We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maria Angola

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Maria Angola to your Saves list
Maria Angola
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Miguel Claro 425, Santiago, Chile (Providencia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 173 Hotels in Santiago
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

This hotel is rated as four star accomodation. From the outside it looks very smart and initial impressions were good. Unfortunatley for us that is where it ended. We thought that the hotel reception staff were not at all welcoming and the rooms that we stayed in on two seperate occasions were not up to the rating that it displays. We did not have any hot water, the lights did not work, toilet seat broken, bed was uncomfortable, t.v aerial did not work correctly and there was not protection for the outside noise of the city. We are usually pretty chilled out when it comes to hotels, but we paid alot of money and felt that the value was no where near delivered. The only plus points are that it is very close to the city centre and the breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
5
10
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Im the kind of guy that does everything before cuz I hate surprises. I made the reservation 6 months before, and I reserved a superior room (which should be bigger) when I arrived they sent me to a small room, very small, I never saw a room so small, I felt so abused and complained demanding to relocate me to a bugger room, they said they were booked but they had a bigger room with two beds I said NO, I MADE THIS RESERVATION AND I DEMAND MY ROOM, in the end they said my room would be ready only tomorrow, I choose to stay on this bigger room with two beds and decided not to switch for the third time.
The staff was horrible and the guy kept telling me he hated to work there, there was to many problems.
The only good thing here is the location, its 5 min walk to the subway and its located in a nice part of town.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

Very friendly and helpfull staff despite my lack of Spanish. Walking from the tube to the hotel was a mere pleasure. Lots of activities around the station and trees in all streets towards the hotel. Nice and quiet neighbourhood also within walking distance from the centre.
Excellents price/quality. The rooms were ok and with excellent showers. I had both a single and a double room. Breakfast was the best I had during my 2 weeks in Latin America.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

It's so far from subway and fast traffic ways. Nothing to do. Excellent to job trips only.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

I haven't stayed at this place, but I work nearby and always walk next to it. I've told the clerk 4 times that the Colombia flag is upside down, and always have an excuse that they can't change it because the assistant isn't there. Its been like that for over 6 months and its only 5 meters high! These guys are a bunch of ignorants and don't deserve to be called an "international" hotel considering their apathy and disrespect for another country.

Stayed February 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

We had a reservation here as part of a group tour. When we arrived, the desk clerk could not speak any English and was clearly frustrated. We had wanted marital rooms, but there was only one available.

The rooms were incredibly small. They are run down. The bathroom was dirty in the corners, because it is too small to maneuver around for them to clean properly. Our room was near the elevator which is very loud.

The good:
There was a decent view of the Andes like quoted. The night clerk was nice and helpful. At breakfast, the lady made me some eggs without ham which was appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungendore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

This hotel was booked for me by people in Chile. I had no idea what it would be like and was very pleasantly surprised.

All the staff, without exception, were very friendly and helpful. Most fo the staff could speak some Englsih. They were also reliable, for example all wake up calls were made on time, not something I could say about every hotel I have stayed in! The single room was fairly small but adequate for one person. A single room means a room with a single person bed. I had an ensuite bathroom as well which had a shower over a small bath. Rooms do not have tea/coffee making facilities but do have a sort of fridge which did not seem to be cold - perhaps it was not working or perhaps it was just a cupboard that looked like a fridge - who knows?

My room was cleaned thoroughly every day and I also noticed that all the public areas were kept scrupulously clean as well, including the computers.

The hotel has two computers in the lobby as well as WIFI which I could not get my computer to talk to. There is no charge for the computer access.

The breakfasts were OK - not wonderful but good enough for the price ($6 US). The coffee was dreadful though - this is a standard problem in Chile though so I shouldn't be surprised next time. I only had one meal and it was fine - nothing exciting but well cooked and just what I wanted.

I gathered that most of the other guests were Chilean,

The hotel is located in Providencia which is a pleasant area with shopping nearby and close to bus stops and metro stations (also close to a Carabineros station which could be a bit noisy if the lads were dashing off to deal with some crime or accident). Despite that, the hotel itself was quiet.

There is some limited off street parking available, otherwise you would have to park on the street.

Due to the time of year and consequent heavy smog, I couldn't see the Andes, or indeed anything much at all from my room. My room did have a window for which I was grateful as otherwise I would have found it a bit stuffy.

At the Maria Angola you get to meet real Chilean people. Certainly I would prefer to stay here than in one of the bigger chain hotels like the Marriott which seemed to be located in a giant shopping mall and was probably just like every other big hotel the world over.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maria Angola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Angola

Address: Av. Miguel Claro 425, Santiago, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 173 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maria Angola 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maria Angola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria Angola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.