We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zoologico Nacional de Chile

Zoologico Nacional de Chile
Pio Nono, 289 | Parque Metropolitano de Santiago, Santiago, Chile
+56-2-27301368
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 393 things to do in Santiago
Attraction details
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great variety of animals although most of them is not native. Animals seem to be well treated and did not show signs of stress (although being caged).

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    335
    149
    56
    36
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florianopolis, SC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place for children!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

On the way up to Cerro San Cristobal there is a stop to the zoo, but I suggest you enter the zoo from the street and take the cable car after the zoo visit, cause to see all the areas you have to go all the way down and climb all the way back to get the cable car again. It worths a visit. The areas are very nice and you can even see some rare animals, like different type of animals. You'll also see polar bears, white tigers, elephants and beautiful flamingos. If you're travelling with kids, don't miss it. You have to buy a ticket for the zoo. The funicular does not include it, but it's very cheap. It is closed on Mondays.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very popular with the locals, but everything I hate about zoos”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Visited on a sunny July Sunday afternoon. Crowded with local families, taking an after-lunch stagger up the hill to the zoo.
What can I say? Some zoos are better than others, but this one is very poor. Tiny living spaces for the animals and birds. Muddy, grassless enclosures for animals that need space - elephants, zebras, giraffes, hippo, pumas, lions, tiger. And the birds too...eagles and condors in spaces where any flight is effectively impossible. One adult Bactrian camel was in such a tiny enclosure that it barely had room to turn - it's companion munching on cactus looked in bad shape.
And the polar bear (sob) in a concrete enclosure and tiny, dirty concrete pool. Old and sad. The brown bear's enclosure was even smaller!
Can lizards and snakes die of boredom in tiny glass boxes? Monkeys in tiny cages with no place to play. A small pack of baboon in a concrete pit.
Of course people want to see the animals, but this is pushing them into the faces of the crowd. No place to hide. No place to run. Dreadful.
And soon - they will be displaying white tiger cubs - OMG! Noooooooo
Can I say anything positive? Well, the views of the city and the distant Andes mountains are good - but that isn't really part of the zoo is it - that's just climbing the hill.
Oh and it costs CLP 3000 (€4) to visit - but I don't recommend it. And if you can't climb a steepish hill with steps...maybe 100 steps - then it could be a problem. Certainly for the wide Chilean popular it seemed a struggle!
I stayed 1 hour - I couldn't stand it longer. Makes you want to weep.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Improved!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Came here three years ago and the improvement in the standard of care is noticeable. New exhibits are being built and the facilities appear much more looked after. While it may not be up to the standards of my Australian zoos, it is nice to see that the small amount of money you pay to enter is being spent within the zoo. Whilst not planning on coming back through Santaigo for several years, it is hoped that they continue to invest in the zoo and the animals

Remember that this is a small zoo, we did the whole lot with out 3 year old I about 2 1/2 hours.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Venezuela
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

When I got off at the "Zoo stop" of the funicular I got really surprised when they told me that buying another ticket was necessary to get in. Surprised and maybe a little bit anoyed, but when I got to see how big the place was I forgot about it. The place is huge!

Some animals are better taken cared of than others, but I liked the zoo nevertheless.I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zoologico Nacional de Chile also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Zoologico Nacional de Chile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zoologico Nacional de Chile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.