We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So happy to have found this place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casona Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Casona Hostel to your Saves list
La Casona Hostel
Almirante Montt 465 | Barrio Bellas Artes, Santiago, Chile (Santa Lucia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Clinton, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So happy to have found this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Only open 6 months as of this writing, the La Casona Hostel is a clean, roomy and airy place less than 200 meters from the Bellas Artes Metro (subway) stop. It is on a quiet dead-end and has a long paved drive from the gate to the front door for more privacy. It used to be the residence of a religious order.

The young staff is extremely helpful and friendly. and all speak good English and can give directions or suggestions regarding anything you might desire. The rooms are airy and bright with new bunks and modern plumbing and showers. There is a variety of types of rooms. Everything gets cleaned daily.

The guests are a real mix of Latin American, North American, and European and of course the inevitable Australian or two. I have gotten so many good tips about where to go on this trip or for a future one.

I've been to quite a few hostels and can easily say this ranks with the best.

Of course nothing is perfect and I can say the breakfast is adequate but not inspired.

I plan to make this my base as I travel to different sites in Chile and can think of no reason to try anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    24
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
25
41
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The hostel is in a huge, old villa, very close to the metro: Bellas Artes. But as the street, where the building is, is narrow and has a dead end, it is not loud. The rooms are nice and clean, also the bathroom. Staff is very friendly and helped us a lot in organising buses, restos. The lounge and the dining room are comfortable. Breakfast was, as expected, small, but sufficient. We would come back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This hostel is an oasis in the city. Beautiful and well located new hostel in an old mansion on a quiet street. Very clean. Very quiet. Very roomy. A space to breathe. The owners and staff couldn't be nicer and more relaxed. The wonderful belle artes neighborhood is at your doorstep, quality restaurants and bars around the corner.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

If you choose this hostel, you're lucky! This hostel, actually more like hotel, is located just 1 min from the Bella Artes metro station which is just 5 min from the Plaza de Armas but not just next to the big road, so not that much noisy. I stayed at 6 beds dorm with bathroom, and the dorm room is one of the cleanest and biggest dorm I've ever stayed. Breakfast is so nice and the overall interior is quite modern and stylish. The owners-who are brothers-and all the staffs are so much friendly like your friends and helpful. They also have kinds of salon just next to the hostel where they rent for party and that day you can be invited to have drinks. It can be little bit noisy when they have party, but mostly it's finished around 1 am. I really enjoyed staying at this hostel and surely will stay again when I visit Santiago again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Had a fantastic week at la casona, the staff here are fantastic and really welcoming,even managed to get a few of us into an event held next door for free drinks all night,what more could i ask for. Really felt welcomed here and was saddened to go anywhere else as the standard they set will be hard to match.

*Beds are new and comfortable in a large spacious dorm for 6man.
*Relaxed courtyard and kitchen available to make own meals.
*Good knowledge of santiago and anything they didnt know they became experts by end of the day.
*If you dont try and get mocca their dog/bear to leave with you then you have no heart.

Dont pass up this hidden gem

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

La casona is the best hostel I ever stay at. They make you feel like you are staying in a friend's house. The brothers who run the hostel always help you with everything you need. Lupe is always very very nice and helpful. The hostel is a big beautiful house from the outside and bright clean and warm inside. Bed is comfortable. Breakfast is nice with bread, jam, ham, cheese, muesli, coffee and tea.
Also the location can't be better, on a quiet little street just a few steps from metro Bellas Artes. You can basically walk everywhere. Lots of nice restaurants and bar. This hostel is the place to be once you are in Santiago.

Thanks everyone for such an amazing stay. I didn't wanna leave!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stayed here for my last two nights of my trip in Santiago, it was a really good hostel, very clean good bedding the sheets were nice bathroom very nice! The wifi works really well in the rooms aswell and the staff were amazing always very helpful and polite! The location is perfect I walked to all the main sites easily! Definitely recommend this place!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casona Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casona Hostel

Address: Almirante Montt 465 | Barrio Bellas Artes, Santiago, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Santa Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 379 Specialty Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In La Casona Hostel you will find the tranquility, security and a good rest in the best location in town. We have spacious common areas and a quality service that will make you feel at home, all in a very cool atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your La Casona Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casona Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.