We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relax while on biz” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bidasoa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bidasoa to your Saves list
Hotel Bidasoa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vitacura 4873 | Vitacura, Santiago, Santiago 7630290, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 173 Hotels in Santiago
Montecastelli
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“relax while on biz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

A hidden gem in Santiago, in the quieter Vitacura district close enough to many restaurants and with a relaxing dining area of its own. We traveled with a small group of 6 and enjoyed every evening our gathering in the garden area, recommend for the less formal biz traveler. Good local wine selection, dinner was fresh, albeit a bit on the simple side. Rooms are clean, maybe a tad small, part of the the charm of this almost boutique hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    29
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
31
47
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

You could easily miss this little hotel amid all the springtime greenery. Situated along a wide boulevard, close to the downtown business section and the US Embassy, we couldn't have lucked into a better location. The hotel was clean and modern, the staff was helpful and accomodating. They had a nice restaurant in the hotel, but all the guests were out in the shady courtyard, enjoying the pool, the gorgeous weather, and a pisco sour on the house. We had a king room, which was amply sized, very clean and quite comfortable. Our balcony overlooked a jumble of rooftops, but we could see the skyscrapers of the downtown area, reminding us that we really were in the city. My only negative comment was that the balconies were all connected and all you could easily get onto your neighbors balcony. The area however seemed really safe, there was a Museum of Style in a park like setting across the street, and there was a convenience store a short walk away. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Based on other reviews, the rooms with king beds may be roomier than the standard 2 doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

This is a really nice hotel near Clínica Alemana and Parque Arauco, you can walk to any of those. It has wifi and really friendly personnel. Good for business and leisure since it is in a safe location and near everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

The hotel staff knew we were out of our element. They helped each of us with the city, meal reservations, tours, and a general feeling of at ease in a foreign city. The hotel itself is small and cozy. Rooms were small but very adequate. The high point has to be the garden area. Manicured carefully and with plenty of tables and chairs around it became our gathering point each day, sampling the array of great Chilean wines.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

If you prefer small boutique hotels, you will thoroghly enjoy this property. The king rooms are large. The hotel is on a busy street but our room was quiet. The outdoor restaurant and pool area are like oases, very relaxing. The staff were very helpful and my one regret is we were only able to spend 1 night here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, VT
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Stayed at the Rio Bidasoa for a week based on strong TA reviews. I thought in general the reviews were spot on. This is a small, service-oriented property located in Vitacura, a nice district within Santiago. The rooms aren't over the top luxurious, but rather simple, comfortable and extremely clean. The front desk staff deserves a lot of credit for handling several requests including transport, restaurant recommendations and reservations, city tours, etc. I found everyone willing to help lend a hand as required. The breakfast which is included is also simple, but perfectly adequate. The neighborhood is quite good as well, with several excellent restaurants within walking distance. The only small negative with the area is that the metro doesn't stop anywhere near the hotel, which basically forces you to use taxis, which are plentiful and reasonable. Request a room on the third floor, which seemed quieter than the first or second floor. Would absolutely return to the Bidasoa, which offers exceptional value relative to other Santiago properties.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

This is a quiet friendly, homely place to stay.It was convient for our friends in Las Condes and we could walk to the metro in Escuela Militar and the big mall at Parque Arauco (20min). The terrace was lovely and we sat out in the winter sun.
The breakfast was a bit basic, no hot food (eggs) but plently of fruit, cake etc.
Apart from the Tip y Tap, there weren't many restaurants close by.
I was woken by the maids chatting in the service room next door a few times and a fellow travellor leaving early.
I would definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bidasoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bidasoa

Address: Vitacura 4873 | Vitacura, Santiago, Santiago 7630290, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 173 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bidasoa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bidasoa is a family Boutique hotel that possesses only 35 rooms, located in Vitacura close to the subway, malls, the best restaurants and ski centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bidasoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bidasoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.