We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and nasty staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aji Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Aji Hostel to your Saves list
Aji Hostel
Triana 863 Providencia Santiago Chile, Santiago 7500000, Chile (Providencia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 379 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
torino
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dirty and nasty staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

I recommend this hostel only to those who enjoy being in company with few pretensions to cleanliness and comfort.
In my room were dirty sheets used by others, as well as towels and it's very cold.
Finally had a fight with the owner because we demanded that we pay for all expenses related to the payment by bank.

Room Tip: My room was very dirty and cold
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    47
    11
    11
    7
See reviews for
3
21
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duarte, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

This hostel was fantastic. Free dinner Monday through Thursday and sometimes drinks were included, if not a glass of wine was 1000 pesos. The dorms and bathrooms were cleaned every day. The only downside about the bathroom was only one shower was functioning and there was no soap-- not a big deal if you know it and bring your own. Water was hot and showers were smallish but nice. Some rooms had private bathrooms.
The staff was fantastic. The owners were often around the hostel and always willing to help. The desk staff knew a lot about the city and even told you were to go if you didnt want the tourist trap experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Nice place, nice staff and simple but enough breakfast! i `ll come back x sure!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

This hostel has a good location in an afluent, safe feeling neighbourhood. It's close to the metro (Salvador stop), shops and restaurants. There seems to be some issue with the name of the hostel and some sources call it Chilli and others Aji (possibly a legal/copywrite issue?) There's no sign whatsoever outside (it's a pink building.)

The dorm was quite spacious with individual lockers (although they weren't very secure). The male shared bathroom was quite cramped and no soap was provided to wash hands. Downstairs was located a kitchen and bar/lounge with tv and internet. The wi fi signal was quite good throughout.

Staff were mostly friendly, helpful and welcoming.

On 2 occasions during the 4 days I spent there the staff cooked dinner. The first time one had to buy a drink (can of coke at $1000 for example) and then received a free pisco sour and a basic meal. On the second occasion there was wine and pasta and no obligation to buy anything.

Their website stated that a dorm bed cost $14 but I booked through hostelworld and paid $9 a night which obviously worked out a lot cheaper even with their booking fee.

Overall a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

This hostel is a hidden gem. It located very close to one of the metro stations and in a nice district of Santiago.

From the moment you set foot in this place, the staff cant do anything but help you :) lots of help with onward journeys, hostels and what to do in town,. If you like partying too they are happy to take guests out every night of the week ;)
They do dinner here every night, it is technically free, they just ask you to spend CH$1000 (US$2) behind the bar in return! Bargain when your on a tight budget!
Breakfast was top notch for a hostel (cereal, toast with cheese, tea coffee and juice)
Great social area/bar that has computers and free wifi!
Showers are hot :)
Only downsides are that if you are in a dorm, can be busy and sometimes noisy late at night, and the only place to charge anything is in the communal room!

Loved our stay here!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

My wife and I are traveling around the world and this is likely to be tops of the "worst places we stayed" list. We stayed (because we paid upon arrival) here for 7 nights. This place also is known as the AJI Hostel, likely had to change names to try to get people to forget how awful it is.

Our room (Room 1 at the top of the stairs) was tiny and dirty. The sheets were dirty when we got there -- so dirty, in fact, that we slept every night in our sleeping bag cocoons to avoid having the touch the sheets. Never once during our weeklong stay were the sheets changed, and neither were the towels. Shower was nice and hot for the first 2 days. On day 3, they posted signs around the hostel telling everyone not to shower as often. (Really?!?) They also went into every private and shared bathroom and turned down the water pressure to half of what it had been. Walls are paper-thin and we heard all of the LOUD fellow guests yelling at all hours of the night and walking up and down the super creaky stairs. They will wake you up. If they don't the car alarms that incessantly ring all through the night in the neighborhood will.

Breakfast was a small cup of frosted flakes, maybe juice if you were lucky, instant coffee and packaged sliced bread with one slice of cheese. Breakfast staff and front staff were generally helpful and friendly, but not enough to make up for how disgusting the place was overall. My wife went to one breakfast -- I made it to 5 (just for the cup of instant coffee, really).

A couple of redeeming qualities of the place: fast and strong wi-fi which allowed us to use our laptop in our room and have great internet access. One night they served free pasta and wine -- another night we got a free pisco sour. While nice, certainly not worth staying here. Location is good -- on a quiet street between the Indian and Italian embassies. 4 blocks to subway station. Lots of restaurants and bars within a 5-15 minute walk.

Last straw came as we were checking out. We had arranged a taxi with the front desk (who charged us $30 US for the 15 minute ride) the night before, as we had to leave at 6:00 AM. Taxi got there, but there was no one at the front desk to check us out, give us the deposit on the room key, etc. Taxi driver called the hostel, the phone rang more than 40 times but no one came to answer it. Finally, after literally 5 minutes of knocking on doors and calling the front desk, I found the staff member, passed out under some blankets in a back room. I had to shake the guy to get him to wake up. What if we had been outside of the hostel trying to get in? What if there had been some emergency? There would have been no one available to let people in the front door. Simply shameful.

At $45 US a night, do yourself a favor and sleep in the park. Less dirt, less bugs and better security. I wouldn't want my dog staying here!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleakin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

We booked in for two nights after flying in from New Zealand.. we ended up staying for a week! We just wanted some where to relax after our month of driving around NZ. We definately went to the right place! The staff were very friendly especially the owner who made an effort to join in and had different themed nights to get everyone together including the great BBQ and Pisco Sours tastings! The breakfast was a bonus considering how cheap it was to stay in the dorms! The location is excellent, near the metro but on a quiet street around from the art college. We met so many lovely people in this hostel, we travellelled around the world for 9 months and this hostel was definatly in our top 10! I just hope we can go back again some day! Thanks guys for a great stay! We will never forget it!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aji Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aji Hostel

Address: Triana 863 Providencia Santiago Chile, Santiago 7500000, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 379 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hostel located in the commune of Providencia, one of the securest and most traditional areas of Santiago. The Hostel is a few steps away from Salvador subway station and 10 minutes away from downtown Santiago. From the Hostel we have good transportation links to all the city. Chilli Hostel is close to the best places to visit, including museums, parks, theatres, restaurants and Bohemian districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Aji Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aji Hotel Santiago
Chilli Santiago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aji Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.