We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME HOSTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andes Hostel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Andes Hostel & Apartments to your Saves list
Andes Hostel & Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Monjitas 506, Santiago, Chile (Santa Lucia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 173 Hotels in Santiago
Santiago, Chile
1 review
“AWESOME HOSTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Andes Hostel is in a great spot of downtown Santiago. There are always activities going on in the hostel and the staff is super friendly and helpful. Andres helped us plan transportation and tours around the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    151
    36
    8
    6
See reviews for
23
83
104
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed at Andes Hostel for a week in July of this year, and I have nothing but good memories! All of the receptionists speak English and Spanish, which was helpful for me because it was my first time in a Spanish-speaking country. Our favorite receptionist Andres helped my sister and I get acquainted with the area and also taught us some chilenismos (very helpful for learning chilean spanish). It was definitely the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in, and felt very comfortable sleeping there. My favorite part was the events that they have - there's something going on almost every day of the week that makes it really easy for travelers to get together and talk, eat, party, etc. Stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World Traveler
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed at Andes Hostel for 12 nights, 4 nights the first time, 8 nights a month later. I found it to be an OK hostel property, its staff the best thing about it.

Andes has an okay breakfast, a nice dining room, but it is the same dull breakfast everyday with poor nutritional choices, meriting a low 2 on my 10-point scale of healthy, nutritious breakfasts (adding more options, daily variety and some fresh fruit, whole grain cereals, bread and rolls, real coffee (not powder) and a non-sugary juice would improve it). Other hostels in Santiago and Chile routinely provide better breakfasts. I would rather see Andes drop the free Wed night pasta/wine dinner and free Friday night hot dogs to improve its daily breakfast. So for a day or two the breakfast works, but longer than that, forget it. The breakfast was late 10-15 minutes several mornings and one morning there was no gas to the kitchen, so no hot water for coffee/tea.

Andes has good luggage storage, great room lockers, and bathrooms. Facilities are clean and well-maintained, the dorm beds are made each day by its maid service, the location is excellent, right across from the Bellas Artes Metro Station, the staff is helpful and friendly. At Andes the blue faucet in the shower is often the hot faucet, and the red is the cold, unlike the rest of the world. I liked that Andes offered payment options in Chilean pesos, US dollars or credit card with no extra fees.

But the humongous problem at Andes is its sucky WiFi. It is just too unreliable, Andes WiFi loaded only partial pages or was slow to load pages and it often dropped the connection on all of my devices. Save your work frequently, so you just lose buckets of time and not all your work. It took multiple attempts to upload photos to Facebook or Tumblr, very frustrating, often at the end of an hour I had nothing to show for it. This is a major downside to staying at Andes if WiFi is important to you.

Andes has the potential to be a great hostel, but right now it is just OK.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Very good hostel, the location was great. I stayed in very good dorms, with plenty of space and clean. I also stayed in an apartment with friends, and it was really good, beautiful and quite new. But the very best was the staff, which was very helpful 24h a day for everything I needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

A great little hotel with a friendly, supportive staff that is also a good value, English speaking front desk. Great rooms, beautiful bathrooms with great showers and well located as well!
Cons: wifi NOT in the rooms, breakfast ok.
But well, I think I will go back for my next Santiago trip!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We made our two reservations with almost three months before the arriving day and when we got there, AFTER PAYING THE ENTIRE BILL with credit card, we simply knew that our rooms were occupied. The result? We had to move to another place without knowing anything or anybody at that point and the worst part, we didn't have our money back on the next day and so far, 10 days after the payment, I still haven't got the credit refund.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of there nearby apparents, which was a great haven during our stay. Staff were very helpful and all spoke good English. Being apart from the hostel wasn't a problem. Clean. Nice shower. Very secure.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Andes Hostel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andes Hostel & Apartments

Address: Monjitas 506, Santiago, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Santa Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Santiago
#41 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Andes Hostel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Andes Hostel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andes Hostel And Apartments
Andes Hostel & Apartments Hotel Santiago
Andes Hostel Santiago
Andes Hostel Hotel Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andes Hostel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.