We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptional vinobar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bocanariz

Bocanariz
Avenue Jose Victorino Lastarria 276 | Santiago Historico, Santiago, Chile
+562 6389893
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 3,385 Restaurants in Santiago
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, Vegetarian, Wine Bar, Chilean, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St. John's, Canada
1 review
“exceptional vinobar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stumbled upon this place when a friend and I were walking back to our conference venue along a charming Euro-vibe side-street following a three-hour bike tour of the city. I joked that we should rehydrate with Chilean wine, and we wandered inside for kicks. We were impressed by the atmosphere, the neat decorative touches, and the extensive wine selection. The next day, we brought some fellow delegates for a little "team building." Many flights and a main course each later (the Patagonian lamb is superb), we were deeply engaged in conversation and had lost track of time. The staff were accommodating enough to close a bit later so we could finish the last of our wine unhurriedly. I would unhesitatingly recommend this place to future visitors of Santiago!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank jetset_t-rex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Full Marks for Attention to Detail and Attentiveness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

An excellent menu from interesting and unusual tapas-like nibbles to substantial steaks complemented by wine to cover every palate and pocket. The service is excellent and personalised, and the wine cellar impressively large and diverse. Pick your timing well, and you can enjoy tastings and presentations by interesting wineries or musical soirees.

Definitely one of my favourite haunts,in a delightful barrio...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
“Great Wine Experience and Great Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Start here for an introduction to Chilean wines! I took my boyfriend here for his birthday, and we had been in Chile for about a week. We took advantage of tasting carmeneres and cabernet savignons the first week, but at Bocanariz we were able to try so many more varieties from Chile. They had more than 100 wines to choose from and at least 30 wines by the glass (probably more).

We had 3 flights each, 2 glasses, 3 appetizers, 1 flight of Pisco and a dessert flight and with tip the total was $120 USD. This is the kind of place where you can binge and celebrate and not feel guilty about prices or you can come in for a $7 flight and good conversation. The food was good, not the best I've had, but I plan on going back on a fuller stomach for the wine!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Cachantun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The place itself was very nice, with a mixture of tradition, class and quick wit. The waiters are by far the most helpful I've ever met, and they went out of their way to make you feel comfortable.
The menu is quite different, where wines are the dominant feature of the meal, and they have a wide array of snacks and main courses to go with them. Everything is classified according to flavours, and waiters are experts at recommending wines that go with certain meals. They also have wine tasting as an option, where they bring three varieties and they explain their attributes. They've got hundreds!
Finally, both wines and dishes are very affordable. I couldn't believe the prices! AND if you really like a certain wine, you can take a bottle with you at market price!
If you like very good wine and are in for something different, this is definitely the place to go in Santiago!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank PatricioPinoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
“Live the experience of wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The place is charming, the light, temperature and music make it very cozy. More than a place where you eat and learn about wine it is an experience where you connect with your senses, combining flavors aromas and sensations, tasting wines in perfect combination with food. I recommend it for both wine lovers and also for those who want to learn.I would say it is the place with more variety of wines to taste in Chile. I loved it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank VeronicaToledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bocanariz also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Bocanariz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing