We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun place, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liguria

Liguria
19 Avenida Luis Thayer Ojeda, Santiago, Chile
(0)2 231 1393‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #212 of 2,942 Restaurants in Santiago
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: bar that sell food (local),classic chilean urban folcloric scene,politically incorrect...
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“fun place, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Funky and fun atmosphere, good value, and good service (for chile). The food was classic Chilean fare with a twist, overall quite good and well presented. they offer a number of dishes, large and small, so you can have snack, a salad or sandwich, or a heavy meal. I love the fish sandwich. The wine list is pretty good. It's a great place for a group, as everyone would find something they like.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    237
    86
    27
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Interesting place, interesting food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Loved the decor in the restaurant, very fresh, upclass and bright. The menu here is pretty unique and this place draws a big crowd during lunch and dinner.

The staff seems to be working non-stop during meal times and they look little shorthanded. Some people wait for long before they could get orders taken and some drinks have been missed.

If you have never tasted a rabbit before this is the best place to recommend the rabbit dish, Conejo al Cilantro con Papas Doradas al Romero.

Also the dessert worth trying is the Chilean traditional dessert Mote con Huesillos.

Prices wise pretty reasonable for a sumptuous meal!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good food, excellent atmosphere, average service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We get there by chance the place seemed fine so we stayed. The food was very good a bit pricy though. Wine was great. The service was average. The atmosphere was excellent.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Didn't Live Up To The Reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were exited to eat at the Providenica location because of the positive reviews. However...it didn't live up to the promise. Food was mediocre, my husband had the lamb, which was lamb shank and inferior. Since the menu was in Spanish, I asked the waiter for assistance. On one entree he said it was "shrimp and scallops", so that is what I ordered. When it arrived it was two entrees, shrimp and scallops. He did not explain it was either or, so I wasted food and money. When he presented the bill, he asked my husband if he wanted to add 15% or 20% tip (the way U.S does it). My husband did the 15%. I later found out the going rate is 5% for average service and 10% for excellent. So the waiter took advantage. I would not go here again with all the good restaurants in Santiago.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very nice bar and restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Visited Providencia location. Right next to Manuel Monnt Metro.
legumes saltedes (sauteed vegetables), Mejillas de Merluza al Pil Pil (cheeks of Hake fish, chili spices) , and Pisco Sours. The vegetables very tasty, fish is good and not that spicy (by USA or Mexico standards)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liguria also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Liguria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liguria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.