We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Santiago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borago

Borago
Avda. Nueva Costanera 3467, Vitacura, Santiago 7530078, Chile (Vitacura)
56 2 953 8893
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 3,441 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Vitacura
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the best in Santiago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Excellent restaurant and outstanding service. Up to now our best experience in Santiago. The concept is innovative and the food is great. Flavours are unique and very well achieved. There is also some fun in the presentation of dishes.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    50
    30
    11
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cartagena
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“awesome dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

nitrogen frozen items, great flavors, berries, sorbet, crunchy textures and a macaroon of dry ice, awesome

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Go to Santiago just to eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I've been fortunate enough to eat at Can Roca, Arzak, Mugaritz and many other superb restaurants over the years. And this restaurant in Santiago is up there with them. Foods and tastes you may never have had before. All delicious, with amazing service as the chefs serve and explain your dishes to you. we don't drink alcohol so we paired our meal with juices. But these are not juices like you've ever had before. The cost was ridiculously low. About $66 for about 10 courses and $19 for the juices. everything superfresh, everything local. Even items like incredible white straberries, only ripe 3 weeks a year. Go to santiago just to eat here. You won't be disappointed. Just superb

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unique and memorable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My boyfriend and i are foodies and our guidebook mentioned it was an experimental kitchen. They wernet kidding, we got the wine and food tasting menu and it was very well done. They like to incorporate elements of the earth and the garden in the food. During the tasting menu we had pebre mixed with actual dirt and served in a flower pot. We also had the beef course while surrounded in dry ice fog because thats the natural environment of the cow? Also a liquid nitrogen mint that dissolved in your miuth and you breathed out smoke. Go for the novelty and not necesarilly the food and you will be pleasantly surprised. We would go back because the menu is seasonal and changes. Not cheap though....

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Definitely different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Hubby and I have eaten a lot of tasting menus at some of the best restaurants around but this was truly a unique experience. The restaurant is in the ritzy area of Santiago, kind of like Rodeo Drive in Beverly Hills. The decor is very modern and minimalist so you really focus on the food in front of you. We opted to do the tasting menu with the wine pairings and then off we went on a journey through Chile. That is the whole intention of the menu at Borago - to take you on a journey to all parts of Chile. To sum it up, the food was some of the most unusual I have had and I am still trying to wrap my head around some of the dishes. Our first course included edible "dirt" and we ended with a frozen dessert that had us breathing smoke out our noses. If you are adventurous, this is the place for you!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borago also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Borago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.