We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location only average overall” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Principado de Asturias

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Principado de Asturias to your Saves list
Hotel Principado de Asturias
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ramon Carnicer 21, Santiago, Chile (Providencia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 173 Hotels in Santiago
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location only average overall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable enough rooms and great location but some things like air conditioning and plumbing require attention. I got the impression staff are tired of apologizing. BreaKfast was ok but our 'snack' breakfast for an early start was poor.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    60
    48
    18
    17
See reviews for
31
40
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campinas, SP
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

I stayed there last week for vacation and I had a good (?) time there. In fact, I've seen other better hotels, with bigger bedrooms and in better conditions - for the same price... but still you can sleep there without many worries (I said MANY, ok?). The bedroom was ok, with a confortble bed (it didn't seemed very clean but, oh well, ok to sleep). The bathroom was ok but the towels really smelled weird (but they were clean... i think) The breakfast was included in the stay and was average (I had to dispute with other tourists to see who will get the last spoon of mixed eggs). The view from my bedroom window wasn't that great... the roof of another house. At least they had a very polite staff and offered free wifi internet. What really bothered me there is that they offer free parking space when you read on their website but actually you have to park on the street and they have only 5 places available. If you lose the place, well, park in the paying zone of the street.
Well, after all my speech, it's still a good place to stay... believe me, I've seen worse. And, in Santiago, you'll be visiting museums, parks, the alps and maybe go on a trip to Valparaiso and Viña del Mar... you'll stay out of the hotel the entire day and will come back there only to sleep!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

I have been visiting Santiago over a period of more than 25 years and have stayed in a total of at least six hotels. Of these, my favourite used to be the Galerias - until both management and staff changed!

For the last three visits I have been staying at the Principado de Asturias, almost solely because of its excellent location and decent restaurant. Otherwise I would agree with most other reviewers that it is an over-priced dump although my experience wasn't as bad as some and at least I wasn't robbed!

The rooms are depressing and could be cleaner; room service is erratic; the bar is a circulation area between two entrances and quite nasty; worst of all, the front house staff don't even seem to know (or care!) what services are available in their own establishment.

After three stays too many I am going elsewhere on my upcoming visit to Santiago!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

well, it is not a bad hotel, but it is not a 4 star as they say. At the first day I was advised to use the safe in the room and in the next day during the breakfast the safe was oppened and it was missing 100 dollar that was inside. I call the police to register the occurence and after it they said I woud be expelled from the hotel for causing "problems", it just not ocuried because I said that they would have bigger problems if they do it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quilmes
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

NIce hotel offering the delivery based on a good staff, enabled to hand with different cultures and modalities of behaviour, as I watch on my stay., partuculary on the restaurant The stupid problem with the key for the frigobar remain as has been related previously. We waited just half hour for the key, so reading the reviews, we were lucky. Six or more feet people will be in trouble taking a bath, because so short are the furniture.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santos
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2008

We stayed in the hotel for four days and the first problem was the refrigerator because he was looked and there was no key. Therefore we asked for a key but nothing and only at the second day I received the key to open the refrigerator.
The rooms are very small for a 4 star hotel and also the window.
The internet acess for my notebook functioned only in the lobby and not at the rooms and the two computers from the hotel functioned only two days. There was no cradle for my 5 month old daughter available. The breakfast was okay.

  • Liked — good localisation
  • Disliked — no internet acess in the rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2007

I just arrived from a 7-day leisure trip to Chile. Chilean people, in general, are quite warmful and friendly but the same characteristics can not be found in the staff of Hotel Principado de Asturias. I was in a group of six friends and we had very unpleasant experiences in our 3-day stay in this hotel. The hotel says it has 4 stars, but such ranking must be immediately reviewed. My room had a mini-bar, but it was locked. The first night I arrived from dinner at 11.30 pm and could not open the mini-bar in order to get a bottle of water. I called the front desk and asked for the key or for a bottle of water and the receptionist told me that the key was available only during the day. Then I asked for a bottle of water (I was really thirsty) and the receptionist said that the room service was not available anymore!! How come a so-called 4-star hotel leaves a guest in this situation? The next day there was not a bath towel in my bathroom. It took me 30 minutes and 2 phone calls before I could receive a towel. Besides, a couple of friends was given a room with two beds (they had booked a room with only one bed). When they asked to change the room the receptionist (whose name I can't recall, unfortunately) was extremely rude and aggressive. To top it all, we had booked in a travel agency in Santiago a tour to Valle Nevado. The night before the tour the agency called the hotel in order to tell us the time that they would pick us up the next morning. The hotel replied to the agency that there was not any guest with our names in the hotel!!! Our luck is that the tour guide went to the hotel next morning and shouted my friend's name in the lobby and one person of our group heard it! Hotel breakfast is quite poor (one day we had to wait 10 minutes for a single bread!!!!). I absolutely do not recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Principado de Asturias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principado de Asturias

Address: Ramon Carnicer 21, Santiago, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 173 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Principado de Asturias 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Principado de Asturias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Principado de Asturias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.