We stayed for 6 nights and the first day we noticed that our sink was slow to drain. We called & someone came & tried to fix it. She called someone else who helped her & then told us - it is slow but it works - just be patient. The next day someone else came to fix it and was unable to so called someone that spoke English that told us that a plumber would be over in the afternoon to fix it. We didn't see a plumber and it was still slow draining after that and by the time we checked out it didn't drain at all....

The location is very good - in the business, financial district of Las Condes. Very clean area with lots of good restaurants close by. Also, very close to the subway station. The subway is very easy to use and a great way to get around.

Free WiFi was great and worked well in the rooms but one day we had a meeting in one of the downstairs meeting rooms and couldn't get the WiFi to work. After a couple of hours they finally realized they didn't have the router down there turned on...

The whole hotel could use a little attention to detail.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Nice clean Hotel in Las Condes, nearby the main street (so easy access with cabs). Staff was friendly and although their English was poor ( and our Spanish) everything was perfectly arranged. Breakfast nothing to fancy...but decent. Rooms not to modern but clean.

Overall we had a nice stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Considering how expensive hotels have become in Santiago de Chile, the Neruda Express Hotel rate of US$ 105 per night (as of july/2011) seemed very reasonable to me, so I booked it via booking.com (I tried to do so in their website, but I wasn't sucessful). The location of this hotel is good, not superb. It's in the corner of Apoquindo Avenue, the business core of Santiago and very close to the Tobalaba subway station. However, it gets quite deserted out of business hours and days. There's a supermarket, a McDonald's restaurant and a Starbucks café within walking distance. And you can also go by foot to Isidora Goyenechea Avenue for more dining options (it will take about 5 minutes). The room is very spacious, but very outdated. The tv set is old and so is the furniture. The beds, sheets and pillows are comfortable. The towels are tiny. They don't have central air conditioning/heating There's an individual device placed on the wall and it didn't work very well, we were cold most of the time (it was winter), although we had set the heating on the maximum capacity. The breakfast buffet is awful! The options are limited and the food is cold, even the itens supposed to be served hot (like coffee, milk and scrumbled eggs) were freezing cold. I guess it has to do with the temperature of the room where it is served, which is extremely cold. On the first day, I couldn't finish my meal because I was too cold, I went to the breakfast room wearing only a pullover (as I thought the heating would be on), but I almost freezed to death. I don't know why it was so cold inside the dining room, it was colder than the outside temperature at the street, actually. The safe box is locked with a key, which you have to carry with you when you go outside. The hairdryer is very old and it didn't work if I chose the full speed. It also released some sparks, I stopped using it as it was too dangerous. They have free wi-fi, which is fast and stable

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

This is a very well located hotel in Santiago in Las Condes - Golf. Walking distance to restaurants and main avenues. It would be a very nice three star hotel if the owners put a little attention to some details. Things they should change: The hotel has no central heating, the comon areas are really cold. In the room, you have a very dated air conditioner (no split) that heats up the room really quickly but it's noise is too impossible to sleep with, you have to put it out. So you need an extra blanket, you have a very very old one in the closet.
Apart from that, the rooms are nice and clean, with floating floors, good space and the bathrooms are quite big, with a very good shower. Everything is a bit dated, the bed also.
Breakfast is included, it's a buffet kind with lots of things to chose from, eggs, toast, ham, cheese, coffee, tea, several juices, sweet pastries, etc.
The Hotel Staff were very nice and friendly. They have a small business center with three PC's.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

The Neruda Express is located in the newer embassy/financial area of Santiago on a quiet street. The rooms were surprisingly large, very clean and the beds are great. The staff were good and everything about our stay was perfect. There are no fancy ammenities, but this is a great place to stay at a really great price. Excellent value in a comfortable, friendly area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Hotel Neruda Express is located on a side street in the heart of El Golf / Las Condes, which are the nicest areas in Santiago. The rooms are quite large and have recently been updated with dark hardwood floors and new linens. The bathrooms have not been updated but are clean and spacious. There's a business center with 2 computers. The breakfast has a lot of food, but the baked goods (i.e. croissants) weren't too fresh. However, I wouldn't take the hotel staff's taxi recommendations. We were quoted 18,000 pesos (per person) to go to the airport. We took a bus to Viña del Mar for only 5,500 pesos a person, round trip, so of course we weren't willing to pay 36,000 pesos for a one-way taxi! We ended up just taking the Metro and then a bus to the airport. All in all, we found this hotel to be a great value---clean, large rooms and a wonderful location.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Neruda Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neruda Express

Address: Vecinal 40, Santiago 7550226, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 173 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Neruda Express 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Neruda Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Neruda Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.